Winners & A New Story Idea

smiling-kids-facesThe Tour de Hands is officially over, and winners have been chosen by a Random Number Picker-do-bob. Thanks to all my blog hosts who made my books and I feel so welcome, and special thanks to all of you who cheered and supported us along the way. Now for the thrilling moment when I announce the prize winners.

  • $20 Amazon Gift Card – Taylor Dean
  • $15 Amazon Gift Card – Sherry Fundin
  • $10 Amazon Gift Card – Carrie Rubin
  • Ebooks – Michelle, Linda, Kim, Sheila, Sherry, Linda, Christy, Karen, Melissa and Kate

I will email everyone now to tell them the good news. If you didn’t win, stay tuned. I’ll try to have a giveaway again later in the year.

And now to chat about my new story idea. It’s a stand-alone book set on a Montana ranch. Like the Bending Willow Trilogy, it has 3 characters who take turns telling the story. Liz is a Vegas girl, but she’s running away from her life there due to a tragedy that’s left her with too many painful memories. Benny is the 14 year old son of a Montana rancher who is handicapped from a car accident five years previously. He worships his older brother and longs to be accepted by his peers. Rawson is Benny’s brother, but whereas Benny is kind and humble, he’s pretty much the opposite. I’ve dabbled with this plot for over a year, and am now trying to get it set in stone. There are a few plot twists and tension spots I can’t decide between, so hopefully I can get those worked out and start writing good scenes and get this baby going.

It’s weird to move away from my Bending Willow Trilogy characters. They have been a part of my life for almost five years, so setting them aside is hard for me. My husband has banned me from going back to them, because every time I do, I make edits and polish up scenes. A story is NEVER perfect to the author.

So I grimace and force myself not to touch those files anymore…and I’m concentrating on these new characters. They still need a lot of work, but I really like them so far. Hopefully, you will too once they’re fleshed out on the page. Hope you’re having a good week! I feel spring in the air.

char2a

16 thoughts on “Winners & A New Story Idea

  1. Yay, I’m so happy to be a winner. Thank you! That’s wonderful.

    I’m sure it is hard to walk away from the series you’ve spent so much time on. But your new idea sounds great. Do I detect another triangular relationship thing going on? Always makes for good tension.

    Thanks again for the gift card!

  2. Oooooo, your new story sounds wonderful! Can’t wait to read it!
    I totally agree about moving on with your new story and not going backwards. I do the same thing. I have a hard time reading my own books because I always want to edit or add a new thought, etc. etc.
    Thank you so much for the gift card! I just received it and I’ll put it to good use! THANK YOU!

    • Yea! Have fun with it…and I shall try to have fun getting my story into a usable format. I’m at a tricky turning point in my book right now and don’t know where to go. The middle always gets me. Agh!

  3. Thanks Char! Your new story sounds like it’ll be a fun one for moving on. You might even have to stay at a Montana ranch for research. 🙂

  4. I’ve started reading my win! 🙂 I’m psyched to take it with me on vacation. Thanks again!

    I think it would be difficult to move on from a series. I have a hard enough time with just one book, let alone a trilogy!

  5. Wow look at you go! Good for you to have another story already in the works. Good luck with it! Can’t wait to hear more about it!!! 🙂

Comments are closed.