Grapes of Wrath & Yoda for Prez

genevieve's house 002 With all the political hoo-haw going on right now, I feel like I’m in the midst of the grapes of wrath. I don’t usually let politics get to me, but this presidential race is ridiculous. Candidates are yelling and making ugly faces as they badmouth everyone who doesn’t agree with them (especially He Who Will Not Be Named).

I haven’t even got to vote in a Primary Election yet, but I’m just shaking my head and thinking…What is wrong with everybody? I’m not going to have a single person left to vote for that has any decency or common sense because they all keep dropping out. Has our country gone insane? Why does anyone fall behind a bully and liar and let fear overrule their wisdom?

I don’t think I’ll ever know the answers to my questions. And candidates just seem to get nastier and nastier…full of poison and moldy grapes of wrath.

All I can try to do is not get pulled into the icky mess. I’ll vote my conscience…not my fears. [Hey, I’m one of those old Perot holdouts from the days when I believed we could elect a good man to the president, not a party]. I’ve become a little disillusioned since then, but not hopeless.

I still believe America is good. And I want to try to keep it that way. My thoughts from the election so far have led me to believe that I want to elect Yoda for President this year.He is a wise man–or alien green creature, but hey, I’m open minded.

yoda-the-story-of-war-393323

Yoda’s wisdom would be well to remember at this time of political ugliness. He said in Phantom Menace:

Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.

I would run from any political candidate who feeds on fear. He Who Will Not Be Named is a great example of this. He loves to stir up fears and make people angry. He always looks angry when he’s not talking about himself. And when people get angry, they get scary because they become stupid with hate. And hate leads to nothing good…only suffering like Yoda said.

So spit out the grapes of wrath and chew on something a little sweeter. Don’t let the nasty bullies overwhelm you and make your IQ drop to their level. Stand a little taller, be a little kinder, and maybe the majority of Americans can show that our country isn’t the laughing stock other nations think we are from only watching Hollywood and Political debates. Let us prove that we are at heart…good.

icecream

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Grapes of Wrath & Yoda for Prez

  1. Hear hear. A bully in the Oval Office is not what this–or any country–needs. Every day as I listen to the news I shake my head in disbelief and dismay.

  2. Yeah, I’ll probably be voting for a third party candidate this year, because my dad taught me that voting for the lesser of two evils is still voting for evil. I could totally get behind Yoda for president (other than that must-be-native-born business in the constitution, not that anyone pays attention to the constitution anymore anyway . . .)

  3. I could not agree more. People definitely become more stupid when they are hateful. Good post.

  4. Wonderful election post. I never thought about referring to him as He Who Will Not Be Named. Good Job. I watched the debate tonight for the first time this season and I like that Governor Kasich did not get pulled into the barroom brawl. Garth Brooks song “I’ve got friends in low places…” kept running through my head tonight. Oh and I do pray, at least daily, for the Holy Spirit to work mightily in each and every citizen – including the politicians.

  5. L-O-V-E!!! I was talking about this last night about how I feel this country is so divided right now and the meanness and the nastiness is just out of hand and ridiculous. I like your idea – Yoda for President – Good One! I have thought maybe a very smart, highly intelligent dog or cat would make a great candidate at times over the past month. I know shame on me for thinking that, but that is my opinion of late. At least I am not alone in creatures as candidates – ha! Here’s to Kindness! Happy Weekend – Enjoy 🙂

    • I wish I wasn’t right, but it seems there are a lot of angry people out there who are shutting off their brains when they should be thinking harder.

Comments are closed.