Miscellaneous Mishmash…and why boys are weird

DSC01770The weather is perfect right now! I love when the trees and bushes start to change colors and there is a tiny nip in the air. Our family took a walk yesterday on the greenbelt to enjoy the beauty! Hope you are enjoying your weather wherever you live!

Today I’m being interviewed over at Linda Clarke’s blog about my Eyes of Light series. Pop on over to her site and find out weird facts about me, and hopefully, not so weird facts about my books.

And now for some miscellaneous mishmash:

2013-10-05 10.45.41*My husband and boy found these bacon doughnuts and said they’re delicious. I believe them, but still want to try one for myself to make sure they’re not pulling my leg (I’m like that with chocolate too).

*On my husband’s last Scout campout, one of the boys caught a snake and let it bite his finger.  The boy’s dad asked him later: “What if it had been poisonous?”

And the boy’s answer was, “It wasn’t. It bit my finger and I was fine.”

Okay then. (In case I haven’t said it before…boys are weird)

*Also on that same campout, they started out in fair, sunny weather, and then a storm came over the mountain and hit with hurricane gusto. Their campsite flooded, their charcoal was soaked; they tried to drive back down the road to some tiny town to get pie that night, but the road was washed out from a landslide. A ranger turned them around to leave out the top road before it got washed out too. So they came back early from their campout, but had to stop in town as they returned at 11pm for Sonic desserts (I totally understand that. One must have their dessert no matter storm or tempest).

2013-09-07 16.13.55 Here are a few pictures of my Dad’s train room I finished painting recently; a few of you asked to see pictures…so here you go. I should have taken video of his train going all around. It leaves that room and goes into the family room next door and then back into the train room. You can tell from the pictures that my dad is pretty proud of how his train room is coming together. He’s waited decades to get all us kids out of the house so he could do this.

2013-09-07 16.16.05

2013-09-07 16.15.05

2013-09-07 16.14.36

2013-09-07 16.15.29

Do you see the mountain biker I put in the painting to represent my husband?

DSC01637*And last, but not least…my kids can sleep anywhere…and in any position. This is them in the back of the truck on the way to a campout last month. I was shocked they had fallen asleep this way without fighting over personal space. I guess that’s enough mishmash for now. Enjoy fall wherever you are (unless you live south of the equator…then enjoy Spring).

Char Signature

28 thoughts on “Miscellaneous Mishmash…and why boys are weird

  1. Fun post! Thanks for sharing. I love the painting you did in your dad’s train room. I did something like that in my son’s bedroom when he was little. He enjoyed it.

    • Ha ha. I think I’ll agree with you. I keep hoping my son will mature and not be so crazy…and then I see my husband do something silly and think it’s a hopeless cause. But their weirdness does make me laugh a lot.

  2. Wow! You are a very talented artist, Charissa! I’m impressed with your paint job. Your dad’s train is sooooo cool! I bet all the grandchildren love it! As for a bacon doughnut, my daughter says they’re good too. (maple and bacon) I haven’t tried one as of yet, but I’m curious! Maybe someday.

    • It’s amazing what a time limit will do for creativity. I had a weekend and wanted to get it done, so I just plowed into the project before I could doubt myself. The grandkids do like it (so do the big kids like me). It’s a pretty cool train room. My husband raved about the bacon doughnut, so I hope I get to try one soon.

  3. Oh, so many things to touch on. First of all, that first image is gorgeous. What a perfect picture. Would make a great jigsaw puzzle! Second of all, I’ve seen those bacon doughnuts, and I can now say I’ve found a treat that doesn’t tempt me. Ew. And third, that train border is incredible! Please, please, please come to my house and do some cool things like that in my rooms. I’m sure it didn’t take anytime at all. 😉 But seriously, wow, I’m impressed. That must have taken a lot of time and patience to complete.

    • Isn’t that fall picture gorgeous. That’s at Albertson’s park in downtown Boise. That park is one of my favorites all year–the landscaping is done so well that every season is a show there. And truthfully, I have a better chance of getting to your house to paint before I do my own. Two room upstairs in my house have been torn apart for over a month waiting for me to help my son paint his new room so we can move all his mess into there. Yet, even though it’s just plain painting walls one color (and maybe some stripes or something boyishly masculine), I can’t get motivated to make time to do it. Sigh. Of course, it took me about three years of visits to finally finish my Dad’s train room…so I’ve got time on my hands for my son’s room yet.

      • I have so many projects awaiting my attention as well, nothing as big as painting a room, but enough little things that are piling up since I put all effort into my manuscript. I have an awful lot of pictures to print out and add to photographs. Oh, I’m getting stressed just thinking about it…

  4. Wow, a lot has happened! Yep, boys are weird and even so, that stuff still surprises me when it happens. Now, I’m not sure if I should be more impressed with your dad’s train collection or your painting skills!

    • Be impressed with his train collection; he’s been collecting since I was a little girl and has had everything stashed under beds, in closets until the last few years. He’s having his fun now.

  5. Bacon doughnuts, never heard of such a thing! It doesn’t immediately appeal to me, but I’d certainly be willing to give them a try, you know, if you insisted ‘n all.

    And yes, I see the little mountain biker coming over the hill! Great painting job around the room, I particularly like the snowy mountains 🙂

    • I’ve always thought the bacon doughnut thing sounded weird too, but my husband assured me it went together perfectly and was very yummy. I like the snowy mts too. I didn’t get a picture of the side that had the Matterhorn on it. My dad served a mission in Austria/Switzerland when he was younger, so I had to work in the Alps in the train room.

  6. Wow – I love the mural! You’re a really talented artist. That’s great that you have your husband mountain biking in there. Your dad’s train must be so much fun when it’s going from room to room. Maybe the bacon donuts made the kids crash like that in the last picture. 🙂

    • I think it was boredom that made the kids crash. Unfortunately we didn’t have any bacon doughnuts on that trip (I might have to make sure we do next time).

  7. Loving your captures – especially the very last one – ha! – great work on painting the train room:) I had a brother growing up, so I know weird as well as being pranked. I am loving the weather and getting outside right now. Have a Happy Week:)

    • Isn’t that sleeping picture a hoot! I’m glad you’re getting out and enjoying the green…red, orange, yellow and whatever else.

  8. Wow, you are definitely multi-talented in the creativity department! Your dad must be thrilled with how the room turned out!

    I’ll also pass on the bacon doughnuts, just as I have with bacon ice cream. 😉 It sounds like the boys had an adventurous trip, even if it didn’t turn out quite as planned.

    • I think the boys will always remember this one because of everything that went wrong. Sometimes campouts like that turn out to be the best. I’ll eat your bacon doughnut for you (I’m nice like that).

  9. Bacon doughnuts sound just as disgusting as lobster ice cream — yes, there is such a thing. I’ve also seen bacon cupcakes with rashes of bacon garnishing the tops. Ew!

    I love the artwork you did for your dad. He does look quite proud. I don’t blame him. If I could have a whole room just for me to do what I love to do, I’d be in hog heaven…ugh, bacon is on my mind.

    • bacon doughnuts sounded gross to me the first time I heard about them too…but the longer it’s stuck in my mind, the more intrigued I am by them. Someday I shall taste for myself and get to the bottom of the mystery. But the lobster ice cream might take centuries in my mind before I want to try that. Bleck.

  10. So of course I love the bacon donut picture (I’m with you, we need to try those for ourselves!), but I think my favorite is of your smiling dad. He looks so happy and proud.

    I love these glimpses into your life, Char. You have a beautiful family.

    Happy Fall,
    Christy

Comments are closed.