Goodbye Summer

Summer has gone by like a whirlwind, and Fall is peeking around the corner. I thought I’d share my second book trailer today to give you a few more peeks into my new book that will be released in three weeks. Squeal!!!!

I’m super excited for you to read this book. It’s been so fun to write…and I’ll admit, I’m in love with my characters–Liz, Rawson, Benny and Addie. They’re fun imaginary friends (we authors have lots of those).

As I say goodbye to Summer, I wanted to pay tribute to some awesome books I’ve read in the last month that have made my summer better.

book2The Pursuit. This is the conclusion to the Logan Pond series. It started out with a heart-thudding scene and never let up. I kept cringing, grimacing, wringing my hands as scene after tense scene kept upping the suspense. It was a nail-biter’s nightmare (which means it was awesome in the literary sense—but terrible in the manicure department for me). There was non-stop action as Carrie, Greg, Amber, Zach and Oliver struggled to survive in the United States of Terror as Chief Zamansky and other evil power players manipulated lives and freedom. I don’t want to give anything away, but suffice it to say this trilogy really opened my eyes and made me appreciate the freedoms we have in this country. It’s a meaty meal that will satisfy those who love Dystopian stories with a touch of romance. I highly recommend it.

book3Christopher & Jaime. I read the advanced reader copy of this. I’m not a fan of novellas because their short length never provides enough time for my heart to attach to the characters, but Jennifer Peel is not only a writer, but a magician, because she wrote a novella, yet pulled out everything I could want from a full-length novel from her magic hat. I could NOT put it down. I had my own book to work on and other books to review, but HERS became my world for a few hours as she transported me into Christopher and Jaime’s world. I cared for them, I ached for them. That never happens to me in a novella, but the storytelling in this was stellar. I read with bated breath to see what would happen next in the heart-tugging story. This one comes out next week, so order your copy today. I can’t say enough good about it.

book1Asymptote. In this science fiction time-traveling tale, Harris Johnson takes on the role of protagonist. But he’s not like any other main character I’ve read about. He’s old, arrogant, absolutely brilliant, and full of regret. The story shuffles through time, which is the main element of the plot. The pacing is intentionally slow for the first half due to Johnson’s reflective thought process as he ponders the past while traveling into the future. But the second half blew my mind as time started messing with me. I loved the prose and kept highlighting like crazy. This book said we are all time travelers, and as the past circled into the present, time passed quite pleasantly in reading this book.

What about you? Have you read any awesome books this summer you loved? Pay tribute to them in the comments. Goodbye, Summer. Hello, Fall.

icecream

21 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer

  1. Another fantastic book trailer!! And some great book recommendations as well. Let me know what I can do to help with your launch. I’d love to post about it on my blog.
    I don’t want summer to be over. It’s my fave season.

  2. Love hearing about your new book. It sounds awesome. Can’t wait to read it. And thanks for your kind words about The Pursuit! So glad you enjoyed it. I’ve loved writing that series so very much. It’s made me reevaluate how much I cherish the freedoms we have–and what I’m doing to keep them. Thanks again!

  3. This summer I discovered Karin Slaughter’s thrillers. Love them. Her writing is dark like Gillian Flynn’s, but she draws the reader right in. I look forward to reading her others.

    As much as I love fall, I wouldn’t mind holding onto summer a little longer. Of course, given how hot it’s been, it doesn’t look like that will be a problem!

    • I love Karin Slaugher’s newsletters. They crack me up. She is a hoot. I haven’t read any of her books yet, but after you’ve read a few, let me know which one you liked best so maybe I can add one of hers to my list.

Comments are closed.