Summer Mystery

Picture emailI just finished reading book 5 in the Amelia Moore Detective series. It’s a nice cozy mystery with Amelia and Rick Bonito striking out to find a high powered attorney’s missing love of two decades before Julie marries the gubernatorial candidate that she’s not quite sure about yet. Amelia really gets into this case as she reads old love letters from Julie’s sweetheart back when they were in college. You can’t help wondering what happened to him. Is he alive? Did he get caught up in something dangerous? Is he dead? As Amelia and Rick search for him by interviewing people from his past in Arizona and Utah (Zion National Park), they pick up tails that present a mysterious threat. Are they the mafia? Are they a disgruntled ex-client or someone an ex-client had them follow years ago? Amelia’s made many enemies of the bad guys over the years.

I love the cover on this book. Zion’s one of my favorite places. I’ve read a few other books in this series and Amelia and Rick have a definite attraction, but it gets more serious in this book. That made me happy. So if you’re lost between books, pick this up and give it a try. Linda Clarke writes sweet, cozy romance with a twist of mystery in them to keep you guessing. Hopefully, you’re enjoying summer! Happy reading.

char2a

 

15 thoughts on “Summer Mystery

  1. Glad to see you’re getting some reading time in. I saw a few reviews from you on Goodreads. That’s what summer should be about! (Well, in my opinion, anyway. 😉 )

    • Yep, lots of reading time. I love it. Hopefully I don’t annoy you when I finally take time to sit and put in all my reviews. I mean to do it after every book, but my good intentions are pushed aside much too often.

      • You could never annoy me, Char! I don’t read romance per se, but it’s always nice to see what others are reading. It’s like an online book club. Now, if only I still had access to DQ Blizzards to go with this summer reading. I’m still mourning that local business’s closure…

        • As well you should mourn. I always mourn eating places that close that I loved. We had a Hawaiian one here that closed and it’s been over a year and I still cry about it because I want me some Mochiko chicken. I still mourn Alpine Village closing in Vegas when I was a young married wife. It was a German restaurant that my husband and I went to a lot while we were dating–one of those 7 course meal places that was to die for. Yea for calories! Your new book would love that place…except it’s gone. Wah!!! I’d mail you a blizzard, but you might not like me much after that…so I’ll think of you whenever I get one and send you happy blizzardy thoughts instead.

  2. I’m following along with you, reading many of the books you suggest. But I can’t keep up! You are a voracious reader. But that’s a good thing. It’s one of the most relaxing things to do and, in essence, when you are a writer, it qualifies as working. Why? Because I believe writers learn the most from reading. (At least I do!) So, you see, technically, you are working while you’re reading!! Will that logic fly when the dishes aren’t done and the laundry is piled high? I don’t know, but it’s worth a try!

    • I try to get those things done. Every now and then a book will kind of take over and kidnap me–the house gets neglected until I finish. That’s both awesome and horrible. I have Stockholm syndrome bad.

  3. This sounds like an intriguing story, Char. I’ve never been to Zion National Park, but what a beautiful place it must be. Keep up the great work with all your reading, I admire you because you’re much more dedicated to it than I am at the moment 😀

    • I liked reading (actually skimming–I’m usually too impatient to read slow at all). It relaxes me. Zion is a pretty place–a desert gem.

  4. Zion is one of my favorite places too. It must be a great setting for a mystery because Zion is so mysterious and awesome. Hopefully it brought back some memories of being there too. Have you read the Janet Evanovich books? This made me think of that a little since the characters are paired up while trying to solve something. I’m glad you’re having a fun summer so far – happy reading!

  5. I’m hoping to keep reading more this summer while also getting the writing back on track. If I ever talk about moving again, remind me what a chore it is! 🙂

    • Don’t hold me to my memory. I am terrible at reminding people of things. I forget too easily. Hee hee. But yes, I can imagine how hectic your life has been since the move.

Comments are closed.