The Bird and the Sword

41ifwvwc9fl-_sx331_bo1204203200_I hope everyone had an awesome Memorial Day weekend. I spent time in Park City, UT with a bunch of family for a reunion. Family and food. Two of my favorite things all bunched together…so I loved it. A couple weeks ago, I finished Amy Harmon’s newest book, The Bird and the Sword. This book was awesome, and even though I’m surrounded by boxes and cleaning supplies that are shouting my name right now because we move in exactly one week (YIKES!), I wanted to do justice to this spellbinding piece. It deserves praise…even if I feel like Cinderella right now (emphasis on the cinder part).

The Sweet Blurb

Swallow, daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heaven or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would sell his soul and lose his son to the sky.

My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.

But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

My Sweet Review

5 DecadentThis book blew my mind away…in an incredibly decadent, deliciously sweet way! See my Sweet Rating Scale. It’s a speculative romance, which was a different twist for Harmon. I’m not usually a fan of fantasy, but that didn’t matter because the story pulled me in so tight and embraced me that I was fully immersed in Lark’s world. The magical power of words is the theme of this book…and I absolutely loved it.

The story begins with a tragic scene when Lark is only 5 years old that leaves her mute and unable to use her gift of words. Raised by an unloving father who only protects her for selfish reasons and forbids her to learn to read or write, Lark feels invisible and unloved. All she wants is to be wanted…needed.

When she turns 21, her life is upended again as the new king takes her into his keeping against her father’s will. As Lark learns and grows, she discovers the power of words that unlocks a whole new world. The romance was beautiful and poignant. The plot vivid and captivating. Amy Harmon is a gifted storyteller. Her words mingle upon the page to produce emotions that leave me breathless with wonder. Her characters help me see things with new eyes. I always feel uplifted and inspired after finishing one of her tales. This is another of hers that is now in my Favorite pile.

If you’re looking for a great book this summer, I will highly recommend this one. You won’t be sorry you read it. And now…if you will excuse me…I must return to my Cinderella state until my handsome prince moves me to Utah and I unpack and live happily ever after. I might not post again for a couple weeks until the madness is over. It’s hard turning pumpkins and mice into magical carriages and horses to move all this stuff we’ve collected over the last 10 years in Idaho. Bibbidibobbideeboo.

icecream

 

14 thoughts on “The Bird and the Sword

    • You’ll love it. It was intense, but beautiful…and as an author, I couldn’t help latching onto the Words theme. Powerful stuff. Thanks for the luck. I will hold onto that with all my might to get through this crazy last week here.

  1. Good luck with the move! Did the book have any swearing in it? (I thought The Law of Moses was brilliant, but a few characters had vocabularies that I wouldn’t want to read again.)

        • I know what you mean. Certain words still make me cringe no matter how realistic it is for the character to say it. I skim when I read, so when a character swears a lot, I usually find myself skimming his dialogue so the word doesn’t stick to my brain.

  2. Thanks for the review. I MUST read this. It sounds amazing. I love Amy Harmon books. I haven’t read all of them, but my fave is Making Faces. Hope your move goes smoothly and well. I love your new house!

    • I think my favorites are still A Different Blue and Running Barefoot. We’re down to crunch time on the move. It’s slightly terrifying.

    • It was scrumptious to be sure. Thanks. I’m in the midst of unpacking and haven’t touched the computer for 4 days. Still have lots to do, but have bumped over the ‘normal’ line once again instead of just survival stage.

Comments are closed.