Forget about it!

20130711_193002I’ve been an editing machine lately. I worked through my 3rd book five times looking for different things before I sent it off to my beta-readers. Now I’m rereading Book 1 to make it better. When the final book is done in the Eyes of Light series, I want to promote all 3 at once (since I haven’t done much marketing for Book 2).

The bad thing about editing and writing for me is that I forget about things. I turned on my hose this morning to deep water my berries and left to go write. 10 hours later, I finally remembered the hose was still running. Yikes!

Needless to say, my berries got VERY DEEP watered. There is a pool out in my firepit area now. Luckily, it is irrigation water from the canal, so I won’t have a big bill like I would have had in Las Vegas for overwatering. Whew!

Other things I’ve forgotten as I get DEEP into writing or editing:

  • Meals = burnt offerings
  • Kids = stuck somewhere without a ride (And I wonder why I haven’t won MOM OF THE YEAR yet)
  • Appointments = embarrassment when I have to call to reschedule (Yes! I know you called me yesterday to remind me…but did you call me today? Hmmmm?)
  • Assignments = more embarrassment (I’m holding my hands up to my head in a big letter L)

Sigh. Does anyone want to come over and swim in my new pool and commiserate with me?

Char Signature

28 thoughts on “Forget about it!

  1. Good job with the editing! It takes a lot of concentration. Hopefully that water will soak in and you’ll have a great berry crop!

    • I really do love editing. I just wish I had more time to do it and wasn’t so forgetful about everything else when I do it. And who knows on those berries. They seem kind of dried out so far…but I’m just happy the bushes are still alive. I have killed so many transplants over the years…and these seemed to have taken root and growing well (at least the leaves).

  2. Haha, well, at least you’ve retained your sense of humor. Without it, we’d be swimming in a different pool–a pool of tears!

    One of the lectures I heard yesterday at Thrillerfest (really great conference, by the way), was about what to do after the first draft in terms of editing. The author suggested you need to reread the manuscript five times, looking for different things each time. So with your five look-overs, it appears you’re right on target. You could have given the lecture!

    • I could have given the lecture if I remembered about it. Most likely I would have forgotten about it by time the date rolled around. A pool of tears. Maybe the first time it was a pool of tears. But I’ve done this at least a half dozen times now. I’m to the eye-rolling stage now. The first few times I had anxiety issues, wondering if I’d ruin my firepit. But it has survived each and every time. Maybe this will spur my husband on to getting the automatic drip system to the berries done so I don’t keep flooding the yard. Glad you’re enjoying your conference. That sounds fun. And good for you for doing that 3 hours of pitching your story to agents. Wow! That’s gumption.

    • Summer’s are meant for relaxing, right? So don’t punish yourself for getting less done. My blog writing has been pretty pathetic this summer…but I just try to make myself feel better by patting my own back for making a pool in the yard (for much less than $60,000). Come for a swim if you’re ever in Boise.

  3. Well done, Char (on the editing, not the new pool) 😉

    I’m constantly forgetting to do things when I’m writing and editing. Luckily the kids have grown up now and can cook their own meals. Hubby has to learn how to wash and fold his clothes and the dogs need to feed themselves – the perfect life 😀

    • Thanks. I’m just glad I didn’t leave the kitchen sink on and then go lose my mind. An inside pool would have made me cry pretty hard. The outside one has attracted lots of birds, so I guess it isn’t all bad.

  4. Too funny! But very easy to do. Writing is absorbing. Sometimes I turn around in my desk chair and realize the entire house is pitch black, except for my office lamp. Kinda creepy! The hours seem to fly by while writing, but I think it’s a sign that we are enjoying what we are doing.
    BTW, I love your new pool–just in time for summer. Good luck on the editing!

    • It is absorbing. I just wish I’d made the pool in the part of the yard by my willows. They would have loved all that water.

  5. Haha, the first thing I thought about when I saw your photo was your water bill! Well, if you’re growing cranberries, I guess that’s the way they do it – flood the whole area.

    I hear you about forgetting things when you’re trying to focus on something important. I’ve been writing down everything we have going on on our calendar and it looks ridiculously full for the summer. So far though, we haven’t missed anything I don’t know about.

    Good luck with your project!

    • Yes, in Vegas this would have been hundreds of dollars worth of water. Of course, in Vegas, I probably wouldn’t have had berries I needed to water either. That’s awesome that you’re getting all your summer activities done. Keep up the good work, and have a blast with your sons.

    • Too true. The good thing is…it’s been close to the 100s outside, so I haven’t been tempted to go sit around a fire. Besides, I’d have to wait until after 11:00 pm before it was dark, and I’m too tired by then to want to light a fire.

    • From the comments, it seems like the ‘forgetting’ thing is common among writers. Whew! I thought I was just losing my mind. Thanks for the cheers from the sidelines. Hope you like Secret Keepers when you get a chance to read it.

  6. Yes I forgot about other things too when I’m focused on something. I’m not sure how true this multi-tasking notion is! Congrats on getting on with your editing though – imagine if you forgot to do THAT!!!

    • Editing is hard to forget…sigh. I did find this in my spam. So weird. But you’re out of the garbage pile and I will dust you off and send you on your way. Sorry, Vanessa. Hopefully Askimet stops tossing you in the can.

  7. Good for you Char for being so deep into your editin. I wouldn’t mind some of that editing momentum rubbing off on me! As for your new pool, some koi fish would be a nice addition 🙂 good luck with book #3!!!

    • Koi fish. Good idea. They are so pretty! But yea, after 2 days, the water is almost gone. Whew! So maybe the koi will have to wait till next time I water my berries.

  8. Love the new pool. Wish our reception was in your backyard instead of mine. Yours looks way better, especially with your new pond! Keep up the good work on the editing. I am dying to get my hands on book 3. Do you have an ETA yet?

  9. No ETA yet. It’s out to 2 readers. Do you want to be my 3rd? You can if you promise to tear it apart (ha ha). And no, you cannot hold the wedding here. I would have to weed, and that might take me until September. The weather has been perfect for weeds this year (freaking fracking!). And the pool I made didn’t help. Now there are millions more weeds in that part (grrrrr!) I hate weeds.

Comments are closed.