Bet you didn’t know…

I was wondering what to write about and found a fun site with interesting, useless facts that I couldn’t pass up sharing. If you know some of these, buy yourself a hot fudge sundae. You deserve it for being extra sharp.

Bet you didn’t know that:

There is a species of spider called the Hobo Spider.

250px-Female-hobo

I’m a hobo. Give me a dollar…or else!

I did know this one because at my sister’s house, I met a hobo spider. Shiver! My son thinks hobos have beards and wear a beanie cap on their head. This spider did neither. But it did actually attack me–meaning, it ran towards me, not away from my foot. That is beyond terrifying…and therefore, I hate hobo spiders.

Polar bears can eat as many as 86 penguins in a single sitting.

penguin

Polar Bear Dinner–Antarctic Delight Restaurant

I don’t know how to check if that is true, but I’ll go with it for the sole fact that I got it off a site that was called Top 100 Random Facts. Not half-truths or misnomers or jokes. Facts. That has got to be a heck of a lot of calories, Mr. Polar Bear.

An eagle can kill a young deer and fly away with it.

eagle

Anyone who has watched Lord of the Rings knows eagles can carry people. So why not young deers? deer? dear?

During your lifetime, you will produce enough saliva to fill two swimming pools.

pool

My saliva pool–it’s all the rage.

I think I’m going to tell my husband that we have no reason not to build a swimming pool now that I know this truth. If we build it, the saliva will come (And fill it…twice over).

A flock of crows is known as a murder.

crow

Murder’s on their mind

I knew this one too, but it seriously kills me. I don’t want to see a flock of crows because I’ll have to yell, “Here comes murder.” Sounds like a horrible slasher movie.

Banging your head against the wall burns 150 calories an hour. 

bangAnd also causes brain damage. So if you want to be a skinny brain dead person…do the above. But I’m warning you, side effects could include attending a political rally for He Who Must Not be Named…so I hope none of my readers bang their head against the wall. That’s a big No-No in my book.

And now, for a nice fact for boys…

If you consistently fart for 6 years & 9 months, enough gas is produced to create the energy of an atomic bomb!

bomb

I will never look at this picture the same again.

I don’t know how you store up all this energy, and will NOT volunteer my house for the job. But I will admit to not appreciating the potential energy of this basic human function. I would say that dog farts stored up could power an atomic bomb in less time–probably six months instead of six years. They’re much more potent.

Do you have any other interesting factoids you’re dying to share. If so, let me introduce you to a flock of crows.

icecream

25 thoughts on “Bet you didn’t know…

  1. What a fun post, Char! I’m a huge nerd when it comes to little-known trivia.

    “Murder of crows” is one of my most favorite phrases – Christy used it in a poem last year, and it stayed with me.
    As for the other facts, I can’t get my mind off of the poor penguins and the gluttonous polar bears!! I’m guessing that with the arctic cold, the penguins have an extra layer or two of highly saturated fat. In fact, maybe it’s their ultimate revenge knowing that the bears won’t be able to meet their health insurance deductible or be able to take the expensive statin drug needed to keep their hearts healthy after eating 86 penguins.

    My other question…who has a job that counts penguin carnage?

    Did I have too much coffee this morning??

  2. Fun tidbits here. I hate spiders and not any fonder of snakes which I had a close encounter with the other day. FYI… it looks like I might be spending my summer in Arco, Idaho working part-time at an RV Park. Details aren’t totally worked out yet, but looking like it’ll happen 🙂

  3. Haha, this is exactly what I needed right now, Char. I’m about to meet with my mom’s oncologist, so reading about saliva pools and atomic flatulence is just what the doctor ordered. Thanks for a good laugh.

  4. I love little factoids! I knew the hobo and the murder of crows ones here. I’m sure I know lots of little factoids, but I can’t think of any right now! Oh I’ve got one, did you know you can outrun a swarm of bees if you run as fast as you can, and they’ll only chase you for about 100m (I think it was 100m, it was something manageable anyway if you’re reasonably fit and healthy!), that’s a potentially life-saving factoid right there. Another, more personal factoid, did you know that two out of three of my cats think that standing in the cat litter tray, but hanging their butts over the edge to do their business is an acceptable way to use the litter tray?

  5. A flock of Ravens is known as an Unkindness. Look up Hobo Spider Traps – ewww! I do not care for spiders, especially the BIG ones. Great Post Today – Happy Day – Enjoy 🙂

    • Hee hee. Ravens can be a big nuisance. Unkindness indeed. I’ll agree. Spiders. They are not my favorite. I’m not incapacitated by them, but as I’m trying to squash them, I have quite a bit of fear and squeamishness in me.

Comments are closed.