Bounty of Books

At this time of year when we focus on all that we’re grateful for, I want to feature a few books I’ve read over the past months that have been winners.

I’m very thankful for books–for authors who write them, for being able to write my own and get those crazy imaginings out of my head, and for the ability to read. I love reading (if you can’t tell from my Goodreads log)…and these stories all rated the highest score from me. Something about them–whether it was the characters, the fantastic plot, or just well-written prose–caused these books to work their way into my heart, not just my mind.

Gifted Hands by Ben Carson – A memoir by Dr. Carson about his life growing up in the ghetto to becoming a world-renowned brain surgeon at John Hopkins. See my Goodreads Review

Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram – Clean contemporary romance. The characters (a blogger and Hollywood star) were super funny in this one. Read my review

Life: Citizens of Logan Pond by Rebecca Belliston – Dystopian fiction that really makes you ponder what you would do in the same believable scenario. Read more about it HERE.

Saving Grace by Michelle Paige Holmes – Regency romance with a heroine who is super adorable and charming. Read my Goodreads Review.

I want to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving wherever you may be, even if you don’t celebrate the American holiday, there is so much to be grateful for in life (besides books). Hope you have a great week filled with family, food and fun!

char2a

 

16 thoughts on “Bounty of Books

    • I do love a well-written book! I realized I finished another book just yesterday that I should have added to this list–Cane River by Lalita Tademy–historical fiction set in the south about her slave ancestors. That was awesome too! Enjoy your Thanksgiving!!!

    • I thought of you while I read this book. The medical procedures were fascinating to read about–and you’d probably understand a lot that I might have glossed over. I’m just amazed by what surgeons can do to the human body–and with him dealing with the brain, I was sometimes flabbergasted. Crazy, intense and miraculous!

  1. I’ve only read Gifted Hands and liked that one a lot. I’ll have to check out the others. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and wishing you many great books in the future!

  2. You are a fast reader, Charissa! Very impressive line-up of books. And you always write such wonderful reviews. I often look to your recommendations when looking for my next read.
    They say if you want to be a great writer, read a lot, and that explains why you are such a gifted writer!
    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Thanks, Taylor. I hope you have a great Thanksgiving too. I’ll admit I am a skimmer the first time around because I’m so impatient to find out what happens in a story. That’s why I read fast and have to reread to pick out what I liked, etc.

Comments are closed.