Sink or Float

DSC02460Starting off my summer with a broken arm didn’t lend itself to lots of extracurricular activities, but I did manage to have some fun despite my bum arm.

In July, we took a day trip up to McCall, Idaho to canoe up the river. My arm still was healing, so I had to be careful with it, which meant I didn’t have to row. Yippeee!!! My husband and son rowed me while I sat in the middle like the Queen of Sheba. That was pretty nice. I could get used to having people row me around, although I would demand a more comfortable seat next time.

Wanting to please me (or terrify me, more likely) my son stood and pretended he was a Gondola driver. He made me quite nervous that he would tip our canoe and drown me since I was wedged under the bar…but thankfully we kept afloat on that trip.

One day, we took an afternoon off to float the Boise River here in town. We shuttled our cars to both points so one of us didn’t have to sit in the park and read for 3 hours…and then we jumped in our inflatable raft and floated downstream with dozens of others Boiseans.

2014-07-31 17.52.24Floating the river is peaceful and calm for the most part…although we did hit one tiny wave wrong that flipped me on top of my son and soaked us pretty good. We had to bail after that…and our raft started losing air. Maybe we didn’t tighten the valves enough after we pumped it up…I don’t know. All I know is that we limped into the end with hardly any air holding us up. The river isn’t too deep and we probably could have managed to get to shore if we had sunk, but luckily we didn’t have to find out. I wish I’d taken a picture, but of course, I wasn’t thinking about it until we had it folded up and thrown in the trunk.

DSC02619This last weekend we camped at McCall again, but no Gondola rides this time…just a walk on the dock and a swim. The water was warm…the dock floated, and we picked enough huckleberries to make ice cream for Labor Day weekend. I wished we’d picked more, but for 20 minutes worth of picking, I was happy with our harvest. Yum! I love huckleberries.

The sinking and floating theme has carried into my writing as well. I know, I know…I’m taking forever getting this 3rd book done to finish the trilogy. I’ve felt like it has been sinking for a long time. But it is slowly gaining air and is almost floating now. I’m waiting for book cover ideas to form and polishing it some more and making sure the air valves are tight (edited well) so that it doesn’t lose air and sink once it’s published. That would be quite embarrassing.

What about you? Are you sinking or floating in your life right now?

char2a

27 thoughts on “Sink or Float

    • Yes, definitely fun times. I know my book isn’t sinking, but I feel like having time to perfect it is always sinking away from me.

  1. I’m not necessarily sinking, but I’m not soaring high above either. Guess I’m just hovering over the water. So many activities and unexpected events this summer that I haven’t had much time for writing this past month. I hope to get back to my routine soon.

    Your photos are lovely, and yes, I imagine sitting queen-like while others row you is quite pleasant. Then again, I’d say you’ve earned it!

  2. Boat rides, walks around nature and huckleberries? Can’t go wrong with that! We’re wrapping up the summer this week and my kids will be back in school on Monday. We’ve had a lot of fun while I took a break from blogging to enjoy summer and tried to figure out what to do next with my life. How fun! 🙂

    • We start school here tomorrow too. Really don’t want summer to end..but fall is fun too. Glad you took a break. Hopefully you are full of ideas now for the future.

      • Fall isn’t so fun here because September and October are the hottest months and that’s when we get most wildfires. But it should be nice by November. 🙂

        I’ll discuss my ideas as they develop on both my motherhood and photo blog. I can’t get much done until the kids are back in school. I only have two hands!

  3. Wow. That looks like so much fun. You live in a beautiful area of the world where you can do things like that. (I don’t and wish I did)
    As for sinking or floating . . . I am floating, but I often feel like I’m sinking because I am my own worst critic. (great metaphor, btw)
    Good luck with polishing book 3!!

    • I do like where we live compared to when I lived in Vegas. Boise isn’t drop dead gorgeous (especially for travelers just viewing it from the highway on their way through), but I don’t have to drive too far to get to some scenic places.

  4. Gorgeous!!! Our daughter is hiking the Pacific Crest Trail from the Columbia River to Canada.
    I’ve been ground support, bringing her supplies and food where she crosses the road every week or so. Living an adventure vicariously! 😉

    • Wow! What a cool trip. I only did a few smaller hikes on the Olympic Peninsula this past week and can imagine the beauty your daughter is seeing now. I’m a bit jealous. It’s lush country.

  5. I’m glad you’ve been able to enjoy the summer after that accident. The float down the river looks so relaxing—I’m not sure we have anything like that around here….

    Earlier this summer, I felt like I was sinking, but now I’m treading water and getting used to the greater demands on my time. But September will be another trial, and I already know I’ll be bowing out of the blogosphere for two or three weeks!

    • I’m glad you’re not sinking anymore. You were kind of overwhelmed there for a while with your move and everything. Good luck with September…just take it one day at a time.

  6. Definitely treading water, right now. Hoping now that school has started, I can take advantage of routines and get back into a forward motion.

    Love your pics — what a beautiful time you had.

    • School definitely helps with routines. Keep treading and hopefully soon you’ll be floating while eating a box of chocolates.

  7. You mentioned huckleberries and that got me wondering. How do you tell a huckleberry from a blueberry — and does it matter? Are the flavors very different?

    • The huckleberries are smaller than blueberries and you can pick out the bush by the leaves; it’s kind of scraggly looking and the huckleberries hang underneath the leaves.

    • Oh, and yes, there is a definite difference in flavor. Huckleberry is so much sweeter and more delicious than a blueberry (in my not so humble opinion).

Comments are closed.