Tactile Texture

T is for Texture.

I love the feel and look of different Textures. Today’s post can be short or long, depending on you. Here are some photos shots my daughter took, and I’ve written a short Tactile description. Your assignment, if you bravely choose to accept it, is to think up other words to describe these Textures. Leave your Tactile words in the comments below, and let’s see how many descriptive words we can come up with to use in stories to add the sense of Touch.

Velvety petals

Velvety petals

Metallic strands

Cold Metallic Strands

Smooth ridged plastic

Warm Ridged plastic and cool woven metal

Papery bark

Thin papery bark

Polished ivory keys

Polished ivory keys

Smooth with rough veins

Weathered shiny pulp

Texture is everywhere, but I often find myself leaving this kind of sensory details out of my writing. Going through this exercise was hard for me. What about you? Did descriptive words come easily? Or did you find this exercise hard? I might have to search for better words to add to my list of tactile expressions so I don’t leave the sense of Touch out of my stories. Talk to you Tomorrow.

Char Signature

37 thoughts on “Tactile Texture

  1. Daughter appears to be quite talented with the camera…..great shots. Every time I came up with a description, it was the same you already used. Perhaps some chocolate this morning will warm my brain!

  2. You know, I do find it hard to describe things sometimes. It either hits me or it doesn’t. One thing I know for sure is, your daughter takes great pictures! But, anyway, here’s a stab at some words I might use in a description: For the flower, unfolding. For the next picture: taut copper lines. The buttons (and I really love old buttons btw) they looked like a pile of tiny colored faces, their eyes staring up at me from the pile. The tree…flaking. The piano: mountains and valleys of ebony and ivory. The pepper: sun-baked.
    Thanks for the challenge this morning. It got my mind going!

    • Nice job, Gina! I love the sun-baked one you came up with especially. I will have to remember that. And the buttons are fun to look at–just like people watching. They’re all so different.

  3. Great Post! I usually go with emotional descriptors instead of textural descriptors in my writing. Fauna and floral seem easy to describe, but those strands, keys and buttons not so much. Have to pay more attention to this in my writing going forward. Have a Great Day:)

    • Maybe the floral and fauna are easier to describe because they are living things. The others are cold, hard lifeless material.

  4. Silky smooth petals.
    The icy brass strings tightly wound for sound.
    The varied textures of a million buttons, some ridged, some smooth, some old, some new, with a quiltwork of colors.
    Dried, curly, textured strips of bark
    Cool, shiny slick keys
    The aged skin of a red pepper hung securely to the vine.

    This was very difficult the more I thought about it. You daughter took beautiful vivid pictures.

    • I love reading all your descriptions. These are great. I must confess I’ve been looking forward to reading better descriptors than mine, and I haven’t been disappointed.

  5. Great pictures! I do have trouble sometimes with descriptions. That’s why I bought The Describer’s Dictionary. I’ve hardly used it however because my sons always have it with them!

    • Oh, that’s classic! Maybe I’m glad my children don’t write yet…or they’d steal all my writer’s guides as well.

  6. Descriptive words can be tricky, and I find myself using the same ones over. That’s what a second draft is for. Clean up the repetition and introduce some new sensory delights. 🙂

  7. I think the best photographers just develop a different way of looking at things. You can tell by what they illuminate in their photography that we don’t normally see.

  8. Again, a timely post from you! I’m currently writing a story and part of it involves the need to describe some flowers and I have worked on describing texture as well as colour for them. I can’t think of what terms I used right now though!

    • Flowers are fascinating, because there are so many kinds of textures and colors. Tonight I went to the temple and there were thousands of tulips all around it (pastels on the inside grounds, bright bold red and yellows on the outside). It was heavenly…and I wanted to transport it to my yard, which could use some color right about now. Good luck with your story.

  9. Great post, tough challenge. There are some great words in the comments. The words that came to me when I saw the tree bark was delicate & fragile. As I go through my latest draft I’ll have to keep in mind whether or not I am using texture and using it well! Thanks Char!

    • You’re welcome, Arlene. I was surprised by writing this at how much I skip over in settings. I thought it was a fun exercise. And the bark from that tree in my yard is pretty hardy (although it does look delicate). It takes a beating and keep looking pretty like that. I love River birches.

  10. Great photos. Wish I could take photos like that. I sometimes I have to close my eyes to latch onto tactile descriptions. I think removing one sense enhances the others. Here is my offering: warm, tight, greasy sutures.

    • That’s a good idea to close your eyes when you’re trying to think up a good description. I will try that. Greasy sutures—that’s unique.

  11. Pingback: Sense and Sensibility | Freak Scientist

  12. ok this is super late – like more than a month late (still playing catch – sounds like i’ve been doing that for the last few months – sigh!) anyhow, i just wanted to say your daughter has a very good eye! Tell her to keep at it! she’ll go somewhere with it, if that’s what she wants to do… 🙂
    Soft yielding petals, metal strings stretched in anticipation, peeling wasting bark, cold black and white keys filling the grey confusion, lines of age showing…

    • Thanks. I will tell her. And I’m sorry about posting daily in April (that had to put you way behind). I made up for it in May only posting 5 times. I like once a week posting the best. And by the way…great descriptions. They brought up vivid pictures in my mind even without the photos in front of me. I can’t wait to read your book when you get it done.

Comments are closed.