Angel’s Landing – Zion

DSC02262Back in June, my family did some amazing hikes. This is the first hike they did. I didn’t get to do this with them since I was still in a sling, but I’ve hiked this many times since my Grandma lives only about 40 minutes away. These pictures took me back to my young, spry days when I hiked like a mountain goat and ran down switchbacks without my knees screaming at me. Now that I’m older, I hike more like a dairy cow (Moooo! Give me a snack.)

This trail is amazing! It was made by the CCC’s back during the Great Depression and is a tribute to what men can do when they put muscle and mind to work. It awes me what they did–digging tunnels through mountains, making trails up to the tippy tops of cliffs.

The trail is dug into the side of one cliff and then takes you back through a pretty slot canyon, and up the side of another cliff with 21 steep switchbacks (all paved and bricked), and then out onto a razorback (which can be kind of scary–hence, the chains to hold onto).

If you have vertigo or get dizzy, don’t do this hike (or only go to the top of the switchbacks and then turn back–you still get an awesome view from there, but don’t have to go out on the chain part). I haven’t done it since my honeymoon, and I don’t remember feeling scared at all then…but I think the heights would get to me more now that I’m older). This Youtube video is awesome to get a feel for the hike and the spectacular views up there. Zion National Park is heaven to me! I hiked and played there countless times as a kid, and every time I go there now, it feels like coming home.

 

17 thoughts on “Angel’s Landing – Zion

    • Yes, I can hike now without being sore. I’m glad they took good pics so I could live vicariously through them. This is heaven!

  1. I can’t wait to get back to Zion. We visited a couple times when we lived in Vegas but the kids were pretty young to go on any serious hikes, especially with drop offs. Great post 🙂

  2. It looks so gorgeous! But I get queasy with heights so I’m not sure how well I’d do with it. Like you, my discomfort with heights has worsened as I’ve gotten older. Like so many other things…

  3. Wow – those are amazing views. I think I’d be too nervous to go out there but I’m glad you shared the pictures with us so we too can live vicariously through your family 🙂

    • Yeah, I was content with these this year. With my arm healing and my hip and knee still a little sketchy, the pictures were a nice overview to enjoy without hurting.

  4. Height affects me more as I get older, too, and it’s comforting to know I’m not alone. 🙂 You’ve been able to experience some absolutely heavenly places!

    • I haven’t experienced anything on your end of the country, but I have seen a lot of the West. Someday maybe I’ll get to hike and stuff in the East.

Comments are closed.