My Kindle…my friend

I’m out of my sling and feeling better every day. It will be a  few more weeks before I will get more motion out of my arm, but all in all, I’m loving life and am appreciating the ‘little things’ I can do…and not do. The human body is miraculous. Such an amazing gift. I got my arm x-rayed today and my bone is looking so much better. It’s not so squished together now–it’s healing itself…producing more bone tissue or fiber or whatever the medical term is. I just think that’s incredible.

I still can’t put much pressure on my left arm–even just to unscrew a jar of peanut butter or hold a normal book. My husband teases me that I’m like Bob from What about Bob with Bill Murray…”Gimme, Gimme. I need, I need.” My Kindle is my best friend right now…after my husband that is (because let’s face it, even though I can turn pages with only one healthy finger, my Kindle can’t unscrew the peanut butter jar for me or help me get dressed when I end up twisted up in my clothes).

My family vacationed down in Southern Utah and Nevada. I read a plethora of books since I couldn’t do much else. I read Accidentally Married. It was a cute romance. Madison, the main character, is a starving actress looking for a job. When she overhears Jared Jameson’s administrative assistant say she is quitting her job, Madison hurries over to interview in order to be first on the list. But what Madison doesn’t expect is that Jared wants her to play the part of his girlfriend at a family dinner. When he tricks her into doing it, she gets him back by announcing their engagement. With a sick aunt whose dying wish is to see him married, Jared has no choice but to play along. I loved Madison’s sharp wit. She made me laugh all the time and forget about my sore arm for a while. Thanks, Victorine!

INFINITY + ONE COVERI finished Infinity + One that I posted about earlier. Great book…like always. Amy Harmon is my hero. Her mind conjures up the best love stories. This one follows a modern day twist on the Bonnie and Clyde story. I didn’t think it would work or be to my liking, but I was wrong. It was amazing. She makes you care for her characters in such a way that when you’re finished, you feel sad because your friends are gone…and you want to keep sharing your life with them and find out more about them. I think this book actually healed my arm some, because I started feeling like I could walk around and be more active once I finished it. Or it could have been that I’d reached the two and a half week mark from when I broke it and the swelling had gone down some.

Nahhhh! It was the book. I’ll have to email Amy and tell her that book is a medical marvel. I just wish I would’ve read it before our vacation so I could have gone on the Angel’s Landing hike in Zion. I’ll post later about the awesome hikes the rest of the family did while I read books. The pictures and video they took make me happy…and hopefully, you’ll like them too.

Hope you’re having a great summer!

char2a

36 thoughts on “My Kindle…my friend

  1. Glad you are feeling better Char. My Kindle goes everywhere with me. I even sleep with it as I downloaded the Premium Sounds app and run the waterfall every night. My quality of sleep has greatly improved.

  2. Keep healing! Glad you got to read accidentally married. I’ll forward this blog to Vicki. It will be nice for her to see!!

  3. I’m happy to hear that you are recovering well, Charissa. It’s no fun sitting around when the fam is out having summer fun–but books definitely make up for it! I can’t wait to read the new Amy Harmon book. It’s next in my line-up! Take it easy and get well–and enjoy the rest while you have the chance!

    • Thanks, Taylor. Reading good books does make me smile even when I have to miss the other fun. I just wish books wouldn’t end so soon (ha ha)

  4. It’s great to hear the arm is healing, Char. How about we invent a Kindle that can open peanut butter jars and get us dressed 😀 I have a freebie novel going on Kindle at the moment if you feel like reading it. I hope the rest of your summer is wonderful! xxx

  5. Sounds like you’re getting there thankfully! Whenever we have any kind of injury, we suddenly and very acutely realise how generally we totally take for granted being able to do everything. Just the simple things like you say, unscrewing the peanut butter jar, getting dressed, and we make a mental note to appreciate being able to do those things so much more when we’re better! Love Zion, looking forward to hearing about your trip!

  6. Glad you are doing better Char and getting lots of reading in while you’re at it! 🙂 Hope you’ll be back to 100% in no time!!!

    • Thanks, Arlene. I am feeling amazing compared to even a week ago, so the arm is improving. Yea! Hope you’re having a fun summer.

    • Me too. I start strength training in 2 weeks and can hopefully be riding a few weeks after that. Patience is the name of the game now

Comments are closed.