Deliverance

Deliverence Banner

I love H.B. Moore’s Biblical novels because they give me a new way to think about old stories I grew up hearing. She makes Biblical prophets come to life in a way that astounds and thrills me. Here’s the blurb:

Experience the life of Moses as never before, following his journey from fugitive of Egypt to prophet of God. In this exhilarating follow-up to H.B. Moore’s biblical drama The Moses Chronicles: Bondage, the account of Moses’s flight from Egypt continues. Moses’s life as he knew it is over. He has chosen to stand for his beliefs at the cost of being cast out of his royal home and family. He is free of the wickedness of Egypt, but peace is not to be found, for Moses is as much an aimless wanderer as those in the nomadic tribe he encounters in the wilderness.

Exhausted by long weeks of travel, he nevertheless jumps to action when he observes a group of young women accosted by a band of Bedrayan men at a communal well. These lovely daughters of Jethro are grateful for his help, and their Midianite tribe welcomes Moses with open arms. As he learns the ways of the Midianites, his kinship with Jethro grows—as does his admiration of one of Jethro’s daughters, Zipporah. But when Moses suddenly receives a burning call to free the very people he has long oppressed, will he have the courage to return to the land from which he has been exiled?

I really enjoyed this story. All of Moore’s books rely heavily on research, but that doesn’t bog down the tale at all. It only helps the reader envision the time period better. She’s good at painting vivid pictures and making you want more when you finish.

4 Delicious.2On my Sweet scale, I would rate this a solid 4–Delicious. On Amazon and Goodreads it’s a 5. The romance between Zipporah and Moses was sweet, but what I really loved was how the author wove in the history into a fascinating piece of fiction.

To find out more about Heather Moore and her library of books she’s written, visit her Amazon link. She has Biblical book, mystery/thrillers, romance, and more.

To celebrate the release of this book, you can enter a Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win Amazon cash and a copy of the book. Good luck. I hope you win. I really do.
icecream

Blog Tour Stops:

 

17 thoughts on “Deliverance

  1. Oh yes, I imagine this one did require a lot of research. Fascinating subject matter for sure.

    By the way, the other day I was watching a movie and the last name of ‘Hinton’ rolled by on the credits. Something pinged in my mind and I thought, “Hmm, where do I know that name from?” And then it hit me: James Hinton, your trilogy’s hero. Hehe, see how much it stayed with me? Well done. 🙂

    • Make sure to check back later this week. That author has free books she gives away when you sign up for her author newsletter. She’s awesome.

  2. Since I loved Orson Scott Card’s women of the bible series, I know I would LOVE this! Heather is an amazing writer.

  3. Whilst this book doesn’t particularly sound like something I would go for, I do like when history is woven into fiction, so that you can learn things almost as an aside to enjoying the story. I can appreciate how much work must have gone into writing something like that!

    • Yeah, it’s a talent to do all that research and then figure out what tidbits to include so you don’t overwhelm or bore a reader who just wants a great story.

Comments are closed.