Tag is hard when you’re slow

One thing I never expected when I started blogging is the exercise I would get. It seems like the sort of couch-potato activity that would lead to bon-bon eating and fat bottoms. But let me banish those myths from your mind. Blogging burns a lot of calories, especially when you play TAG.

Just as I did as a child, when I get tagged IT, I must race after other bloggers and tag them. And just like when I was young, I’m slow and usually IT for a long time because everyone else is faster. Grrrrr! Not that I’m competitive or anything. (Actually I am. When Space Invaders was popular in the 80’s, I was the best in my family at it. One day, as a sibling started beating me, I yanked the cord from the controller and ended the game. Ooops!)

Anyway, we’re not in any danger of being overrun by Space Invaders in my household. Nor will those crazy shapes in Tetris pile up and annihilate me. No sireee! I refuse to try Angry Birds, because me and birds don’t get along. Seagulls pooped on me twice as a teen when I visited Sea World. And another one swooped from the sky and devoured my chocolate banana right out of my hand. Birds are evil.

Angry Birds

So no Space Invaders, Tetris shapes, or Angry Birds. This post is NOT about those things. It is a workout of the hardest kind…a TAG to suck information out of me and leave me a dying corpse. Thanks, Brigitte, for helping me stay in shape (even though I’m still slow at tagging others; it’s the thought and effort that count). Here are my questions I must answer before I TAG someone else.

Would you rather drive or ride in a vehicle?  I love being driven (it gives me that whole Driving Miss Daisy feeling)

Would your ideal evening be spent alone or with others?  Alone with my husband

Are you a Day-person or a Night Owl? Day person

Talk radio or music in the car? Music

How much time do you spend at work, including traveling both ways? The office–17 hours a week; my home job–another 10 hours.

If you were to enroll in college today, what course of study would you choose? Creative Writing, definitely

Fiction or Non-fiction? Fiction

Live TV or On Demand? On Demand

Plane, train or automobile? Automobile

Black or brown shoes? Brown

Swimming, walking or jogging? Walking

What got you into blogging? My sisters.

What have you learned about yourself through your blog? I’m still slow at Tag

When you aren’t blogging what do you do? Write, read, cook, laundry, take Ginger for a walk

If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go? Kauai

What’s your greatest vice? I bite my fingernails

Who is/was your greatest influence in your life? My paternal grandmother

Who is your favorite author? C. S. Lewis

What music do you prefer to listen to? Josh Groban, Michael Buble, IZ (and other things my husband and others find very uncool. Good thing I don’t care about being cool)

If you could, who would you like to have cook for you? Pioneer Woman; her food is hearty and simple, and not all artsy-fartsy

Imagine that you could meet anyone living or dead, who would it be and what would you say? George Washington.  “Do you have an idea on how to get both political parties to get along…or how to destroy both so we can do what’s good for America again?”

Are you happy? Oh yes!

Bird Poop

(Photo credit: sarita_kolhatkar)

I’m always a little scared to tag others, because some people hate being IT. So due to my shy streak, I’m wimping out and tagging the blogger out there who is like my little brother (who actually tried to get tapped when we played tag because he was fast and liked to chase). If you are like that…then for goodness sake, slow down and let me tap you.  THERE! You’re IT. No tapbacks, either. You know I’m slow.

Char

P.S. Watch out for seagulls overhead.  (And Happy Birthday, Aunt Nette)

28 thoughts on “Tag is hard when you’re slow

  1. Char! Did I tell you my husband and I are going to Kauai! We’ll be there 5 days. Going with friends in January. Not looking forward to flying, but can’t wait to see the beauty of the islands!

  2. See? With all that running around playing tag, you can enjoy a DQ Blizzard this weekend. 🙂

    Love the new look of your blog. I’ll be making a change on my own soon. I think.

    • I think I will believe you…dq here I come. And thanks. I have been playing around with backgrounds. Might have to do more since I will give up the custom features to get the free blog come end of December since I don’t want to pay double for website and blog.

  3. Congratulations on the tag! And I would love to know how George Washington would answer your question. 🙂 For me, it would be Abraham Lincoln. In addition to his thoughts on the country during the Civil War, I’d love to ask him what he thought of my ancestors who would have known him in Kentucky!

  4. I can relate to the seagull incidents. It happened to me once too (not the banana, the other one). People say it’s a sign of good luck. Sure didn’t feel like good luck to me at the time.

  5. How fun! Last time I got tagged, it wasn’t once but twice in the same day and I didn’t play the game. Shame on me… So I think this time I will get tagged and play the game early next week. I wonder if I can go back to the old tag games and mix up the questions, that would spice things up, right?

  6. I like ‘uncool’ music, too–especially when I’m writing. I’m sorry about the bird incidents, but did you know that getting pooped on by a bird is good luck? My grandmother said so, and my grandmother is always right.

    • I share your pain…shame…cuticle destruction. Once I stopped for a whole year. I’m still trying to figure out why I did and how to do it again.

      • I go through phases of not biting them for a few weeks, or a couple of months, and they grow really nicely and I love them, and then I get hormonal or something and it’s like a finger massacre, it’s horrendous! I don’t know about you, but even though I’m 42 now, I still keep thinking it’s something I’ll grow out of!

        • My grandma did it until her 50’s or 60’s and then one night had a dream where she saw herself in the casket with her ugly bitten nails and from then on, she never bit them again. She told me that story, but I guess I don’t care enough about what people think about me after I’m dead to stop picking at them…because I still do.

  7. When you meet George Washington, let me know what he said! I’d love to hear the answer. I always loved playing tag – especially those weird ones like freeze tag or TV tag – just thinking of it makes me feel nostalgic but I was always too slow too.

Comments are closed.