Happy Blogiversary to Me

Char Signature2Happy Blogiversary to Joy In The Moments! I’ve met my first milestone !  Yippee!

One year ago, I began this blog with big dreams and little experience. Today…it’s much the same. My experience has grown a little, but there’s still so much I need to learn.

Within the first few days of blogging, I was shocked and amazed when a few people commented and I realized they were from faraway places. Jean in India and Bridgett in Ireland were among my first readers…and I want to thank them for being so kind to a baby blogger.

Blogging has helped me connect with wonderful people all over the globe. Thanks to all of you who read and comment (and thanks to those who read and NEVER comment; I do that too sometimes, but still enjoy the blogs I peruse).

 I want to wrap up the year by accepting awards I’ve received. Ingrid from LivelaughRV gave me the Beautiful Blogger Award. For this I must tell 7 things about myself and nominate others.  Here are 7 things I’ve learned about blogging:

  1. It’s fun
  2. It’s hard
  3. It’s time-consuming
  4. It’s worth it
  5. It’s a great way to meet new people
  6. It’s creative
  7. It’s challenging

One of my first followers, Jean Mishra, gave me the Blog of the Year award. Here are the rules…

  1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award
  2. Write a blog post and tell about the blog(s) you’ve chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required
  3. Please include a link back to this page Blog of the Year 2012’ Award and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)
  4. Let the blogs you have chosen know you have given them this award
  5. You can now also join the award’s Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience
  6. As a winner – please add a link back to the blog that presented you w/the award – and proudly display the award on your blog … and start collecting stars…Yes – that’s right – there are stars to collect!
  • Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different! When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star! This means that you can check out your favorite blogs – and even if they have already been given the award by someone else – you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars!

Thank you, Jean, for this awesome award. I will pass it onto the following blogs (in order of when I followed them) and thank everyone for entertaining and befriending me this past year as I’ve learned the ropes of blogging and become a TODDLER BLOGGER:

Justin at Write21

Matt at EndCityBeginDesert

Carrie at TheWriteTransition

Jenny at Jennykellerford

Jennifer Eaton

August McLaughlin

JMMcdowell

Gina at Moments of Clarity

Kate at 4AM Writer

Sheila Hurst

MatthewIden

Milka Pejovic

Gloria Richard

Amanda at ALSowards

Tripping Differently

Roxie at Roxie’s Blog

Rebecca Belliston

Brigitte’s Banter

Eagle-Eyed Editor

Ingrid at LiveLaughRV

Vanessa-Jane Chapman

Dianne Gray

Kristen Lamb

Christy Running on Sober

That was probably overkill, but it’s BLOG of the YEAR! If I didn’t put you down, know that if I follow you, your blog deserves this as well (but I got tired of cutting and pasting links). Thanks for a GREAT YEAR!

Char Signature

56 thoughts on “Happy Blogiversary to Me

  1. Ah! Thanks, Char for making me part of your recognized blog roll.

    This is where where we need to insert the “I’m not worthy” Emoticon guy. He’s cute. I frequently use him in chat sessions.

    Your blog is a delight to read. I want to visit and comment more often. I’ve been told much of my energy goes into blog comments rather than writing my own articles. Perhaps I could corral those comments to create a blog article? Yes! Multi-tasking to maintain momentum on my WIP yet keep a sane presence in the blog-o-sphere.

    Congratulations on your stellar first year.

  2. Char, I don’t think you realize how much you inspired me. You encouraged me once to go ahead and publish my little book. You were that little push I needed and I did it. It was the accomplishment of a lifelong dream of mine and provided me a little more self confidence to continue to poke away at a novel. I’m honored by your acknowledgement, and thank you so much. This is the hidden beauty of blogging no matter if we stumble along the way: we touch each other’s lives even if we aren’t always aware of it. You deserve the award and many more to you!

    • Yes, I do love that part of blogging…how we inspire and help each other along the way. I’m excited about your book…and am glad you said something. I have gotten to where I don’t notice sidebars as much as I peruse through blogs…so I just added your book to my cart and will purchase it when I see what my kids are getting with their Amazon cards so I can get free shipping. Congratulations. I’m excited to read your poems (you truly have a gift with words)

    • Thanks, Brinda! (Sorry, I just found your comment in spam, so I unspammed you; don’t know why you got thrown in there. How rude of my spam filter). I’ve enjoyed meeting you this year too and learning some graphic tips from your series.

  3. Congrats on your awards, and thanks for thinking of me, Char. 🙂 I enjoy your blog because you always have such a fun outlook on everyday life. It’s refreshing. Hoping 2013 brings you everything you need, want, and more! 🙂

  4. Thanks, Char! I appreciate the mention. I didn’t even know about the star thing when I accepted the award on my site. Oops.

    Congrats on one year! You have a wonderful blog, and you always leave me with new insights and smiles. And cravings for the DQ.

    • You’re welcome. You have taught me the most about how to be an incredible blogging friend. You amaze me with your social presence. To thank you, I’m giving you a link to this treat I think you’ll like (it was one of my favorites this Christmas). http://www.tablespoon.com/recipes/better-than-sex-chex-mix-recipe/1/

      I don’t think it quite lives up to its name. My daughter was embarrassed by my printed out copy and blacked it out and wrote in LegoLand instead. That doesn’t even rhyme. So I would put Better than Mex Chex Mix. We’ve never even been to Legoland, so how could she know if that fit the bill. Maybe you’ll think of a better name for it.

      • Oh, Char, I am so trying that recipe. That is right up my alley. Then again, I just promised myself to back off of the sugar after all my holiday treats. Well, one little batch of LegoLand won’t hurt me, right? 😉 (I agree, I can’t call it by it’s real name or my sons would probably throw up. I’ll wait until I try it, then the new name will declare itself to me…)

        And thank you for your kind words. Warm fuzzies are the best kind of fuzzies. (My boys would also throw up if they heard me say that…)

  5. Happy Blogiversary! Well Done you! i have had so much fun reading your posts & getting to know you & i have learnt lots from you too… looking forward to so much more fun reading & interactions 😉 Also i wanna Thank You for introducing me to the world of special needs orphans – it has given me something worthy to shoot for & to care about 🙂

    • I’ve been amazed with all you’ve done to help orphans since February, Sandra. Way to go! My prayers and well-wishes stay with you. I just saw my friend with the Down’s child that spurred off my post on Reeses Rainbow…and I was thinking of you and all you’ve done.

      • Thank you very much for your encouragement & prayers – they are very much appreciated… i haven’t done much… just trying to build awareness & hopefully fundraise a little too… & of cos praying & praying…

  6. Thank you, Char! I enjoy your blog so much! When you don’t write, I miss it, so here’s to another year of blogging. It is fun and a good way to keep your writing claws sharpened. 😉 Congratulations!

    • So glad we’ve met and become blogging buddies (reminds me of Muddy Buddies…the chocolate, powdered sugar Chex treat delight. I guess because we are delightful!). Can’t wait for you Dead Blow to be released. You are one of my favorite writers.

  7. Happy Blogiversary! One of my favorite things about writing is inventing new words, although how do we ever really know? Just think what it would be like if it was your job to update the dictionary! 🙂

    • I, for one, am glad I am not in charge of updating the dictionary. I bet new words are being added at an exponential rate (and I’m not helping with my tendency to make up words when the need arises).

  8. Congratulations and thank you for thinking of me! Happy Anniversary too. Your blog is always fun to visit. Thank you for all the smiles and laughter.

    • It has definitely been a fun year getting to meet fun, new people like you that don’t live anywhere close to me! Sniff the salty ocean air for me…and I’ll shiver and let my eyelashes freeze together as I sniff the cold Idaho air for you.

  9. Happy Blogiversary, Char! And thank you for thinking of me, too. I love seeing my email notifications of your new posts because I know I’ll be smiling when I read your posts. You make me laugh with your fun stories and have me tearing up with others (such as the one with sharing Christmas with an immigrant family). I’m looking forward to another year of your posts!

    • Thanks so much, Jacqueline. You always make me feel so good with your thoughtful comments. I wish you the best in your personal life and writing goals this new year. It’s always a treat to visit your blog and read your stories and thoughts.

  10. Thanks Char and congrats on the one year. And I’d say you’re at least a middle schooler, well beyond Toddler…lol. You really hit it right on with your 7 things about blogging. I couldn’t agree more. Here’s to an inspiring New Year 🙂

  11. Char,
    I am honored to be among these fine people. You are such a talented and kind writer/blogger and THANK YOU for awarding me this! I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  12. Happy Blogiversary! It’s been fun to have you as part of the blogosphere. And thank you for mentioning me in your post. You’ve got to love WordPress for allowing so many of us to express ourselves online for free.

    • Thanks Eagle Eye. I always think of James Bond when I see your name. Suddenly, I want to run upstairs and watch an action thriller with a handsome spy.

  13. Happy One Year of Blogging, Char!!! I am so grateful that I found you via Carrie. I really do love your blog and the down-to-earth way you look at life.

    Congrats on your well-deserved awards, and thank you so much for the mention.

    Happy New Year Char, I’ll see you in 2013!
    Christy

    • You have a wonderful, safe, happy New Year. I love all your uplifting thoughts you gather each week and am happy we’ve connected in the blogging world. You are an inspiration to me for what you’ve overcome and what you’ve done…and the power for good you seem to emanate from your blog posts. Looking forward to becoming even closer blogging buddies in 2013.

  14. Pingback: Monday Musings and Motivations — Part Thirty-One — New Beginnings « Brigitte's Banter

  15. Congratulations, Char! Thank you SO much for the nomination 😀

    I’ve been travelling the Australian Outback for three days so haven’t been able to get internet connection. Then I get it and see this! You’ve made my day!!!

    😀

  16. Pingback: Ringing In The New « jmmcdowell

  17. Congratulations on such a successful 2012 and on receiving more awards. Thank you for including my little blog. I hope to get around to following the instructions next week.

  18. Pingback: Second Month Blogiversary; Another Monthly Summary of Success « Prinze Charming

Comments are closed.