Windy Weather & Words

wind

My area of the world has had some blustery days this week. If you look in my backyard, you’ll see lots of willow branches scattered everywhere. When it’s not so cold, maybe I’ll get out there and rake/pick them up.

I looked up what caused wind so I could give you a weird fact for the week, but it was semi-confusing and I couldn’t figure out how to dummy-ize it for myself. There were high pressure systems and low pressure systems and graphs with lines all over to explain wind. What I came away knowing is that wind is tricky. It’s this invisible force we notice only by how it affects everything in its path–so our hair blows in our eyes, the willow loses branches as they’re whipped around, and leaves and garbage blow all over the place.

You’re welcome.

But I did find one weird fact I could understand. The WORLD RECORD WIND SPEED recorded on the surface of the Earth was 231 mph on April 12, 1934, atop Mt. Washington, New Hampshire. This high-elevation weather station experienced the winds of an extremely strong jet stream that had descended unusually low in the atmosphere.

Now that is FAST. No wonder planes and jets can go so fast when they get in those jet streams. But we people should stay the heck out of them.

I’m still in the revision stage with my next novel. If you want to know what that’s like, imagine me as a high power wind pouring through about 120,000 words. Like my backyard littered with willow branches of all shapes and sizes, my novel is kind of messy too–but instead of branches, there are words scattered everywhere. I change one scene, and that messes up everything after it so I have to redo those scenes as well. Soon I’m so confused, I’m trying to rake up my mess into organized piles by making outlines and plot grids…but my windy creativity blows through again, messing it all up again.

Don’t worry. Eventually I’ll get my piles of words raked up and made into a beautiful leaf-word centerpiece to share with the world…but don’t hold your breath until then. Writing is HARD!

Imagine having to rake a whole back yard of leaves every day for the rest of your life…and you get an idea of how writing novels is…except there will be people out there who badmouth your efforts no matter how bad or good you raked up those leaves. Yeah. Fun, huh?

I really do like writing. The part I don’t like is putting my finished product out there for everyone else to read and try to blow to pieces like the Big Bad Wolf (he was a windy fella). Some days, I am tempted to throw glitter at my computer.

But all joking aside, windy weather and words can be a lot of fun…or a great big headache. It’s all in how you look at it…and which stage of the weather and writing process you’re in at the time. Hurricanes are NEVER fun…and marketing my writing is like a hurricane. I’m not there yet with this novel…but it’s on the far horizon and I know I’ll have to hunker down, buy my Pop Tarts and wait out the storm until the high or low pressure systems stabilize and make writing a breeze again.

How’s the weather in your neck of the woods…or city…or lake town…or village…or wherever you live? Is the wind making a mess of things, or blowing away the smog in your life?

char sig heart

23 thoughts on “Windy Weather & Words

  1. It’s been windy here, too. When I’m revising my writing, it does feel like the confusion wind leaves me with. I feel like no matter how much I dissect it, I’m still unsure if I’ve covered everything. My husband tried to explain wind to me. He said it doesn’t really blow. There isn’t a force creating wind. Wind is the result of a vacuum closing and pulling the air to it. So… it sucks.
    Yes. Yes it does.
    Keep writing!

    • Hmmm, I like his description. After reading all the sciency talks about wind, I just came away confused. But his makes sort of sense…and the sucking part, I totally agree with.

  2. Thank you for warning me about the winds. They are set to rip down the rest of the leaves on Thursday and Friday. There is always a storm that blows through every year that finishes taking down the leaves with reckless abandon. As for writing, a storm has come through that will take my blog silent during the holiday season because I am tired and worn out from other things in life that happened during the past few months. Blessings to you and your family.

    • I’ve had moments of silence for my blog too. It’s kind of nice to take a reprieve at time, especially when the winds of life have whipped us about. Hope you’re doing okay and that the holidays bring you lots of joy.

  3. We were in the grip of a heat index (in the 100s in November – wth?!?) with high humidity last week and then it turned to high humidity with rain and a cold front is on its way in though. Loving your post 🙂 I lived in the Sierras and talk about winds – weeeeeee – Florida has its winds too and a flying palm frond is a very dangerous thing! Happy Day – Happy Writing – Enjoy 🙂

    • I can imagine a flying palm frond would be a little scary. Yikes. Never been hit by one of those. Hunker down and don’t let the gators get you (hee hee).

      • Ha! Some close calls with palm fronds and birds that cannot seem to maintain their air space. No to the gators on the road just need to stay in the swamp. The turtles on the road are enough!

  4. “but it was semi-confusing and I couldn’t figure out how to dummy-ize it for myself.”—Ha, that’s exactly how I’m feeling today. Must be the grayness outside.

    I think you and the quotes have summed up writing well. And yet we keep doing it even when we don’t really have to (unless we’re feeding our family off our royalties). Guess that shows how passionate we are about it. (Or that we’re masochists…)

    • My family would have to eat Ramen if we lived off my royalties. Scary thought. But the winds of writing haven’t blown me away yet–I like to keep gathering the scattered words they blow away and seem to scatter them even more when I grab my writing leaf blower when the wind isn’t doing enough damage.

  5. Love the analogy and I can relate. I’ve wanted to write my memoir, but my computer seems to be stuck or is it the wind? Yep, we’ve been rocking and rolling in our RV, but since I don’t have to deal with snow in Phoenix, I am not complaining. Now if only I could rack up some words 🙂

  6. Winds have been calm here meteorogically, but theoretically, it’s a monsoon. I’ve gone from hopeless resignation to a more proactive approach to gathering it all together. I’m also already considering ways I can be better prepared next time those theoretical winds swirl.

  7. I have been to the top of Mt. Washington a few times. It’s a couple of hours from where I live, and it is always so cold and windy up there! The view is astounding, but, hoo boy, it takes a lot out of you.

    Good luck with your revisions. I agree with you that it does depend on the stage you’re at in your book. But it does help to love writing — it’s really the only way to get through it.

    • Sorry for the late response. I’ve been out of town without my computer. The tops of mts are always so crazy with the winds. Makes you wonder how much wind an airplane is dealing with. Yikes! Hope your writing is going good and not blowing you away.

  8. I love the quote! That sums up the writing so well. 🙂 We had some high winds here last week, but thankfully they’ve calmed down. Otherwise, we’ve had a really nice fall, and I’m hoping that carries through winter!

    • Oh my! We got snow flurries, but nothing stuck. But that happened while I was living life up in Southern Cali while we were at Disneyland. I actually got hot there. Now I’m back to the freezing temps and can only relive warm temps in my mind and wish I was back at the beach or on the new Hyperspace Mt. ride.

Comments are closed.