Happy Independence Day!

One of my favorite commercials growing up was the Chevy one that had the snazzy song: Baseball, hotdogs, apple pie, and Chevrolet. Not that I liked or cared one iota about Chevy…not that I like baseball either. It’s pretty boring, although my first date with my husband was to a baseball game…so I will give it some points for that. Hotdogs are okay, but nothing to dance about (unless they’re Polish sausage or filled with cheese…then the yummy value increases enough to be worthy of a song). Apple pie’s okay too, but nothing compared to Peach pie or Strawberry rhubarb. But Chevy’s commercial made us all feel that Baseball, hotdogs, apple pie and Chevrolet were all things American.

But American means all kinds of things to all sorts of people. We are a melting pot for way more than hotdogs, baseball and Chevy.

So in honor of the USA’s Independence, I have made up a new song that encompasses a little more than 4 words. I won’t sing it for you–for that would be cruel and unusual punishment, and I don’t believe in that except for roaches and ants…and wasps. Sing it to the same tune I’ve included of the old commercial. YouTube Chevy Commercial

Baseball, hotdogs, apple pie and Chevrolet

Football, popcorn, fireworks and long freeways

Ford trucks, quacking ducks, Coca-cola, Western space

Gators, Taters, fried chicken and Southern grace

Corn cob, Uncle Bob, Very tasty Midwest wheat

Cities, taxis, street vendors in Eastern heat

Big trees, wild waves, cloudy Northwestern days

(and back to) Baseball, hotdogs, apple pie and Chevrolet

Hope you have a fun weekend!  And for those of you in other parts of the world, I hope you enjoy my made-up song even though the 4th of July isn’t your holiday. Just enjoy the corny poetic flow of words…especially gators and taters. I was proud of myself for getting those in there.

Char Signature

23 thoughts on “Happy Independence Day!

    • I took all this food for me on my campout this week, and the only thing we didn’t eat and I brought home were the silly hotdogs. Go figure. We celebrated the 4th with fried chicken (which is much more American than hotdogs in my opinion–of course, I’m not a baseball girl either). Glad you enjoyed my corny song.

    • I was thinking of you on the Midwest line–corn cob, Uncle Bob. I think you could work it into your next book. Ha ha. Just kidding. But I hope you had a fantastic 4th!

      • I did. For me, a few fireworks go a long way, but we were on a lake and it was nice weather. It was perfect.

  1. Apple pie is my fav…..went to my FIRST baseball game and it was fun. Mind you, not that I’ve become a fan or will go regularly. Fun post – have a great 4th 🙂

    • I love apples, but the crust isn’t my favorite on apple pie. Apple crisp is more my thing–more apples, less flavorless dough. Glad you liked your first baseball game. My first date with hubby was to a baseball game in Vegas and I swear it was about 200 degrees outside (at least I sweat like it was 200 degrees). I don’t know if it was because the temp was hot, or I was so nervous.

    • Glad you enjoyed my attempt to be clever. Actually, it was desperation. I knew I was heading out of town and needed to post and what came out had to do (I didn’t have much time between Girl’s camp last week and family camping this week). Sigh. And you are my new hero, Taylor. I’ve read 5 of you books now and can’t think of a bad thing to say about any of them. They rank in my favorites (each one for different reasons). Keep writing more. I need them.

    • We had a fun 4th. We camped at a lake in McCall, Idaho and watched fireworks on the beach there. I’ll have to post pics of this new cool lake we hiked to this week. I fell in love with it.

      • Can’t wait to see pix, I bet it was beautiful. Beachfront fireworks sounds amazing. I never was much of a camper, but I certainly love to hike though. So glad you had a fun 4th!

        • Beachfront fireworks were pretty cool. And I only like camping because my husband does a lot of work to make sure I’m comfortable and like it. I have a cot with 2 thick pads and sleep like a baby. The campground had flushing toilets (hooray) and we could walk from the pines down to the beach and there are bike paths through the forest everywhere. McCall is pretty plush camping. And we’re 5 minutes from town if we need ice or ice cream (ha ha). I always say that if my hubby dies, we wouldn’t camp anymore (unless the kids pick up the slack and do everything for me). I wasn’t raised camping and am pretty pathetic at starting a fire or figuring out how to set up a tent. But I love the outdoors if someone knows how to do all that ‘camping’ stuff for me.

    • Yeah, we had a blast this week camping…so I can’t complain. I love being outdoors and read a couple of amazing books while my kids and their dad went on a hard mt bike trail for 5 hours and came back all cut up and scraped. I think I got the better deal lazing away (with no blood activity) in the campground.

  2. You know, I’ve never understood the apple pie reference for the 4th of July. Apples are not in season until September and July would be more about watermelon. Do you know what the deal is?

Comments are closed.