A FALL Interview

AKMorganToday I have a literal FALL interview–but not the season. Ayden Morgen is here to tell us a little about her new book launch of FALL (book 2 in the Ragnarok Prophesies series).  

Ayden, thanks so much for being here. Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Ayden: I live in Little Rock, Arkansas with my husband, three dogs, and demonic cat. I have a graduate degree in Criminal Justice and Law, and a Bachelor’s in Forensic Psychology. I put my education to use in a social work position with the state where I help transition the elderly and disabled back into the community after lengthy stays in one of the twenty-two nursing homes in my area. When I’m not working or writing, I spend my time teaching my niece and nephews how to cause mischief. You can also find me dancing in the grocery store, building a spork army, and fundraising for nonprofits close to my heart.

 What candy bar would be your motto for life?

Ayden: Oh, definitely an Almond Joy. Sometimes, you feel like a nut. 🙂

 Ha ha! Isn’t that the truth? I always feel like a nut, especially when I eat chocolate. 

So what got you started on your writing journey? 

Ayden: I’ve been writing since I was a little kid and first realized actual people wrote the books I loved. That knowledge was so exciting to first-grade me! I wanted to be that cool when I grew up. Now that I’m on the other side, it’s so funny to see how completely ordinary authors are. I mean, the most exciting thing I did last night was sweep the floor!

Wow! That can be exciting though. As a kid, I imagined all kinds of stories as I washed dishes (the dishes became people in my mind and had fascinating experiences…so I can only imagine what goes through your head when you sweep).  Tell us a little about FALL and why we should read it. 

 AydenFALL is the second book in the Ragnarök Prophesies series, a new adult paranormal series that sees Arionna Jacobs and Dace Matthews struggling to cope when they learn they’ve been sent by Odin to stop two demi-god wolves from freeing their father, Fenrir, and starting the apocalypse. In FALL, Ari and Dace are at odds with one another over what course their shared destiny requires them to take. Dace goes a little bit crazy, which forces Ari to take drastic measures to save his life, as well as the lives of the friends caught up in the same battle they face. There’s danger, mystery, drama, romance, mythology, and a coming apocalypse. Not to mention shapeshifters, demi-gods, Nephilim, wolves, and the humans caught in the middle.

If you like mythology, the Ragnarök Prophesies series takes the characters from the Norse myths, adds a little twist and a romance, and plops them down in modern times to deal with their crazy issues. The series humanizes these mythic characters, and makes you really consider the tragedy hidden in these myths in a way that mythology texts tend to leave out. The texts tell you why a character reacts in a certain way, but they never really show how a character got to that point, which makes it tough for a lot of high school and college aged readers to really identify with the myths and the great stories contained therein. I mean, the myths say that Odin chained Fenrir in the bowels of the Earth out of fear, and that Fenrir swore vengeance, but exactly how does that affect everyone else? What does this prophecy mean to those forced into the thick of this massive, world changing battle between a God and a ticked off Giant? This series attempts to answer that question for some of the characters closest to Odin. The result is tragic, dramatic, exciting, emotional, and a lot of fun.  

Do you have a favorite character you’ve written so far? 

Ayden: One of my favorite characters is from this series, actually. Her name is Buka, and she’s a wolf. I’ve loved getting to bring her to life for readers, so many of whom just love her. She makes it so easy to give readers a different side of the big, scary wolf we hear so much about.

 What are your future writing plans?

 Ayden: I’ve got two more series in varying stages of completion, as well as bits and pieces and plots for several other books. Even if I’m never blessed to publish again after this series, I will definitely continue writing. It’s kind of like breathing at this point. I’ve done it for so long, I’m not sure I’d know how to stop!

 I love that analogy. Writing = Breathing. Thanks so much for letting me and my readers get to know you and your book better. Best of luck on your launch.

 Ayden: Thanks so much for letting me stop by to visit!

You can read the official prologue to FALL hereThe first book–FADE – The Ragnarök Prophesies: Book Oneis available now at Amazon USBarnes and Noble, and Kobo. Book 2–FALLThe Ragnarök Prophesies is now available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble.  You can also enter Ayden’s a Rafflecopter giveaway, or follow her on Twitter, Goodreads, or Facebook
Char Signature

27 thoughts on “A FALL Interview

  1. Always enjoy reading your interviews, Char, especially since I know chocolate will be mentioned at some point…

    Having a background in criminal justice and law as well as forensic psychology would be helpful in writing, I’d think. Probably some interesting stories brewing around there, too. I wish Ms. Morgen the best of luck with her launch!

    • Any mention of chocolate is definitely a good thing. My educational background is definitely helpful, particularly when it comes to sorting out internal motivations and conflicts. I tend to get a little carried away with the inner workings of characters’ minds. I have to remind myself to shush with that side of things often. 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by to read the interview, Carrie!

    • That’s got to be a bonus for her with her professional background (just like yours is for your books). And sorry about the chocolate references. I know I must tick off all dieters in the world (and I am kind of sorry about that…but not enough to stop talking about chocolate).

      • Everything in moderation. I think one or two references to chocolate in blog posts is keeping well within those limits of moderation… 😉

        I haven’t yet got to those Rolo cookies, but I’ve purchased the Rolos, and the recipe sits on my counter, taunting me, so hopefully soon.

  2. I love hearing about authors and what makes them tick. Maybe authors are ordinary people, but it’s fascinating to hear about their inspiration, their reasons for writing, and why they write what they do. The concept of finding out the stories behind mythology is intriguing. Great interview!

    • Thanks so much, Taylor! I like hearing from authors on their inspirations and reasons for writing as well. There is so much diversity, it’s fascinating!

    • The mythology twist on this one intrigued me too about these books. I also love learning funny facts and experiences of real authors.

  3. It’s always fun to read your interviews, Char. Bringing mythology into modern stories sounds like a really intriguing idea. Best wishes to Ayden on the launch! Now, is there any chocolate in the house…. 😉

    • Yeah, I love Ayden’s choice of candybar also. I should stop asking the candybar question because then I sit and drool everytime I think about it.

  4. I like the idea of a wolf as a character, especially if she’s not the usual scary wolf. Bringing mythology into modern times sounds like fun too. Happy Fall!

Comments are closed.