On the Wilde Side

I thought I’d start the week out a little Wilde. Oscar Wilde, that is (with a lot of Maurice Sendak thrown in too). This Irish novelist & poet (1854-1900) has some great quotes that make mischief of one kind and another.  I’m sure his Mother called him a Wilde thing and sent him to bed without eating supper. That might have led to his streak of creativity. Let’s get in our boat and sail off through night and day and in and out of weeks, and almost over a year, to where the Wilde things are.

The Wilde things roared their terrible roars and gnashed their terrible teeth and rolled their terrible eyes and showed their terrible claws, till Oscar Wilde said:

I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.

And that magic quote tamed the Wilde things. I can relate to Oscar’s quote. It reminds me of the scene in Napoleon Dynamite where Napoleon asks that Chicken farmer if chickens have large talons, and the guy answers something to this effect: “I didn’t understand a word that just came out of your mouth.”  Oscar Wilde was a clever one, just like Napoleon Dynamite. When you say something and all the Wilde Things around you give you blank looks, then pat yourself on the back (without throwing your back out) and join the Clever Club!

The Wilde things made Oscar King of the Wilde things (which was nice since his surname was Wilde), and then they held a wild rumpus. He finally told them to settle down and go to bed without their supper…but he was lonely being with a bunch of Wilde things that wanted to eat him. Yet he knew a secret which gave him the upper hand:

Always forgive your enemies; nothing annoys them so much.

And so he did. But he wanted to be where someone loved him best of all. And he realized, as all of us should, another secret:

Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.

There is no sense rushing around through weeks and years, and around the world trying to be someone else that you aren’t. You’ll just end up disappointed when you realize the spot has already been taken. So EAT UP THE FACT that YOU are who you should be. There is something empowering in that truth. And when you stand up for who you are and say NO to those wild things in your life who want you to be something You’re not, then you’ll land back in your own britches where you belong…and probably find a hot supper waiting for you.

Char

P.S. Where the Wild Things Are is one of my favorite children’s books EVER! Do you have a favorite picture book you’ve read so much that you’ve memorized it?

21 thoughts on “On the Wilde Side

  1. There is much truth in your humorous post. Luckily, I think it gets easier to accept ourselves for who we are as we get older. Or maybe we just get tired of fighting the fight. 🙂

    Oh, and I love how you got a Napoleon Dynamite quote in there!

  2. We definitely get tired of fighting the fight (because it’s a losing battle; we are who we are). And yes, Napoleon had to get in this post. Someone in my household says that quote at least daily. I guess we’re all clever here (ha ha).

      • Hah! Yes! Napoleon Dynamite is a staple in our household when it comes to quotes. My college daughter brought a friend home this weekend who said she hated Napoleon Dynamite. I wondered what she thought of us after she left, since I throw in quotes from that movie without thinking about it anymore. I’m sure she must have been rolling her eyes at me.

  3. I love Where the Wild Things Are. I used to read it to my son when he was little. When the movie came out, my 19 year old son went with me to watch it. We cried a little I think at the end. I was so surprised when a young mother told me she would never take her 6 year old to see it because it was too scary.

    I’ve got a portion of the Dr. Seuss book, Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are. Love that one.

    • My husband still walks around quoting Where the Wild Things Are. It makes me laugh. I love Dr. Seuss books. His words just ring with magic. I love that your 19 year old son went to see the movie with you. That’s awesome!

  4. Nice post with clever construction. Great quotes. I try to be the best self I can be. I hope that makes sense.

    The only book I remember from childhood is Blinky Bill by Dorothy Wall, which is about a mischievous little boy in the form of a koala. I used to read Fox in Sox by Dr Seuss to my son when he was young, so I’d say that’s probably now my favourite.

    • Wow. Fox in Sox. You are good. That one always twisted my tongue so badly and it was so long, that it was only for special occasions when I wasn’t fatigued. And I understand being the best self you can be. I think that’s the goal.

  5. Wilde really has some funny quotes out there, thanks for sharing a few. As Napoleon Dynamite, you’re bringing back some memories. Tina, come get some ham! GOSH!

    I’m not sure what my favorite children’s book is, but I know I don’t have just one. I absolutely love Melanie Watt’s Chester the cat series. They’re hilarious to read, over and over. Mo Willems is one of my favorite too. I’d probably have to go with Can I play too? and Should I share my ice cream? I’ve laughed so hard reading these books, my eyes were full of tears.

    • Yes! Those llama quotes with Tina are the BEST! I haven’t heard of any of your children’s books, but you read far more of them than I ever did. I will have to check them out though. I love books that make me laugh.

  6. my 2.5 year olds love Beatrix Potter. They regularly recite parts of Peter in Mr. McGregor’s garden and the tale of Jeremy Fisher. And since hubby and I are doing all the repetitive reading, we’ve got them memorized too.
    Green Eggs and Ham is another favorite at our house. We tell our daughter to eat their food “for Sam I am”

  7. My favorite that I can quote is Sheep in a Jeep (on a hill that’s steep.) The pictures crack me up. Another book that I only came to love as a parent when my son had to hear it over and over is Good Night Moon….good night noises everywhere.

    • Those are both good. I love Sheep in the Jeep’s pictures. Pictures are my favorite in children’s books. If I don’t like the pictures, I probably won’t read it much.

  8. We loved Where the Wild Things Are – I still remember the whole part about trying to take a bath without making a mess…but then there was a storm. Also loved Curious George, Clifford the Big Red Dog, and Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel. Those were all so much fun!

    • There are so many good children’s book. Clifford was my oldest daughter’s favorite. In fact, we named our red car Clifford to get her to stop crying at the car lot when we left our old white car behind in a trade.

Comments are closed.