Winter Funk

P1020879

This winter beauty does not lead to winter funk…but mucky black and icy roads do spread winter funk faster than Carrie Rubin’s flu virus in Seneca Scourge

I’m sitting here trying to think of something to post, but the winter funk’s ruined my mind. We had freezing rain last night and woke up to everything covered in a solid sheet of ice. I wanted to take the truck to drive my daughter to school (it should have been a SNOW DAY, Mr. Superintendent), but the rippling ice was 1/2 inch thick all over the windows, and I didn’t have the energy or time to scrape it off. So I took the wimpy van and hoped I wouldn’t be in a fatality.

I wasn’t…and so I still must post.

What do I write about when I have the winter funk? I don’t know. That’s why I’m babbling (on the keyboard). I’m actually silent as I sit here…so don’t think I’m talking to myself all crazy-like.

Iris__KG21

The cure to winter funk…is simply to get out of winter!

I guess I’ll write about spring, because that’s the only thought strong enough to bunk the funk. (I have no idea what that means, but it rhymes. You’re welcome). I always love spring, because my irises start blooming and they always make me smile. But this year I’m probably never going to stop grinning because I’ll be so dang excited that winter is behind me…a COLD, ICY winter that has no reason being in Boise. Not one!

If the wasps have been killed off by the single and negative digits, then I will be thankful for winter later. For now, It’s put me in a funk…and that’s no bunk. (That didn’t make any more sense than the first rhyme…but that’s what winter funk does to a writer!)

Now if you’ll excuse me, I think my daughter will be calling soon for a ride home from school. I must go use my wifely wiles to try to convince my husband I’m too much of a danger on the icy roads to be allowed to go get her. Wish me luck.

Char Signature

47 thoughts on “Winter Funk

  1. It is biting cold here as well, Char. It was sunny today, but I think it’s going to be freaking eight degrees tonight. This too shall pass and go slow and steady on those roads!

    • I am slow and steady, if nothing else. It’s those impatient SUV’s behind me that worry me on the roads. They think they’re invincible…but ice doesn’t care what you drive. Bundle up in a nice cozy robe or something tonight. I plan on staying indoors from now until spring (I wish!)

  2. Maybe endless cups of hot chocolate would help. ๐Ÿ™‚ Itโ€™s also a good time to write descriptions of the cold and everything it affects. Iโ€™m sure there are a few short stories in that environment.

    • Ah yes! You would be the one to help me see how this dreary winter could enliven my writing. I will have to do that tonight…write out all my descriptive desolate thoughts about winter.

  3. I can’t stand driving on ice, or snow. I did a poor job at it in CT (I usually ended up bumping into roadway signs in slow motion because my car wouldn’t stop). We broke some record hot temperatures earlier this week (over 80 degrees), so I don’t know what to tell you. This climate change is just ridiculous. Good luck and I’m sending warm thought your way!

  4. Yes, the weather my way is confirming why January is my bleakest month. Well, and February, too, but at least that one’s shorter. Oh, what I wouldn’t do for a beach right now…

    • A beach sounds divine…and speaking of island, I love the Hawaiian blizzard at DQ (heavenly). I might have to post about Kauai…not that any of you care, but because it would make me happy (and wistful)…and make me sad that I’m here and not there. Hmmm? Maybe I shouldn’t post about it.

        • Okay, since the roads are too treacherous to go buy me a blizzard, I’ll do an island post next week and start looking through pictures now. I think I need to dream up some stories set on some beautiful islands so I can go do some writer research (and eat chilled pineapple to my hearts content). What do you think? Are you game too? You could do a sequel to Seneca Scourge and have it be Waimea Wipeout or Kapaa Katastrophe (spelled wrong on purpose because you’re Kool!)

  5. Take a big hunk of the winter funk and go dunk it in a big vat of hot chocolate, so it will sunk. I know it makes no sense, just though I would see how many “unk” words I could use in a sentence. Stay warm. It is bitter cold here in Ohio too.

  6. It’s 18 F as I write this, and that is awfully darn cold for this area. I can’t believe they didn’t cancel your schools with all that ice. That’s far more dangerous on the roads than snow! Here, we got 1 inch of powdery snow last night, and the schools began two hours later than normal.

    When we had the record snowfalls in the winter of 2009/2010, I wrote about my characters dealing with August heat and humidity. So maybe writing about some lovely tropical islands will drive that junky, clunky funk away. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Yes, I think I will write about happier, warm times next week. The school district admitted on the news today that in hindsight they wished they had declared a snow day. The roads are still treacherous. Nothing has melted (I guess it can’t when the high is 23 and the lows are in the negatives).

  7. It’s freezing here too and I was also in a funk so you’re not alone! I had that crazy flu last week and then for some reason found it hard to force myself to post again. It’s nice to be visiting again though! I love your spring photo. Looking forward to seeing those colors again.

      • Well, it wasn’t so bad because then I didn’t have to venture out into the frozen tundra for a few days. But I couldn’t get up the energy to even turn the computer on either. Now it’s back to the reality of frozen car doors and getting frostbite while walking from the parking lot to the office. I heard today that people on Mt. Washington threw a bucket of water into the air and it froze while in the air. Now that’s cold!

        • Ick! My brother did the bucket throwing thing in Rexburg a week or so ago when they were down around -16 or something. Nasty. Glad you’re better though. Don’t slip in the parking lot.

  8. You mean you don’t LIKE hypothermia??!!!

    All kidding aside, it’s cold here, too. We had a little snow today. Not enough to mess everything up, fortunately. Stay warm and drink endless cups of tea, coffee or whatever works for you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. So many people commenting!!! Wow! What’s your secret?
    I still can’t imagine why I live in Nebraska. Hate winter. Hate it. But, I don’t love the humid heat of the summer either. I guess I just can’t be happy. Maybe if I lived in a tropical climate, I’d write happy books?! Gee. I’d like to test that theory!

    • Well half of these comments are Carrie and I shooting the breeze back and forth because we must be bored. And haven’t you heard that happy books don’t sell. One of my writing books said, if your people are happy, then your readers are bored. So don’t move to a tropical climate anytime soon. I enjoy your dark books. Although it might be worth the trade–you happy and enjoying your pina colada on a beach while your readers are yawning.

  10. Yeah, I’m in a winter funk myself. All this week it has been below 0 with the wind chill. These deep freezes are my least favorite part of winter. Good luck out there, stay safe! Spring will be here in just a few months!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • This morning we woke up to 35 and the ice and snow are finally starting to melt. I saw blue sky for a few minutes before fog rolled in, and that made me smile and know it won’t last too much longer. You stay warm.

  11. Yeah, I don’t get people who love winter and pray for snow! I much rather the hot, humid days (yes even the humidity!) Its been cold here too, but at least today its sunny. Its the cold w/cloudy, overcast skies that really bum me out! Good luck getting out of the funk (love the rhymes and wit in your post!) Just think, in a few short weeks it’ll be over ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, I am not one of the lovers of winter. I know it’s necessary for a beautiful spring (yada yada) but I’m always so happy to see it go…and a little filled with trepidation as fall closes and all the leaves are off the tree, heralding a new winter. Yikes!

    • They didn’t, and I slipped around everywhere…but I got home and will maybe forgive my husband for not driving that day. Actually, he drives most of the time when it’s yecky weather…he just had a meeting that day.

Comments are closed.