May’s Matchmaker Book

51135fztndl-_sx331_bo1204203200_I had to throw in a quick review for May’s Matchmaker novel that I read last week. This series of 12 books (one each month) has been so fun to read. May’s romance really stuck with me. The unique, strong characters were amazing. I want to be a heart surgeon now. Think a hospital will hire me in 12 years when I’m…uh…oh, never mind? You don’t need to know how old I’ll be then. Close to retirement, I’m sure.

This contemporary romance tugged at my heartstrings…quite literally. The hero and heroine are both med students working their way to becoming heart surgeons. The love story starts out with a bang…or rather with spray paint. Here’s the blurb:

Every time Andra Stone crosses paths with Everett Covington, trouble follows. First she loses her scholarship, then she loses the apartment she’d wanted more than anything. But tragedy hits hardest when she loses her grandmother—the best friend Andra has ever known. She determines that Everett is a talisman of ill fortune. When Everett comes to work in her hospital and is applying for the same position she’d been working toward since residency, Andra believes him to be her personal poltergeist. The human heart has four chambers—four chances to get it right. Andra has only one chance left

My Review

I wanted to cry over and over again as the four chambers of my heart were put through a workout as the two characters balked at love each time they reunited. This story took place over a lot of years…so there was a lot of heartache and misery to wade through waiting for them to get their hearts in sync so they could see each other for who they really were. I really loved it still. My heart got pulled all over the place, but so did Andra’s and Everet’s (So I guess we’re even).

Decadent5The Matchmaker, who is the only tying factor into each story, was wonderful in this one. All the characters were strong and determined and nice–I wanted to meet them in real life. It has a riveting plot line that made it hard to put down. The hospital setting sounds boring, but it wasn’t. It made me want to be a doctor. The romance was clean and believable. This is a 5 star book all the way across. Very rich and decadent…in the best of ways.

Here’s the link if you want to get this one. I highly recommend it. It’s one I will certainly reread in the future.

icecream

12 thoughts on “May’s Matchmaker Book

    • Do divine. It wasn’t a typical love story. Sometimes I would talk to the characters and say, “Are you kidding me? What are you doing? Come on!” But it was all good. I like books that make me interact with them. I just wish they’d reciprocate with a bag of M&Ms or something. It felt a little one-sided that way.

    • I thought of you on this one since it took place a lot in a hospital. Not that it was a thriller, but they were doctors and I loved the glimpse I got of what it takes to become a surgeon. Crazy. And yes, I agree, the cover is fantastic. I kept looking at the font with the EKG on it and loved it.

  1. I love the blurb of this book (they’re one of the hardest things to write and she’s nailed it). Sounds like a great read – thanks, Char 😀

  2. Hello! Just followed and am looking forward to having a read of your posts, I am very new to all of these and have uploaded my first two posts on my blog and only started yesterday so I don’t know if you might be able to check them out and leave a comment and tell me if you like it or not as I would welcome any help? Thank you, Yours,

Comments are closed.