Magic in a Moment

P1030971Life is made up of moments…lots of them. We flit about like bees (if bees flit) from one activity to the next…but how many of these moments are magical to us?

Today I have a guest poem by my friend’s daughter, Gabbi. I love this poem’s message. When I read it, it touched me a lot, and I wanted to share. Gabbi hit the truth right on the crayon’s head!

Read it and see if you agree.

***

The Magic in a Moment. . .
By Gabrielle Pugmire

To find any magic in a moment,
All you need is love,
Or an empty piece of canvas, 
Or the sun shining above.

There is magic in an evening,
When you spend some time together,
And the announcement is made,
“Will you stay with me forever?”

There is magic in a crayon box,
Never opened and brand new,
As you draw onto blank paper,
Using pink and green and blue.

There is magic in an afternoon,
While on a bike you ride,
And rays of sun shine down upon you,
And make you warm inside.

You can find the magic anywhere,
If you really want to see,
Just let your imagination fly,
And the magic will be free.

MagicalMagical moments…they’re all around, just waiting for us to discover them.  We may have passed by some already, thinking they were too mundane and normal to be magical (like a box of crayons). I challenge you to open your eyes—like Gabbi’s poem teaches—and not take the moments in your life for granted.

I’d like to thank Gabbi for letting me share her awesome poem. It reminded me that most times we don’t have to look far to find the magical moments in our life.  We just have to have our eyes open and be more aware.

Char Signature

26 thoughts on “Magic in a Moment

  1. That’s a lovely poem, Char, and so true. Magic is everywhere, but sometimes we forget, even when it’s right in front of us. Gabbi has a bright future in writing if she wants it. It’s there for the taking. 🙂

  2. Char, I’m reading your book. Wow. Awesome writing. I read a few chapters every night in bed. That Suvi! So headstrong. Really enjoying the book!

    • Thanks, Gina. I do like Suvi for exactly that reason–how headstrong she is. I haven’t forgotten about doing an interview on my blog. I think we will maybe shoot for next week on Thurs or Fri. I need to come up with some interview questions though.

  3. My thanks to Gabbi for sharing her lovely poem. Sometimes it’s too easy for us to get caught up in the day-to-day routine and miss the magic in the world.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Kate. Youth are the best at seeing things clearly sometimes and helping us adults remember the simple joys.

  4. Beautiful poem, thanks for sharing. It reminds me of this quote a lot, one of my very favorite:
    “And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” ~ Roald Dahl (The Minpins)
    It’s all around us, waiting for us to discover it…

  5. Pingback: Two Winners And A Rorschach Test | The Write Transition

  6. Beautiful poem – I really love those last few lines and the thought of setting magic free with your imagination. It also makes me look forward to spring and bike riding! 🙂

    • Oh yeah! I’m looking forward to those two things also. My daughter in Utah went mt biking the other day at a ski resort with cross country skiers. I think she’s crazy. I’ll wait for the snow to melt, thank you.

Comments are closed.