Leisl Leighton’s Book Launch

KillingMeSoftly_cover

I’m participating in a book launch today for Leisl Leighton’s new book, Killing Me Softly. So without further ado, I will turn the time over to Leisl to introduce us to her and her book. 

Personal facts:

I am a tall red head with an overly large imagination who can talk the hind leg off a donkey, so it came as no surprise to my family that I completely fell in love with Anne of Green Gables when my Nanna gave it to me for my 10th birthday. I too was a dreamer, who at times was overly dramatic and lived my life vicariously through the worlds written by others and in my own dreams.

I read voraciously as a child and still do, everything from fantasy (Raymond E. Feist, Katherine Kerr, Jani Wurts), paranormal (Nalini Singh and Sherrilyn Kenyon), sci-fi (Anne McAffrey, Douglas Adams), YA (Hunger Games, Vampire Academy, Fallen, Twilight, Harry Potter), romantic historical (Anne Gracie, MM Kaye, Johanna Lindsey and LaVyrle Spencer) and romantic suspense (you can’t go past Nora Roberts), not to mention the classics (Austen, Bronte, Louisa May Alcott, LM Montgomery and of course, Shakespeare) as well as many others – the list could go on (I did say voracious!) As if this wasn’t enough, I did a double major in English Literature and Drama – two majors with more reading than pretty much any other. My friends thought I was nuts. I just thought it was normal.

My imagination and overly dramatic side led me toward drama and music. I come from a family of singers and musicians, and I got this gene in spades. If I’m not talking, I’m singing. I turned to the stage for a while, acting, singing and dancing (the latter not so well) as well as script writing, stage managing and musical directing. But having a family was not conducive to the hours of a theatre life. So now I get to live a part of every day in the fantasy worlds my brain creates at night when I’m asleep, which is a joy I love sharing with others. I love it when my characters (vampires, werewolves, shifters, witches, warlocks, angels, fairies, elves, timetravellers, gods and goddesses, inter-dimensional beings and hunters, not to mention rock stars, music producers, sisters, brothers, mothers, fathers and friends) take me on a journey with them and allow me into their passions, desires, their hopes and dreams, not to mention their hot and sizzling romances. I love a happy ever after.

In my normal life, I raise my kids with my lovely hubby, deal with my overly spunky dog (what did I expect when I called her Buffy!) and spend time with my loving and supportive family and all my understanding friends. I sometimes sing in a choir or share singing lessons with my mum, tinkle on the piano once in a blue moon and work as a swim teacher. I love Sci-Fi Channel, Dr Who, Dexter, Vampire Diaries, Teen Wolf, Sanctuary, Wharehouse 13, comic hero movies and of course pretty much everything Joss Whedon is part of. People often ask me when I get the time to write and I say to them, if you love something, you find a way to do it.

Favorite Candybar:

I live in Australia and we have different candy bars over here. I love Maltesers (a malt ball coated in chocolate.) They are sweet and smooth on the outside and have a crunchy, sometimes rough inside (like honeycomb) and one is never enough. To me, life is a lot like that, always good even when rough and I will never feel like I have had enough of it.

New Book:

Killing Me Softly is a romantic suspense published by Destiny Romance, Penguin Australia’s digital first arm.

Reclusive record producer, Alexia Deningham, guards her privacy fiercely. When she agrees to work with superstar Daemon Flagherty, and his band, it is only on the condition that they stay with her at her isolated country estate.

Fresh from a messy divorce, Daemon is determined to focus on his music. He wants to work with the best and that means Lexi. He certainly isn’t looking for romance, but he finds himself intrigued by Lexi’s secretive behavior.

Despite Lexi’s reservations, their attraction grows.  But someone is watching Lexi. Someone who will stop at nothing to destroy the woman who has ruined his life. When his campaign of terror ratchets out of control, Lexi must fight for survival but who can she really trust?

You can buy Killing Me Softly at -: www.destinyromance.com – Amazon – Kobo

Leisl Headshot tweetYou can find out more about Leisl at:

www.leislleighton.com

Twitter @LeislLeighton

Facebook 

Goodreads

Thanks for taking the time to be here on my blog today, Leisl. I wish you all the best as you continue to write and live your dreams.

Char Signature

10 thoughts on “Leisl Leighton’s Book Launch

    • Yeah, like a Whopper probably (which I love to suck on until they’re soft and melt on your tongue). Leisl sounds like a lot of fun from her bio. I love the fact that she is a VORACIOUS reader. That’s just a cool word that you can’t help but tingle at.

  1. I love to hear author stories and this one was no exception. It’s always fascinating to learn why an author becomes an author. And I love everything Joss Whedon does too!
    I love the cover of Leisl’s new book and the premise sounds good as well.

  2. Maltesers, that’s what they call Whoopers in the UK too! Can any of your interviews be without chocolate or candy, or both? Please don’t change a thing! Congrats on this book launch, it’s always exciting to see an author getting the word out there.

  3. What a great book cover and Leisl sounds like she has a LOT of energy (maybe from the Whoppers / Maltesers). Good luck with the book Leisl, it’s great to hear how you got your start with the written word. Great post Char!

    • Thanks, Arlene. I think you figured out the secret to energy–Maltesers! You deserve a treat now. I will serve one up to you Thursday.

  4. Pingback: Guest Post for Killing Me Softly with Charissa Statsny

Comments are closed.