Share the Gift

I love the Christmas season…usually. In the video clip at the end, the first part shows the stresses of this season, and I think we’ve all had our moods affected by those at times. But the true reason for this season is to remember our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. This video makes me cry as it reminds me that Heavenly Father gave all of us the ultimate gift in His Son over 2,000 years ago. Jesus Christ came to earth in the most humble of circumstances and He lived a humble life.

The prophet, Isaiah, said of Him:

…and when we shall see him, there is no beauty that we should desire him.

He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed. [Isaiah 53: 2-5]

I always wonder if I would have glanced over the Christ when He walked the earth. I doubt he had the magnificent form and countenance that are depicted in so many paintings. From Isaiah’s words, I imagine him being very plain and blending in more than most. Handsome looks or a daunting figure would have drawn people to Him for the wrong reasons. That’s why I think it might not have been as easy to recognize Him as the Messiah back then as we might think.

Would I have seen and esteemed Him as smitten of God because of the adversity that followed Him? I hope not. But I don’t know. Do I overlook others today, judging them on their appearance alone or maybe their pitiful circumstances? To be honest, I have. But Christ said in Matthew:

Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

I hope that we will all pause to remember the only gift that really matters. Christ came to earth to do His Father’s will. He atoned for our sins so that we wouldn’t have to suffer if we would repent and come unto Him with all our hearts. That GIFT is for everyone, so who am I to judge another because of their outward traits or circumstances?

Whenever I think of how much my Savior has done for me, I want to weep. He has made my weaknesses strengths; He has lifted me out of despair when tough times have crushed me; He has comforted me in my sicknesses and afflictions; and He has made me feel unspeakable joy. I haven’t seen Him, but I don’t need to. I know He lives and loves me. He wants me to return to Him when this life is over, and all He asks is that I humbly lay my sins, weaknesses and troubles at His feet and follow Him. And He will save me.

 

 

And He wants me to spread His love to others. I hope you will feel the joy of the first Gift of Christmas this season. Discover Christ; Embrace Christ, and then Share the gift with others. Have a wonderful Christmas season!

Char Signature

 

9 thoughts on “Share the Gift

    • You’re welcome. I was just thinking of my missionary daughter out there in Korea teaching people of Christ, and I thought, I love Him too and want to share! So I did.

    • The almighty dollar competes with Him a lot and tries to make us forget. So this was good for me to remember and try to put my priorities straight again.

Comments are closed.