If you like Chocolate…this post is for you

Award time again. I’m so slow at accepting these that I hope the bloggers who give me these awards will not hate me and think I’ve forgotten about them. I haven’t. I just am a blogging award turtle…slow, but steady.

Faith Colburn, a new follower that has a nice midwestern flavor to her blog, gave me the Liebster award. Thanks, Faith.

I will answer her 10 questions and then ask that any of my readers that love chocolate accept this award and answer the questions I leave at the end (and you can do it in the comments–you know that I am not a stickler for following blog rules. I’m lousy at it actually)

Countdown of questions:

1) Please give a brief description of your blog’s mission.

  • This is shown in my About page.

2) What was your childhood dream?

  • I had so many. It changed depending on what book I had checked out from the library that week. I wanted to be an equestrian, a space explorer, a teacher (I did that one for a while), and a writer.

3) What or who have been the strongest influences on your writing?

  • I had 4 teachers—Mrs. Rosch in 7th grade, Mrs. Smith in high school, David Ward in college, and Hale for an online writing course who motivated me a lot (even though I never talked to her face to face); we just traded comments through the mailed in assignments.

4) Sunrises or sunsets and why?

  • Both! When you see both you know you’ve lived life fully that day.

5) How would you describe compassion?

  • Being kind, and putting yourself in others’ shoes and then trying to be their best friend to help them out.

6) What is your ideal vacation?

  • When it comes right down to it, I’m not super adventurous. I find what I like and then I grab hold and don’t let go. I do this at my favorite restaurants, with my favorite music groups, and I do it with Kauai. I don’t really want to go anywhere else, because that island is a peaceful paradise in my heart…and nothing is going to beat it.

7) What do you read when you’re in a “purple funk?”

  • I really don’t like the color purple, so I think I don’t read anything when I’m in a purple funk—I just run to the shower and try to wipe it off.

8) What is your favorite book and why?

  • This is WAY TOO HARD of a question.  I have tons of favorite books and can’t whittle it down. So I’ll just name some off the top of my head: Les Miserables, Harry Potter series, Edenbrooke, A Different Blue, The Book Thief, and For Nick. There are dozens and dozens of others, but I will keep it short (send chocolate to thank me).

9) If you could have a superpower, what would it be and why?

  • I’ll make up a superpower—to make more time in each day but still only need 7-8 hours of sleep. That would be awesome. I could get so much more done if I had about 5 hours more each day.

10) What is your proudest accomplishment?

  • My kids. They make me smile each and every day.

 * * * * *

Now for my 10 questions that I want everyone to answer (if you like chocolate).

  1. Chocolate goes best with _________.
  2. Chocolate makes the world ___________.
  3. Chocolate makes me feel like _________.
  4. What is your favorite chocolate treat?
  5. Light or dark?
  6. If you were on a deserted island, which would you crave most?  Brownies, Chocolate shakes, fudge, or a candybar?
  7. What candybar do you most relate to?
  8. What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re sad?
  9. What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re happy?
  10. If you had the magic touch and could turn anything to chocolate, what would you touch? (no children allowed; that’s mean)

* * * * *

I can’t wait to read your answers. Have fun!

Char Signature

40 thoughts on “If you like Chocolate…this post is for you

  1. 1. Peanut butter or caramel.
    2. A happier place.
    3. Life is easier, even if just for a little while.
    4. Snickers or pretzel M&Ms.
    5. Light.
    6. The shakes. The desert island would be hot so it would be a nice way of cooling off.
    7. Snickers — packed with delicious surprises!
    8. Any.
    9. Any.
    10.Dessert dishes — you could eat your dessert and the bowl/plate too!

  2. 1. Everything.
    2. tastier
    3. Ahhhhh
    4. Cake, German Chocolate or Chocolate Chip Cookies with cold milk
    5. DARK
    6, Chocolate shake
    7. Snickers or Mounds or Almond Joy, all of them I guess! I can’t remember the last time I even had a candy bar.
    8. Anything chocolate
    9. Anything chocolate
    10. I wouldn’t. I like variety. ;).

    Congrats on your award, Char. And Kauai is sooooo beautiful.

  3. I’ll answer #4: one of the Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory’s concoctions where they mix together marshmallows, cashews, pretzels, caramel…you name it, they put it in. And then they smother it all in chocolate. Yummy yum yum and very naughty.

    Fun acceptance post. I got all scroogy and stopped doing them. Just can’t think of any new ways to accept them. But it’s clear you’ve still got great wind in your award sail! (Not that I mean to imply you’re breaking wind. Then again, that is a lot of chocolate…)

    • Your delectable delight sounds very naughty. I want one! And it is more fun to talk about chocolate than eat as much as you’d think I eat since I write about it all the time. I really would be windy then. Whew. I do have some control…just not when I write.

          • Isn’t that the truth? I remember when my husband and I were students, and we’d go for pizza at midnight after studying and think nothing of it. If I ate half a pizza at midnight now…well, let’s just say it wouldn’t be a peaceful night. And the scale wouldn’t like it either.

            • And the worst part is…we didn’t really appreciate our freedom (to eat) back then. We took it for granted…like all young foolish people do.

  4. Fun idea to turn it back to your readers!!
    Chocolate goes best with cream cheese.
    Chocolate makes the world sticky.
    Chocolate makes me feel like a zit is about to emerge on my nose.
    What is your favorite chocolate treat? Pepperidge Farm Chocolate Cake.
    Light or dark? Light.
    If you were on a deserted island, which would you crave most? Brownies, Chocolate shakes, fudge, or a candybar? Chocolate Shakes.
    What candybar do you most relate to? Salted Nut Roll. I’m a nut, but salty, like a sailor!
    What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re sad? probably chocolate chips because that’s all I have in the house and I’m too sad to go to the grocery store.
    What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re happy? Chocolate, cream cheese brownies.
    If you had the magic touch and could turn anything to chocolate, what would you touch? (no children allowed; that’s mean) all the dirt in my house.

    • Ha ha ha! I love all your answers–the sticky, the zit, the salty sailor. I agree with chocolate chips. That’s usually all I have around. I like them frozen (that way I don’t eat as many at a time). You are brilliant to think of dirt or dust. How nice that would be to eat all that. And I’m thinking you need to post some recipes on your blog at times–like those cream cheese chocolate brownies (or write another book with recipes; I liked that last one).

      • Well, the dust came to me because I’m cleaning today and boy would I rather be eating chocolate!

        Recipes on my blog. Hmmm. Now there’s an idea. I could do a little story about something related to food and add a recipe. Now you’re the one who’s brilliant!

        • Thanks. I wish I could do it too…but noone would want my recipes. I’m kind of bland most times. My husband cooks much better than I do. I do get into cooking desserts though. That’s actually fun.

  5. 1.Chocolate goes best with – me.
    2.Chocolate makes the world – more chocolatey.
    3.Chocolate makes me feel like – I’ve been naughty.
    4.What is your favorite chocolate treat? – Depends on my mood.
    5.Light or dark? – Light.
    6.If you were on a deserted island, which would you crave most? Brownies, Chocolate shakes, fudge, or a candybar? – Probably a candybar.
    7.What candybar do you most relate to? – I prefer to let the candybars decide which of them relates to me.
    8.What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re sad? – I don’t really want to eat when I’m sad.
    9.What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re happy? – Cadbury have brought out a new range of bars called Marvellous Creations that have lots of seemingly random things thrown in, like one bar has chewy jellies, candy shells and popping candy in, another is cola pretzel honeycomb! They’re fun and happy! 🙂
    10.If you had the magic touch and could turn anything to chocolate, what would you touch? (no children allowed; that’s mean) – Maybe cilantro seeing as I hate it!

    • I love letting the candybar decide which of them relates to you. Perfect. And I want to try these marvellous creations from Cadbury. This is the 2nd time I’ve heard of them, and they sound pretty fun and happy. Thanks, Vanessa! You’re awesome.

  6. First of all, I love your ‘purple funk’ answer. Secondly, thanks for naming For Nick as one of your favorite books. Wow! (chocolate on its way) Now on to my chocolate answers:
    1. Everything.
    2. A better place.
    3. Dancing!
    4. Haagen Daaz (did I spell that right?)
    5. Always, always light.
    6. Chocolate Shake because it would fill me up and I’m assuming I’m starving.
    7. Payday because I’m nutty.
    8. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream (the entire tub of Ben and Jerry’s! Really pathetic.)
    9. Chocolate Chip Cookies–they have magical powers.
    10. Probably all of my food–every morsel– which wouldn’t be very healthy–or would it?

    • All your food as light chocolate wouldn’t be the healthiest–I guess you might have to go to the Dark side to get more nutritious. Thanks, Taylor. Your answers were funny. And I agree, Chocolate chip cookies do have magical powers. They make me grow (but I’m happy).

  7. Oh, how fun! By the way, I can’t pick between sunrises and sunsets either. They both make me feel good in a different way.

    1.Chocolate goes best with fruit, or in brownies, of course.
    2.Chocolate makes the world a happier place.
    3.Chocolate makes me feel like I died and went to heaven. Too much? Not if you go with the best chocolate out there.
    4.What is your favorite chocolate treat? Gooey chocolate fudge brownies.
    5.Light or dark? Mostly dark, but good milk chocolate works well as a pick-me-up too.
    6.If you were on a deserted island, which would you crave most? Brownies, Chocolate shakes, fudge, or a candybar? Well, brownies because they’re my favorite, but if it’s hot, I bet a chocolate shake would be tempting.
    7.What candybar do you most relate to? Twix. Hard on the outside, gooey on the inside.
    8.What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re sad? Baskin Robbins Mississippi mud ice cream. The BEST chocolate ice cream in the world.
    9.What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re happy?Baskin Robbins Mississippi mud ice cream. Did I mention it was the best chocolate ice cream in the world?
    10.If you had the magic touch and could turn anything to chocolate, what would you touch? (no children allowed; that’s mean). Er, my ex, and I’d make sure he stands by a street sewer in the baking sun when I do it, so he could run off right in there. Too mean? Not if you really knew him, haha! Chocolate can be very convenient…

    • I will have to find me a Baskin Robbins to try that ice cream. Seriously! Brownies. My family laughs at me because that is all I ever want when we talk about making a dessert. They want variety. I don’t need variety if there are brownies around. Glad to find someone who feels the same. And the image of your ex melting into the sewer made me laugh. Have a chocolatey happy day.

      • Tell them there’s regular brownies, dark chocolate brownies, chocolate fudge brownies, white and dark chocolate chip brownies, caramel brownies, etc.
        The Baskin Robbins Mississippi mud is chocolate ice cream, chocolate fudge ribbon and brownie pieces all mixed together. Could it be any more perfect?

        • Yes, you’re right. There are some way scrumptious brownies. But I am boring (and a touch lazy on Sundays when we want a dessert; after all, I just made a big dinner), so when it’s left to me, I’m happy making brownies from a box. They soothe me any way they come, and that box way is so dang easy and cheap. And that ice cream has to be the best if it has brownies in it.

  8. 1. Ice cream
    2. Decadent
    3. Relaxation
    4. Frozen peanut butter cups
    5. Light
    6. Brownies
    7. Almond Joy – Sometimes you feel like a nut…sometimes you don’t
    8. Hot fudge sundae
    9. Frozen peanut butter cups
    10. Politicians and lawyers, so I could melt them down and create something useful.

  9. Any kind of chocolate, any time of the day is fine with me. Now I’m daydreaming about living in that Wonka chocolate paradise. Love your answer for sunrises and sunsets.

  10. Chocolate goes best with everything but raisins.
    Chocolate makes the world joyful.
    Chocolate makes me feel like makin’ whoopee!
    Chocolate treat – Pierre’s Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream
    Dark – This is one time when it’s okay to embrace the “Dark Side”
    Deserted Island – Fudge washed down with coconut milk.
    Candy Bar – Mounds & Almond Joy because sometimes I feel like a nut, sometimes I don’t.
    Sad – Chocolate Chip Cookies
    Happy – Chocolate Chip Cookies
    Magic Touch – The clay in my yard. That way it would finally be useful.

    Congrats on the award and for sharing it with us chocolate nuts. Now I must go spray my itchy mosquito bites with chocolate. 😉

    • I’m sorry you have mosquitoes. It’s been too dry here for them this year. Clay into chocolate is another good idea. I hate my clay soil as well. The weeds love it though. And I want some of that ice cream. Seriously…all these comments are making me have cravings!

  11. 1.Chocolate goes best with an empty stomach.
    2.Chocolate makes the world a better place.
    3.Chocolate makes me feel comforted.
    4.What is your favorite chocolate treat? Black Forest Cherry Pudding Cake.
    5.Light or dark? Both.
    6.If you were on a deserted island, which would you crave most? Brownies, Chocolate shakes, fudge, or a candybar? Brownies.
    7.What candybar do you most relate to? Reese’s PB Cups.
    8.What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re sad? plain chocolate bar (Nestle’s preferably because that’s what my grandmother loved).
    9.What chocolate treat do you eat when you’re happy? Anything that I make myself.
    10.If you had the magic touch and could turn anything to chocolate, what would you touch? (no children allowed; that’s mean) My bills.

    Congrats on your award, Char!

  12. Ooh, so very fun!
    1) more chocolate (then caramel)
    2) a better place
    3) all is well with the world
    4) Belgian truffles
    5) light
    6) fudge
    7) something with quietly complex flavors
    8) any of my favorites
    9) also any of my favorites
    10) pollutants and garbage, but then we might be buried in chocolate!

Comments are closed.