Rebels with a cause

I’m joining in on the blog tour for Rebels by Scott and Judith Powell. This alternate history book written in first person narrative follows life in a New America as John Hancock Bates struggles to survive. Here’s the blurb:

The world is on fire. From the ashes like a phoenix rises a new America, one that will save it all. Under one condition; absolute and complete surrender.

The world complies without question. Those who don’t are destroyed. It is in this world, John is born. His very name is treason.

If the New America, now known to everyone as the State, knew what John was, they’d kill him, but instead they give him a gift.

 Praise for Rebels

John has a lot of potential (especially for someone so young) in that he sees the flaws in this society. He wants to be like George Washington and knows a lot about the manner in which a government should be run… Highly recommended. ~Amazon Review

About the Authors

Scott Powell was born in Burlington, Vermont, to a father who was a police officer and a mother who emigrated from South Korea. He received a degree in marketing from the University of Las Vegas, Nevada, and a master’s degree from the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Scott served a two-year Spanish-speaking mission for his church. He is a mixed martial artist who continues to train with his father, a second-degree black belt in Tae kwon do and a kick boxer.

Besides being married to Scott for over seventeen years, Judith Powell is a stay-at-home mom whose whole life has been full of stories. Being raised by an Irish storytelling father and a Native American mother, stories have filled her life and her head until they finally had no choice but to flow out through her fingertips.

My Thoughts

This was a well-written book describing a dark, oppressive society that I’m so glad I don’t live in. Whew! It’s set up nicely at the end for a sequel, and I will definitely want to read that when it comes out to see what happens to John. I don’t see how he’s going to rebel against such a hard-nosed government, but I’m anxious to see what the authors come up with in the next book. The people definitely need to rise up against the State. Go rebels!

Giveaway

Click HERE if you would like to enter the Blog Tour Giveaway for a chance to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash. (Ends 12/29/13)

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer <a href=”http://iamareader.com/“>http://iamareader.com</a> and sponsored by the authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Finish out the week strong!

Char Signature

18 thoughts on “Rebels with a cause

    • If my husband joined me, there would be zombies in my romances. That’s too weird to consider. Hopefully you have better luck with your husband.

    • I know. I found the author team completely captivating as well…that’s why I signed up to read and review the book. I’m glad I did.

  1. That sounds great! I love futuristic, alternate history books. Is it very violent though? I don’t have much patience for that kind of thing these days. I love the sound of the description and will have to check it out.

  2. Oh those worlds we’re only happy to read about in books or see in movies. And yet, they may happen one day down the road. By the way, I have no idea how a husband and wife can write a whole book together, but I give them a lot of credit for managing it!

    • From reading their bios, they seem to both come from good storytelling stock. Maybe that’s why they had success writing a novel together. I think they deserve an award. That would be hard.

    • It would be nice to have another mind involved in forming the plot. I have to wait till Beta reader time to get that and then usually end up rewriting a bunch of the story. Having a co-author would keep that from happening so much probably.

Comments are closed.