Castles, Witches and Iron Kings

Eleanor and the Iron King Banner I just finished Eleanor and the Iron King and loved it. This is a medieval romance about an English girl matched up to marry a Welsh king to bring peace to her people. This romance has castles, dungeons, knights and sword fights, and a scary witch who keeps popping up to make you feel just enough creeped out in the castle with Eleanor that you’ll be glad you live in present day.

When Eleanor’s father trades her into marriage to an enemy Welsh king in order to form a truce between both countries, she is determined to hate her betrothed for the cruel man she knows him to be. But his gentle actions towards her confuse her. So does the creepy warnings she keeps receiving in the middle of the night.

This was a great story that engulfed me in the time period. I felt like I was right there with Eleanor during her struggles to feel of worth after being traded so cruelly by a father who has never shown her any love. With her gift for herbs and healing, her betrothed does not know what to think of her…as she does not know what to think of him when he keeps acting kindly. Where is the barbaric man her father told her about?

Eleanor learns that all is not as it seems, and she must learn to trust her heart…but that’s hard to do when there are so many confusing voices she longs to trust, including a scary witch who seems bent on warning her of great danger. Great writing, superb characters, and heartwarming romance with lots of action taking place in an awesome setting. This was one of the best romances I’ve read about in this time period. I could hardly put it down…which is not always a great thing when it comes to keeping up on laundry and housework. Oh well! Sometimes piles of dirty laundry are worth it. This was one of those times.

You can enter a Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win $25 and a copy of this book. So what are you waiting for? Forget about the laundry. Happy reading!

char sig heart

18 thoughts on “Castles, Witches and Iron Kings

    • This was a fun one. Every time I read medieval romances I’m so glad I didn’t live back then. A woman’s life was tough. ***And I was kind of hoping the laundry might wash itself if I left it long enough. Boo. Now you’ve dashed my hopes.

        • You are my hero for finishing those. I am so far behind I can’t even remember the dates of pictures now when I pull them out and look at them…nor kids ages. Are they 5, 6, 7, 8, or 9 in this picture? Gee, I haven’t had kids that age for so long, I have no idea! When I finally brave the gauntlet to finish them, they might be as fictionalized as my books.

          • Haha, well, it’s the thought that counts.

            I collect things throughout the year–school pictures, report cards, awards, performances, etc.–and then every summer I update their books. It actually doesn’t take that long once I get to it, because I just tape everything in place (hey, never said I had to be neat about it…). When I finish each year, I think, “Now why did I make such a fuss about it?”

            I have separate photo album scrapbooks I keep for them. That takes longer to update because I do have to be neat about it. I lost interest in scrapbooking years ago, but I’m determined to have a fancy photo album for both of them. Even if it kills me. Which it might.

    • Yeah, this was excellent. I really like the hero in it. You never were quite sure about him, but you cheered for him anyway.

  1. Hmmmm . . . I can feel the tension between Eleanor and the king just by reading your review. I love that she thinks he’s horrible, yet finds he’s kind. What a pleasant surprise. And a perfect breeding ground for an unexpected romance!!

  2. This sounds intriguing, Char and I love the time period. I often wonder how they washed all those flowing heavy dresses with no washing machine (sorry, I haven’t done my washing either and it’s playing on my mind). Great review 😀

  3. Darn! Read your blog post too late to sign up for the contest. Your review was awesome — it sounds like a great read. This is one of my favorite time periods, too.

  4. Definitely a fascinating time period, but not one I’d want to live in myself. 😉 Ugh, laundry. Well, ugh to many house cleaning chores. I keep hoping someone will invent the self-cleaning house someday. 😉

Comments are closed.