No more whoppers

In the past, I’ve had great fun coming up with whoppers for New Year Resolutions—not as in the yummy Whopper burger from Burger King, but rather whoppers that are far-fetched lies that can’t possibly be accomplished.

My whopper goals made me feel SAFE. There was no way I could accomplish them…so I didn’t even have to try, fail, and feel bad. It was just a joke, right?

Well, this year, I’m going to live a little more dangerously and make lofty, but attainable goals. No more playing it SAFE.

“The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.” ― Michelangelo Buonarroti

Some people slam New Year’s resolutions because most people cast them aside come February. But I think…What a great January people have as they work on goals that month.

Maybe we need to focus on goals not only in January though, but during every season of the year. When March comes along, we can make new goals, or evaluate where we are on our New Year goals. Then in June and September we can do it all over again.

Think of the growth we would experience!

Self-improvement experts cite the 10,000 hour rule  to become a master in anything—art, sports, music, writing, etc. But those 10,000 hours can’t just be mindless repetition at the same level. If I play the piano wrong for 10,000 hours, never working on fingering and precision, I’m still going to be an average piano player 10,000 hours later. One must set goals to perfect and excel at each level (whether it be sports, arts, writing).

That’s why in 2014, I’m telling myself–NO MORE WHOPPERS!  I can’t be content to stay at the level I’m at in life. I need to climb upward and gain some elevation.

For examples of blogging experts, check out these gals who were my top 5 commenters in 2013:

They make blogging fun! Thanks girls.

Without going into boring detail, some of my goals for 2014 include memorizing a few pages of text, growing out my nails (this will be HARD as I’m a nail biter), improving my health, and stepping up my fiction writing (including marketing, bleak!). It will take me a lot of years to get to the 10,000 hour mark in any of those things, but I hope by the end of my life, I’m at least a semi-expert in some things I’ve tried and worked at over the years.

What about you? Are you trying to become an expert in something? Do you set goals each January? Each season? Whatever you’re about, give it your all…and enjoy the journey along the way. Happy New Year!

Char Signature

41 thoughts on “No more whoppers

  1. You are an expert at being a good human being! 🙂
    Thanks for listing me. I wouldn’t miss your blog. I actually exercised today…so that was a start on the resolution I make every darn year!! Yes…marketing is blech! And…I too am a nail biter! Good luck!!

    • I’m glad I’m an expert at something. Thanks for pointing that out. Good for you for exercising. I’m going to have to get back into the swing of being healthy. With the wedding and a bunch of medical for my kids the last few months, I’ve neglected my health big time…and I’m feeling the consequences. I should find a way to write on my bike (but I’d probably drop and break my computer). Hmmm? Have you found anything helpful on not biting your nails? My nails make me sad every time I look at them. I really need to kick that bad habit this year.

      • Nope. Still biting them. Very irritating. We probably need one of those treadmill tables like Carrie has. Have a great year, Char.

        • Yeah, her treadmill table sounds awesome. She probably doesn’t have an old heavy laptop like mine though that would bend the best of tables down under it’s weight.

  2. Happy to be among your top commenters. Wonderful company there!

    I don’t do resolutions, but I’m trying to be better focused about setting goals. I was going to think of them on my long drive from New Hampshire to Ohio today, but the weather was iffy, and my brain didn’t want to go there. And now I’m too tired. (Zzzzzz…)

    Good luck on your 2014 goals! I suspect my main one will be to complete another novel. 🙂

    • Get some sleep. Vacations are hard when they’re over (lots of laundry and icky stuff to do). I hope you complete another novel this year (I’m kind of selfish in my wish since I love reading books by authors I know). Hope you had a fun vacation!

  3. Loving your post – Wishing You the BEST in 2014:) I enjoy our friendship and love reading your blogs – so I am not all that surprised that I am a top commenter – ha! My #1 priority for the first quarter of the year is to land a new job. My #2 priority is to continue on my back recovery and creating that healthier lifestyle, especially living with a spinal injury. Good Luck – Be Blessed My Friend:)

    • Good luck on the new job and your recovery. My heart goes out to you because any pain in the back makes your whole body suffer. You have such a good attitude about it all, so I know success is on your horizon. Seize the day!

  4. Thanks for the mention! Oh, and good luck growing out your nails. It was on my 101 in 1001 list, but I doubt I’ll make it happen before the end of January. By the way, when I saw your title about “whoppers”, I thought you mean you were giving up on the chocolate candy. You scared me for a little while!
    Happy new year!

    • Oh yeah! I forgot about those kind of whoppers. Those are delicious. I will treat myself to chocolate Whoppers when I grow my nails out (that might motivate me)

  5. You’re also an expert chocolate enjoyer and fun finder! You always remind me of the fun things in life. Thank you for the book recommendations too. I loved Penelope and will have to get to the rest this year. Hope you have a happy new year filled with more fun!

    • Penelope was a great read–good for lots of laughs. I am an expert chocolate enjoyer…that is true. Now if chocolate didn’t have so many calories, I might be super happy about that. Ha ha. Anyway, thanks for your support, Sheila. Have an awesome weekend.

  6. I bet I was number 6 on the commenters list right? Right?! Usually every year my main resolution is to stop biting my nails, but this year it’s not because I haven’t bitten them for over 2 months! I’m so pleased with myself, they are so pretty and I love painting them and looking at them, this is the longest I’ve ever not bitten them, every now and again in the past I would manage maybe to not bite them for a couple of weeks, but then I’d be right back on them again. I always felt embarrassed about how they looked and couldn’t understand why it was so hard to stop. I really don’t know how I did it this time, there was no great determined resolve on my part, I just stopped without even realising I had really! I hope this gives you some hope! 🙂

    • You do give me hope. I once grew mine out for about a year back in Vegas, and I loved my nails. But it was the same as you. I didn’t mean to grow them out; I just stopped biting for a while. When I refinanced my house (or was in the process and was watching interest rates creep up, it stressed me out so much that I reverted to my standby nervous habit and walah! Gone in one day, and I haven’t grown them out since). But they are really bugging me lately; I hate looking at them so short and awful looking. Hopefully I will figure out some way to motivate myself not to bite them.

  7. I’m delighted to have been on of the Top 5 commenters on your blog last year! And based on your posts, I think you’re also an expert at being a kind and caring human being. I’m looking forward to seeing how you do with your goals this year. I’ve kept mine simple, and on the writing front, I’d really like to have Death Out of Time whipped into shape by the end of the year and moving toward a publication goal.

    Like Vanessa, there came a point (in college for me) where I simply stopped biting my nails. For the life of me, I don’t know how it happened, but I’m so glad it did. I don’t usually polish them, but even natural they look so much better than when I would bite them ragged. Habits are hard to break, but it can be done!

    Wishing you a year filled with creativity and inspiration and attainment of your goals!

    • Thanks for the encouragement and hope for my nails. “I think I can, I think I can…” I wish you all the best with Death out of Time. I can’t wait to read one of your books from start to finish.

  8. Sunday night was always “spa night.” I would soak in the tub and paint my nails. Once it became just me doing all the house and yard work, plus looking for a job, “spa nights” went bye-bye as I am just too tired at the end of the day. Hopefully a “spa-night” will work for you. It was so fun and girly.

    I too will be working on improving my health this year as well as my writing.

    Happy New Year and I look forward to some nail posts.

    • I did a spa day with my daughter the night before her wedding. I got my nails done (and was embarrassed the whole time the Asian lady did them because they are so so short), but I bit off the gel nails at about Day 5. Pathetic. I will keep trying and hopefully make better success this year and post about it. Best wishes for your health and writing, Michele.

  9. I was scared you were going to say no Whoppers malted milk ball candies. Pshew, I’m so glad you aren’t giving up chocolate on me.

    Great point about the repetition just giving same results. You must continually stretch your limits. Not easy.

    If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.

    Something like that.

    Carrie is like the Wonder Woman of blogging. I’m in awe of her blogging prowess.

    Happy new year, Char!

    • Chocolate whoppers I’m keeping. They didn’t come to mind when I was writing this–Chocolate never gets the boot on my blog. You’re right. Carrie is the wonder woman of blogging. She should write a book for all the rest of us on what to do, and then give us about 3 more hours in our days as well. Let’s hit her up about that.

      • Ah there’s rarely enough time is there? (Speaking of which, this weekend’s Words will be a whopper–on time. I’m excited about it!)

        I’m sure Carrie would share. If there was any way she could. But I’m not sure even Wonder Woman could do that (I wish.) thank goodness for chocolate!

  10. I’m a little late in commenting. It’s still Christmas vacay around here and I’m just now getting back to the grind. One more child still at home and he doesn’t leave till later this week, so I’m enjoying my time with my children while I can! They are so rarely home nowadays.
    There are many things I’d like to do better at in 2014. I’d like to clean out every closet and drawer in the house–and keep them clean. And I’d like to write another book. My goal is two books a year–we’ll see how that goes! Hope 2014 is a great year for you, Charissa!

    • Yea for children visiting! That is the best and you shouldn’t do anything else but enjoy them while they’re home. I like your goals. I want to clean out and organize as well, but the 2 books a year would kill me. I’m glad you do it (because I love reading your books), but I am so slow at revising and editing that I know 2 books a year would be a stretch for me.

  11. I’ve got the nail growing goal as well! When I get regular manicures it really helps me stop biting my nails. I have a tendency to nibble on my thumb nail when concentrating lol. Good luck with your goals! I hope you report on how you’re doing now an then on your blog 🙂

    • I hope to comment during the year on how things are going. I’ve been really having more of a desire for the long nails lately, so that is step 1. Usually I don’t care how they look, so I figured it was time to set the goal since they were bugging me so much now. There are a lot of us nail biters, and many of us are writers. Is there a correlation?

  12. I’m not setting goals but I am concentration on enjoying the moment and living well. I suppose they are goals 🙂

    I’m looking forward to hearing how your goals are going.

    • Yes, that will be the kicker, trying to evaluate my progress for everyone. Hopefully I can take pictures of long nails (or just nails that aren’t bitten below the nubs). I think enjoying the moment and living well are the best kind of goals. Nice to meet you. I like your blog, and hope you’re recovering from your move.

    • I hope to get 10,000 hours in with writing, but not the marketing part. I don’t want to be a marketing expert necessarily, although it would definitely help. Pinterest and Instagram definitely count in marketing. Those are great tools.

  13. I am so into this post because you and I are definitely on the same wavelength when it comes to resolutions. I have heard of the 10,000 hour rule and I had forgotten it until now. I know I’ve logged pretty close to it, so it would be stupid to take a break now! 🙂

    Good luck with your goals, Char.

  14. Pingback: Odds And Ends To Begin The Year | jmmcdowell

Comments are closed.