Blog Beginnings

FRESHI love new beginnings!

Every time a new year begins, I feel like I can make a fresh start as I think of ways to improve, things to learn, and actions to do.

Even though I’ve blogged for 4 years, I gravitated to the lazy side last year (for which I will hang my head in shame). But for the new year, I decided to get a wee bit crazy (and by a bit, I mean an itsy-bitsy millimeter or two on the wild side; I shoot BIG!).

To keep my blog well-rounded (like the scrumptious orange), I created some awesome new categories and photo headings to go with them. I’ll be posting in the following categories each month in 2016:

SWEET

Since I love to read, I’ve created a new review system for 2016…and it revolves around dessert. YES! You heard me. I’m rating the books I read on a highly accurate SWEET SUGARY SYSTEM that will probably leave me salivating all over my computer. It might cause the same reaction in you, so wear a bib on Review days.

 * * *

Fun Facts

I dabbled in fun, weird facts at the end of 2015, and hope to continue this trend. There are so many cool things to discover that this might be daunting; but never fear, I will persevere and enlighten you with something off the wall to brighten your day…week…or even your whole life. Sha-bam!

 * * *

threads

These are just my rambling thoughts threaded together to make some sense. I’d rather they made cents…but that’s a goal for another year.

 * * *

Exciting

The world is so beautiful, so I hope to share exciting places I’ve explored…or wish to explore. Maybe I won’t even travel. I mean, I was quite mesmerized when the ear-nose-throat doctor put a microscopic camera up my daughter’s nose last year and I explored a nose for the first time (via camera–not a finger, thank you!).

 * * *

Wuz up wit (1)

This category is to help me stay on task with writing. I’m almost finished with my fourth book, but like Doug the Dog, I’m easily distracted by squirrels (other books, yummy foods, actual squirrels in my backyard). Knowing I’ll have to account to my fellow writers and readers each month might force me to ignore the squirrels (except M&M squirrels) and buckle down to writing.

 * * *

Social Media

Dorothy feared lions and tigers and bears…oh my! I fear Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. They make me shiver and shake. But Dorothy linked arms with her friends and followed the Yellow Brick Road. I hope to do the same in 2016 with The Yellow Brick road of social media. Scary! But hopefully, linking arms with all of you…this chicken livered author will do it. Wish me luck (and throw M&Ms my way if I try to turn back).

THAT’S ALL FOLKS!

What about you? Do you have big plans for the new year? Are you afraid to walk down the “Yellow Brick Road?” Do you like M&Ms? 

 

25 thoughts on “Blog Beginnings

  1. You inspire me, Char! I always snicker to myself when you use the word “lazy” in reference to yourself. Ummm…no. What an amazing set of categories and ideas – makes me want to do my whole blog over, too.

    In fact, I’m thinking I may need/want/beg to reblog some of your content – especially if there is chocolate and/or sugar involved!
    Wishing you a very blessed and productive 2016. And remember you are NOT lazy! Hanging with your kiddos, attacking Disney with gusto, riding your bike on the back roads…are joyful memories. One might even say “joy in the moments” 😉
    Love you, sister! xo

    • You are too sweet; I feel way lazy this week with this cold I’m fighting. My immune system isn’t being lazy (although they are losing battle right now), but the rest of me is lazy as can be. One of my goals this year is to find or write content to put on your blog…so don’t let me be lazy on that.

  2. I like your idea of having more structure to blogging. I should do the same. But I suspect I won’t. Something tells me my laissez-faire attitude about my blog is going to stick around in 2016.

    Happy New Year, Char!

  3. I love your focus for the next year, it was pretty hard for me to get past that picture of those scrumptious looking brownies though and read the rest of the post! Look forward to seeing you deliver under those various categories in 2016! 🙂

    • I know. Those brownies look divine. I wish we had Star Trek technology so I could say to my replicator: “Brownies, please.” and it would magically make some right that second. Yum.

  4. I LOVE all your ideas for new and exciting content for your blog! But I’ve always found what you blog about interesting, so now you’re just making it even that much better. I easily scrolled past the brownie pic, (I’m not a huge brownie fan. I know, go ahead and hate me. Cookies are my weakness, if that makes you feel any better. And doughnuts. Major weakness there.) It was the EXCITED TO READ picture on the sidebar that tripped me up! I love that pic of your family!!!

    • I won’t hate anyone who doesn’t like brownies. That just means there’s more for me. And thanks for the comment about the Excited to Read picture. I’ve been messing around all morning trying to make an Instagram and get it on my website and blog, so I’m glad to see that it worked. Hooray! I need to celebrate with a brownie now since I did something sort of techy.

    • You have your own focus and organization to get out as many books as you do! You’re my writer hero. Besides, let’s be honest…if I had mangoes and all those other delicious fruits growing outside my writing nook like you do, I wouldn’t be blogging at all.

  5. Oh, wow, if those photos are any indication of the upcoming posts, we’re in for some wonderful treats this year! 🙂 Alas, I may have to limit my enjoyment of the recipes to the virtual world if I’m to stay true to my fitness goals…. Which also means avoiding those yummy M&Ms. 😦

  6. What a great idea! I’m inspired to follow your example with categories of my own since I, too, have let my blog slide a lot this past year and I need to get back in the groove. Having a few categories would help make it more directed..

Comments are closed.