Where did January go?

Wuz up wit (1)Can you believe February is already here? I guess you can…but I’m still reeling from January flying by so fast. I spent a couple weeks last month revising my Bending Willow Trilogy to fit a more general audience. I like how the books turned out, and I put all of them on KDP Select so I’ll be able to discount them every quarter. Stay tuned for Eyes of Light being discounted to FREE (probably around Valentines weekend).

Another thing I’ve been playing around with this month is Canva.com. My son-in-law introduced me to the cool program, and I’m in love. I started an Instagram account because I can do cool memes and other things for my books (so go check it out if you want to see characters and quotes from the books; if I ever get a decent camera, I’ll try to throw some personal photos on as well…crossing my fingers for later this year), and I’ve also changed up headers and stuff on Facebook, Twitter and my blogs. It’s a fun, easy site to use for non-designer type people like me who wish they could use Photoshop, but can’t. Try it out if you haven’t yet. You might fall in love too.

51cb8swdoxl-_sx331_bo1204203200_Speaking of falling in love, I just read an awesome book called Pimpernel. This is a modern day twist on the classic novel The Scarlet Pimpernel, which is one of my favorites.

This book has everything—great plot, lovable characters, intense action and suspense, and a melt-my-heart romance. I couldn’t stop reading this once I started. It kept me guessing and I always seemed wrong. The Pimpernel is an incredible hero, and OCD Claire rocks the heroine side. What I also like are all the great side characters. Ren, Margo, Kila, and Nate. I can’t say enough good about this book. To rate it on the sweet side, I’d have to liken it to a scrumptious crème brulee—a rare treat I treasure when I get it. Whatever is your favorite dessert…this book is THAT. I hope the author does a series. Each page just kept sinking the hook inside me further, so that if I had been a fish, I’d be baking in coals. This author took no chances that I could get away.

Anyway, that is my lost-January update. Maybe I’ll be able to enjoy February without wondering where in the heck it went. What about you? Did January play hide-and-seek with you too and totally win? Help me grab onto February…and enjoy your week.

icecream

 

 

22 thoughts on “Where did January go?

  1. Definitely hard to believe January has come and gone. We’ve had such great weather in Ohio it hardly seems like winter. (But no complaints here!)

    Thanks for the info about canva.com. I’ll have to check it out. I have Coral Shop, but it’s not very user friendly. I learn by painful trial and error.

  2. Thanks for the tip. I’ll have to try Canva. I have Pimpernel downloaded on my kindle and I can’t wait to read it, especially after your review.
    I’ve got my books on KDP and most of my sales are through kindle unlimited. I hope it works for you as well!!

  3. Love your new header and Instagram posts. Thanks to you, I’ve been more brave with Canva, though my Instagram posts have fallen away with reinstated work travel weeks.
    I will definitely check out your FB page (I can’t believe I haven’t already!)
    Excited for all that you have going with your books! Would you be willing to participate in an “author’s panel” of sorts? I’m compiling 5-7 questions for my favorite indie authors, and would love to include you if you’re game!!

  4. I can’t believe January slipped through my fingers like that, Char! I hope I can make more use of my time in February 😀

    I joined Canva and have done some playing around in there already – thanks for introducing me to it! 😉

    • Ditto me in with those same thoughts. I need to get more done in Feb. I can conquer…I must! Hee hee. I hope you enjoy Canva. I think it’s awesome.

  5. Yum, Creme brûlée — who doesn’t love that? Sounds like a fun read, will have to add to the list. Yes Jan went by way too quickly! When you figure out how to slow time down please do tell! 🙂 Just followed you on Twitter. Maybe see you on the Twitter-verse. 🙂

    • Yea! I’m trying to still figure out Twitter. It can overwhelm me super quick whenever I hop over there…but my goal is to take more baby steps there and become not so lame in the Twittersphere.

Comments are closed.