The Spider and the Sparrow

The Spider and The Sparrow Banner.jpgI’m not telling you all I know and don’t know about Spiders again...at least the furry eight-legged kind. But I am thrilled to tell you about a human Spider from World War I who is one of the heroes in this new historical piece of fiction by A.L.Sowards. Here’s the blurb:

May 1915. After tragedy strikes during the Second Battle of Artois, Frenchman Julian Olivier will do anything to get out of the trenches. So when British Intelligence recruits him to spy behind enemy lines, he jumps at the opportunity. Just before he begins, however, he has a chance encounter with a young French woman who leaves his heart marked for the remainder of the war—even if he doesn’t know her name.

Warren Flynn is a Canadian airborne hero, and dogfights with the Germans are all in a day’s work. Second only to his love of flying is his fascination with Claire Donovan, the daughter of an American munitions manufacturer living in Paris. Warren flies Julian into Germany and soon receives orders to post the Allies’ newest operative—an attractive peasant woman named Evette—in Claire’s home.

As a dangerous ring of spies and saboteurs threatens to turn the war against the Allies, Julian discovers goodness in his enemies’ hearts. But even if he survives, will he ever be reunited with the woman whose memory he can’t erase? Will Warren survive the war, and will Evette unearth the infiltrator in her own territory before it’s too late?

A little about the Author

71exbp2y9wl-_ux250_Amanda is a master at researching wars and creating fictional pieces with amazing plots, twists and awesome characters to intrigue and educate readers like me who don’t really like to pore over boring history books, but who still yearn to know all about it (at least the interesting parts). And Sowards’ books are very interesting–in a nail-biting, intense kind of way. She grew up in Moses Lake, Washington, but now lives in Utah and is a busy mom raising kids and doing her best to squeeze writing time in between naps, stroller rides and homework sessions. Several of her novels have been Whitney Award finalists in the historical fiction category.

My Review

I’ve read her other three books set during WWII and loved them. But her new one that just came out–The Spider and the Sparrow–opened my eyes to a piece of history I wasn’t very familiar with. Yes, I learned about a little about WWI in school, but this book made me feel like I was there…and it wasn’t pretty.

I slunk around in the trenches with French soldiers. I soared in rickety fighter planes with a Canadian pilot and watched men and burning planes fall from the sky. I followed spies around (specifically the Spider and the Sparrow) and discovered how they sent their secret codes and felt the drama of wondering if they would be caught as the sun rose each new day. I watched in horror as men got gassed and saw what those poisons did to their bodies. I saw the plight of the German people as supplies ran low and they slowly starved in a drawn out war they couldn’t win.

Sowards really did her homework and wove a riveting tale with interesting threads of facts that not only fascinated me, but educated me as well. Julian and Evette are the main heroes in this book (their children’s stories are told in previous books like Espionage). Claire, Warren and Howard McDougal also take up a fair amount of the stage as well in this story that captivated my imagination and heart.

Decadent5I highly recommend this one and give it a solid 5-Stars on Amazon and goodreads…as well as on my sweet scale. It’s a well-researched book that sucked me in like a Texas Tornado and spit me out knowing a little more about WWI than I had before I started. Not many tornadoes do THAT.

If you’d like to see some actual WWI photos from that time period, click on over to Amanda’s blog to see some. It also explains the artwork on her cover that is from an artist in that time period as well. Cool, huh?

Make sure to enter a Rafflecopter giveaway  for a chance to win a copy of the book and cash. I would love for you to win. And check out other blogs on this tour below.

Happy Reading.

icecream

6 thoughts on “The Spider and the Sparrow

  1. I admire authors who write historical fiction. The amount of research involved must be huge. I do so much research for my own novels, and they take place in contemporary times. So this book sounds wonderful.

    • Yeah, I can’t imagine all the research that goes into a book like this. But I’m glad people like Amanda do it so I can partake of their work and be engrossed in another time and place.

  2. I’m glad this wasn’t about the eight legged kind of spiders! I love when you can read a book and not only enjoy the plot, but also come away having learned something. Those are the best kind.

    • So true. I’ve read a few history books, but get bogged down by details. So I love books like this that weed out the boring ones and carry me along with all the interesting tid bits.

Comments are closed.