Quirky Wylde Questions

Today, Anya Wylde is back again to tell us a little bit about her latest book, Seeking Philbert Woodbead. It has a quirky title, so I thought I’d ask her some quirky questions. Anya lives in Ireland with her husband and adorable French black poodle.  This is her third book I’ve read, and it kept me laughing with its sharp wit and outlandish scenes. 

Tell us about this new book of yours, Anya.

Anya:  Seeking Philbert Woodbead is a comic tale of yet another Fairweather sister called Celine. It is her journey of discovery where she learns to differentiate between infatuation and true love.

 I loved seeing Celine grow during this story. She was a fun character…and I especially loved having Penelope back as a side character. She made me laugh with her antics. 

So now for the quirky questions. What candy bar would be your motto for life?

Anya: The new Cadbury’s chocolate bar. It looks like a normal bar of chocolate until you bite into it. It is then the magic happens because sprinkled liberally within the smooth chocolate are pop rocks. And pop rocks mean a party in your mouth, and that is how I live my life. I may appear to be calm and serene but in my head there is a ball happening where all sorts of ideas are summersaulting, cartwheeling and exploding constantly.

Okay, I want one of these! I might have to fly to Ireland just to try the new Cadbury surprise. Yummy! And yes, it does seem to be the perfect fit for you, going from the fun, witty writing style. 

Your characters are always very quirky. Can you tell my readers about some of your characters’ different quirks? 

Anya: I am not sure if the following character descriptions define their quirkiness, but this is what I think makes the following characters interesting. 

  1. Penelope Fairweather from my book ‘Penelope’ has a pet goat called Lady Bathsheba.
  2. Philbert Woodbead from my book ‘ Seeking Philbert Woodbead’ loves writing terrible poetry.
  3. Prudence Barker from ‘The Wicked Wager’ likes wearing interesting hats. Her favorite hat is in shape of a teapot.
  4. Lady Babbage from ‘The Wicked Wager’ enjoys blackmailing her friends and family.
  5. Sir Henry from my book ‘Penelope’ refuses to dine with men who do not have moustaches.

 Do you have any silly quirks of your own?         

Anya: I don’t like wearing socks. Microwaves terrify me. I am still scared of monsters and ghosts. I don’t like the tips of my ears getting cold, which is why I need a game plan every time I go out in winter to ensure that my ears are warm and snug at all times.

Awesome! You should write yourself into your next book. You’d fit right in with Penelope and the others. Who is your favorite character you have written so far? 

I loved creating Philbert Woodbead. He is funny, persistent, annoying and a little bit pathetic.

Yes! He is all those things. Thanks so much for taking the time out of your quirky day to be here, Anya!

Anya: Thank you so much for having me.

If you haven’t treated yourself to one of Anya Wylde’s books yet, here are links to check them out. They will tickle your funny bone and make you laugh out loud (so don’t read one of them during church where everyone will turn and stare at you when you do). 

The Wicked Wager

Penelope

Seeking Philbert Woodbead

Happy Reading!

Char Signature

16 thoughts on “Quirky Wylde Questions

    • That pop rock chocolate sounds kind of good, doesn’t it? It’s not at any of the stores I shop at though…so I’m snacking on autumn M&Ms at the moment. I love the colors of them, although the taste is the same. I keep making beautiful patterns with them. Maybe I should finish them so I can get some work done.

  1. What a fun and clever interview! I haven’t read any of these books, so thanks for the heads up. I love anything quirky and funny! I will definitely check them out!
    I’ve never heard of pop rocks in a chocolate bar. What an awesome creation!

  2. Those characters sound great – I love the hat that’s in the shape of a tea pot and refusing to dine with men who don’t have mustaches! Thanks so much for the book recommendations. I’ll have to check them out.

  3. Have to check this out since sometimes I get in a book rut and not sure what to read in order to get out of said rut – ha! Thanks so much for sharing – Great Post – Happy Hump Day:)

    • I know! I looked at the Cadbury site, but couldn’t figure out which name has the pop rocks in it. I saw a jelly bean one. Anya…when you read these comments, tell us the name of that candybar.

Comments are closed.