Broken Things to Mend

broken things to mendExcitement has been building in me for a couple months now to kick off this fun series of books all revolving around a timeless Chinese Matchmaker named Pearl (who was introduced in the novella last year). Each month in 2016, a new book will be released…and Broken Things to Mend (by one of my favorite authors) made for a delightful beginning.

Celia is in desperate need of a change–a change of scenery, a change of pace, and a complete redo of all relationships. Not knowing what else to do, she opens a map, closes her eyes, and lets fate decide her future. Then she packs her meager belongings and buys a one-way ticket to a little town on the fringes of Oregon’s Deschutes National Forest called Sisters. She’s wanted a family for years. Will she find one in Sisters?

What Celia doesn’t plan to find is a strange Chinese woman whose meddling ways keep throwing her in the path of a handsome, but reserved, forest ranger. But no matter how kind or dependable Silas seems to be, there are some things in Celia’s past that neither of them can escape, and this time, the damage might be too much to mend.

My Sweet Review & Ratings

Book Rating Scale

Although this is part of a collaborative project, it is a stand-alone book. In this story, Celia and Silas take center stage. They turned out to be very unique characters in that they were quiet and shy and probably never would have met or even spoken to each other had Pearl not taken advantage of her magical intuition and thrown them together. Still, Celia carries secrets she’s unwilling to share, and Silas has a stutter that keeps him from wanting to carry on conversations, especially with pretty strangers like Celia.

This book, like others I’ve read by Karey White, didn’t disappoint. It was slower than I expected (probably due to the extremely shy nature of the characters), yet it tugged at my heart strings and wasn’t slow in the sense that I wanted to stop reading. No way! It captured me. It just didn’t take me for a wild stallion ride like some books. It took me for a nice trot instead, with good characters and dialogue that kept an even, steady pace. Emotions nourished the soil, and hard challenges made the characters bloom as they struggled to grow and thrust out roots of bravery and courage. I would definitely recommend this one. I believe this series has the potential to be one of my favorites ever.

4 Delicious.2I would rate it a 5 on Amazon (Loved it!)

4 on Goodreads (Really liked)

It receives a solid 4 on my Sweet Scale, for it is DELICIOUS and stuck with me long after I savored it. Like a cinnamon roll, it is scrumptious and made me smile. It’s definitely a book I want to share with all my awesome followers.

So what are you waiting for?

Check out the blog schedule, Purchase Links, and Author Bio below, and add this book to your To-Read list. You won’t regret it. Don’t forget to click on the Rafflecopter giveaway below also to win a FREE book or cash. And hang onto your seat, because next month I’ll have another book in this series to review for you. Yea! 2016 is going to be full of sweet treats to read.

Blog Tour Schedule

amazon get it

add to goodreads

 

 

Karey WhiteAuthor Karey White

Karey White grew up in Utah, Idaho, Oregon, and Missouri. She attended Ricks College and Brigham Young University. Her first novel, Gifted, was a Whitney Award Finalist. She loves to travel, read, bake treats, and spend time with family and friends. She and her husband are the parents of four great children. She teaches summer creative writing courses to young people and is currently working on her next book.

Website * Twitter * Facebook * Goodreads

Blog Tour Giveaway – $50 Amazon Gift Card or $50 in Paypal Cash (Ends 2/2/16)

Rafflecopter Giveaway

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

21 thoughts on “Broken Things to Mend

  1. Wouldn’t it be tempting sometimes to just close our eyes, put a finger on the map, and take off to that destination? Impractical of course, so reading about it is the next best thing. 🙂

    • Yeah, I loved the idea too and am so excited for this year to get each book. It’s the first deal of this kind I’ve seen, and I could see the idea taking off in the future with other authors.

  2. This sounds delicious indeed! I am loving this new series of yours. Thank you for the great recommendation. I just received a shipment of books from Amazon this weekend…looks like it’s time for a new order 😉

  3. And that Rafflecopter giveaway is waaay cool!
    I’m taking all sorts of notes for my launch. Bahahahahaha! That’s the sound of me rolling on the floor laughing at the notion 😉

  4. Pingback: Blog Tour Sign Ups - Broken Things to Mend by Karey White - I Am A Reader

  5. Sounds yummy and now I’m starving again! I’d love to do that too – pick a place on a map and just go there – as long as there’s lots of brownies for the road trip.

  6. That is such a cool concept for publishing! And your review system is a real treat, too. 🙂 I would never have the courage to just “pick up and move” without at least a job for me or my husband in hand. I envy those brave souls who can make that leap.

  7. Pingback: Not Just Happenstance | Joy in the Moments

  8. Pingback: Not Just Happenstance | Joy in the Moments

Comments are closed.