Searching for Irene

Searching For Irene Banner w-datesI have another great book to tell you about today. This one takes place in the 1920’s in a castle-like mansion in Virginia. It’s a mystery-suspense romance, and had me riveted to its pages all the way through. I love when a book does that to me–hijacks my life and ropes me to my chair by force. I couldn’t tear myself away from it if I wanted. But I didn’t want to.  Here’s the blurb:

Anna Coughlin is a modern 1920s woman armed with a college education and a partiality for numbers. Now, within the walls of a fantastic castle-like mansion in the hills of Virginia, her skill will be tested as never before. Hired to serve as financial advisor to wealthy Lawrence Richardson, Anna finds the welcome she receives anything but warm. Lawrence’s handsome but antagonistic son Tyler wants nothing more than to send her packing. The household staff isn’t much better, but who can blame them, considering the way Lawrence’s last advisor, Irene, disappeared . . . Convinced that one of the enigmatic members of the household had something to do with Irene’s disappearance, Anna doesn’t dare trust anyone—not even temperamental Tyler Richardson, who, despite her best intentions, is beginning to steal her heart. A series of frightening incidents ensnare Anna in a maze of intrigue, putting her life in peril. But even as Anna begins uncovering the secrets hidden within the mansion’s stone walls, she harbors a secret of her own. Now, the only question that remains is whether she will disappear as mysteriously as Irene. . . .

My Review

5 DecadentI really loved the mystery in this one. The author let the reader solve it just one small piece at a time, but each enlightening piece gave the reader deeper insight into the characters to make you jump to all sorts of conclusions. The plot thickened, and the story became more riveting with each piece. This one kept me guessing until the very end, and I was totally surprised at the ending since I had a couple other characters picked out as the villains (and was completely wrong). Super well done mystery, and the romance was fun too. I couldn’t put this one down. It was thrilling, and the time-period (the 1920s) was perfect for it to be placed in. I really enjoyed seeing the woman side of things in that time-period when not many women worked…and were looked down upon sometimes if they did. I highly recommend this one. It’s a 5 all the way across the board. One of my favorites so far this year.

Giveaway

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win a copy of Searching for Irene and Amazon cash. I wish you luck.  And happy reading.

char

Blog Tour Schedule: