Kept Secrets

kept-secrets-blog-tour-bannerI’ve had quite a bit of down time due to my hip surgery last week. Four days in the hospital, and I felt I needed every second of that healing time. I don’t think I read once while I was in there, and even in the preceding days at home after, I’ve been too uncomfortable to do anything but feel sorry for myself. My own personal pity party.

But it’s over now–for the most part. Day by day my body is healing and I am beginning to want to read again. This latest book–Kept Secrets–was pretty intense. I couldn’t put it down once I started it.

My Review

A chance meeting at a Vegas planned wedding elopement of friends leads two high school sweethearts to reminisce and marry unexpectedly themselves the same night. But Grace has no idea that Devin, her new husband, has secrets that could possibly tear them apart. He has pledged the next five years of his life to the CIA and right after graduation from Stanford must take off for Hong Kong on an assignment he cannot reveal to his wife. When months go by and they do not connect, Grace wonders if he really loved her or not. Was Vegas just a whim for Devin, or has something happened to keep the man she loves from communicating with her?

This was an action-packed thriller with lots of heart-tugging and intrigue that made it hard to put down. Once I started, I wanted to figure out what would happen to Devin and Grace when forces beyond their control became consumed with bending them to their wills or destroying them in whatever method necessary. Warning: This was definitely a story that wreaked havoc on my nails as I chewed, gnawed and picked away to vent my fear and anxiety for the characters. Though action-packed with violent characters, there is nothing gruesome in it, and it’s clean all the way through.

This story is definitely a 5 on Amazon and Goodreads and a 4 on my Sweet Scale…Delicious! Definitely one I want to read again.

Blog Schedule

Check out the other blogs hosting Kept Secrets this week.

Book & Cash Giveaway

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win a copy of this awesome book and $25 Cash. I’ll wish you luck. Have a great week. And happy reading.
char

21 thoughts on “Kept Secrets

  1. Hi Charissa,
    Glad that you’re healing and starting to feel better. Pity party? Not hardly! You know what crazy things pain and post-op anesthesia fog does to the brain and body. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers. And thank you for another great book to put on my list!
    Michelle

    • Thanks, Michelle. Some days I feel like I’m doing the pitying thing; trying not to, but it’s hard when I can’t hardly do things like I’m used to.

      • But you will be able to – I know you will. Two years after knee surgery, and I’m just now feeling like myself. I know that seems like a long time, but it was worth the wait. I have no doubt that you’ll recuperate more quickly than I did.

        • The PT kept telling me in the hospital that the knee patients had a lot more work ahead of them–so kudos to you. That’s the only thing that’s kept me going lately is knowing I could have had to do my knees, which sounded like a lot harder recovery. This is bad enough, so I’ll have to be nice to my knees so that doesn’t have to be done later in life.

  2. Oh sweet Char, that’s a big operation. Sorry you were in such discomfort. I’m glad it’s easing up a bit. Sending many positive thoughts your way that you continue to heal well and that you’ll be back to hiking in no time. 🙂

  3. One of my older brothers had hip surgery and made the mistake of watching a video of how it’s done before he actually went in for his own. He said he nearly fainted! I can only imagine what it was like and hope that you are recovering nicely with all the chocolate you want at your fingertips!!

    • Ha ha. I did the same thing, Kate. Youtube freaked me out big time. Thankfully, the nurse calmed me down during preadmission, telling me I was getting the anterior approach, which was much less invasive than the posterior I had watched. Still, it’s a big scar down my leg that hurts. All that bone they cut out and now has to adjust to a new steel hip is exhausting my poor body.

    • Thanks, Dianne. The family is being super good to me. Makes me want to cry how nice they are. It was a major one. My first. Maybe that’s why I didn’t expect it to be so hard to recover from. I definitely won’t be so naive in the future. But another 3 days have passed since I wrote this and I’m having more ups than downs. That’s good.

Comments are closed.