Ghostly voices, murder, and Puritans

Just got done with another great book. I love reading. It’s the ultimate relaxation for me, and when I read a story that connects and makes me smile for some reason (it’s funny, breathtakingly romantic, interesting setting, vivid characters, or tragic in a way that I can’t stop thinking about), then I want to tell everyone about it.

Now, I understand, both as a reader and a writer, that everyone has VERY unique tastes. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve highly recommended a book to someone and then read their so-so review on Goodreads and been a bit disheartened. But I understand…because others have loved books that I couldn’t get into and thought were blah. We are all so different…and that’s okay and good. There are LOTS of books out there to read. On the off chance you happen to like books I do, here’s a shout out to The Heart of the Ocean by Heather B. Moore.

This is the first book I’ve read by her. I received a free copy to review, but don’t worry…no chocolate was given to me to bias my opinion. The following is very much my own un-chocolate tainted thoughts.

In this 1840’s mystery/paranormal/romance, Eliza Robinson flees the gossip of high society New York to go live with her Aunt Maeve in the Puritan town of Maybrook. During a storm, a ghostly voice, which only she can hear, urges her to jump off the cliff into the ocean.  She rushes home to the safety of her aunt, but trouble follows her. During the night, she hears a noise, discovers her aunt is dead, and rushes into the night for help; she runs into a strange man near her house and faints. When she and the man who found her, Jonathan Porter, both end up in jail on suspicion of her aunt’s murder, Eliza’s peaceful world she’s created in Maybrook crashes to pieces.

Thus begins Eliza’s intense and startling journey to discover the truth about her aunt’s death and the ghostly voice that haunts her. She discovers a journal belonging to a woman—Helena Talbott—who died 20 years before, who is said to have died of a broken heart and left behind a 3 year old son, who is now the same Jonathan Porter who saved and helped get her out of jail. Can she trust him?

This book pulled me in from the start with that ghostly voice on the cliff and haunted me until I could finish and solve the mystery of Helena Talbott’s death. The historical background was well done—giving me glimpses into life in America and England during the 1800’s without weighing the story down with too much detail. The main and side characters were rich and easy to connect to in this story. Their insecurities, pasts, weaknesses, strengths were all brought to life within the pages and had me engrossed in their lives. The romance is clean, yet makes you hold your breath, wondering if the obstacles barring love can ever be overcome.  I was hooked and carried away into another time and place by this great novel by Heather Moore.

The paranormal part isn’t too weird or ‘out there’; it’s actually quite believable. Anyway, I know some of my readers will love-hate me for adding yet another book to their To-Read list. But you can get your revenge by adding to mine. Feel free to leave a comment with any great 5-star books you’ve read. This book was great and I’m glad it’s now a part of my memories. Have a great weekend!

Char Signature

Other Recent Reviews:

Lancaster House by Taylor Dean

A Wicked Wager by Anya Wylde

Book Buffet (a sample of stories)

25 thoughts on “Ghostly voices, murder, and Puritans

    • I haven’t read that, but just went and looked up the synopsis. Rebecca sounds intriguing, I won’t lie. This book’s plot is quite different. hadn’t read one quite like this, so I loved it, but didn’t want to throw in any spoilers (because I love being surprised in books).

  1. That’s a nice review, Char. Period dramas are always fun and with the paranormal element it sounds even more interesting. Isn’t it great when you read a book you love? One book you might like (if you haven’t already read it) is Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. It has you guessing most of the way through. Oh, I just realised someone has already suggested it above. Well, there you go, two recommendations for the same book. 🙂

  2. Great review, Char, you made me want to read it. (She should send you some chocolate!) I’ll add it to my lists. The cover art is beautiful!

    I’ll have to check out “Rebecca” also as I noticed a couple of other readers mentioned it.

    I hope you’ve been well… thinking of you!
    Christy

    • I’m doing pretty good, Christy. Chocolate is always welcome, fore sure. And yes, that Rebecca book seems like a good bet since two others recommended it. You take care and give Spot (your cute dog) a big hug from me and Ginger.

  3. Nice review, Char! I hear you about loving books and realizing some people can’t stand them (Cutting For Stone comes to mind, doesn’t it?). That’s why there are millions of books available. There’s a book for everyone out there.

    • Yes, I will definitely have to read Rebecca now. And that’s funny how much you hated Cutting for Stone. I didn’t feel it was the best written book, but I still enjoyed it.

        • Yes, I’ve had books like that for me, that just rub me wrong, bore me to tears, or what not. I don’t think there’s a book out there that someone couldn’t find fault with.

  4. I also like period pieces with a bit of a mystery so this sounds like a good read. I didn’t read Rebecca but I’m a major Hitchcock fan and I saw his version of it. The book will probably be better! I’ll be adding this to my To-Read list. Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  5. Pingback: Quite different Queens | Joy in the Moments

Comments are closed.