Character Interview – Suvi

shutterstock_115406902Today, I have Suvi Goldstein here with us to tell us more about herself. Suvi is the heroine in the Bending Willow Trilogy and has weathered a lot of storms. Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to answer a few questions.

Suvi: No problem. I’m glad I could make it.

If you could live anywhere, where would you live?

Suvi:  I could be happy just about anywhere. Boise, Idaho is nice because it’s small and the people are down-to-earth. If I wanted to live somewhere more exotic, Italy might do. I love all the pictures I’ve seen of Tuscany and the little towns near the Italian Alps.

Who’s your favorite author and why?

Suvi: That’s a hard one. I love reading and have so many favorites. Victor Hugo’s probably my favorite. I swear I’ve read Les Miserables at least a dozen times.

You have good taste. Who’s the most frightening character in a movie or book?

Suvi: Jack in The Shining. He reminds me of my ex-boyfriend, Mike. Makes me shiver just thinking about him.

Glad he’s ex-ed!

Suvi: Me too! He was a total psychopath.

What is your favorite childhood memory?

Suvi: Going to the beach with my dad. We lived near Haifa, Israel when I was a girl. I remember chasing seagulls and searching for shells with him. He was awesome back then.

Do you have any pet peeves?

Suvi: Yes. Religious wackos, men, and cheerleaders.

Ha ha. You covered a lot there. Do you like to cook, and what’s your favorite food?

Suvi: I despise cooking. I ruin everything I try to make. As for favorite foods–probably tomatoes and cucumbers. It’s hard to ruin those. When I eat out, I love a good Schwarma.  

What do you normally eat for breakfast?

Suvi: Truthfully, I usually skip breakfast. I’m notorious for waking late and racing to class or work.

What’s your favorite quote?

Suvi: “Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” Victor Hugo—Les Mis (of course)

How do you relax?

Suvi: I find it soothing to mix colors and dab them all over a blank canvas. Usually I don’t know what I’m going to paint until I start throwing colors around. Out of chaos, I create beauty…it’s almost a spiritual experience.

What advice would you give to your younger self?

Suvi: Don’t keep secrets. Have more trust and less fear. Stand up for yourself.

How about music? What spins your disc?

Suvi: My tastes aren’t mainstream. I love men’s quartets, like Il Divo. There’s something about how the different voices mesh together that makes me want to cry—another spiritual experience.

What candy bar would be your motto for life?

Suvi: Lemonheads. I know they’re not a candy bar, but they fit. I’ve been tossed a lot of lemons, yet I’ve persevered and refused to submit to the puckering influences around me. I’ve been damn tough and haven’t let those experiences sour me on life. And when I’ve moved past the bitter, there have been sweet moments to cherish—wonderful people I’ve met, incredible feelings I’ve experienced, and happiness I never imagined.

What book character do you connect with most?

Suvi: That’s easy. Fantine from Les Miserables. We both had idyllic childhoods, but one man ruined it all and there were nasty repercussions. Unlike poor Fantine though, I managed to survive.

You definitely have. Your example has inspired me to be a better person. Thanks again for taking part in this interview. It’s been fun getting to know you better.

Suvi: Thanks for having me. We’ll have to get together later for Schwarmas.

Deal!

BW Trilogy

I hope you enjoyed meeting Suvi. She’s an amazing character. You can learn more about her in the Bending Willow Trilogy. The first book, Eyes of Light, is only 99 cents right now. [The new covers aren’t quite ready yet…but they’ll be uploaded soon] Enjoy your day!

Char Signature

 

 

14 thoughts on “Character Interview – Suvi

  1. Love it. Suvi is an amazingly strong character. I love the Les Mis quote too. (My favorite character from Le Mis is Eponine.) I can see why Suvi would relate to Fantine, however. LOVE the new covers. You found the perfect cover model for Suvi!

    • Eponine is an amazing character also. Actually, all the characters in Les Mis are so well done. That’s why it’s so awesome! Happy New Year’s! Have fun tonight.

  2. This was fun – it was a while ago now that I read Eyes of Light, but reading this it came back to me, and Suvi definitely looks very much how I imagined when I was reading it. I love the look of those new covers, much more contemporary! I will hopefully be able to get on with reading the other two in 2015. I’m a bit of a slow reader so never get through as many books as I want to! Happy New Year to you and your family.

  3. Her strength and her way of looking at the world really comes through in this. I love the teenage voice too. Hope you have a happy new year filled with chocolate!

    • She was fun to interview…hee hee. And yes to the chocolate. I have some double chocolate brownies staring at me in my kitchen just begging me to eat them right now. I’m trying to save myself for tonight’s calorie binge, but they’re so tempting that I keep nibbling. Bad me!

  4. Pingback: ‘Eyes’ on Soccer | Joy in the Moments

  5. That was fun to read. Gosh, I feel like I read your first book ages ago, but I couldn’t miss Suvi in a crowd, that’s for sure! Great interview. Shows how important it is for an author to know her characters!

    • You’re right. You did read the first book ages ago. It’s taken me forever to finish this series. That’s why I’m kind of in celebration mode knowing the release of the 3rd book is in a couple weeks. It will be nice to move on to another story, as much as I love Suvi, Austan and James.

Comments are closed.