In Search of Treasure

 does not always mark the spot for treasure. Sometimes, the greatest treasures are hidden in unlikely places. Today, I have another fun author interview. Serena Clarke, author of The Treasure of Isian, is here to tell us more about herself and her newly released book. Take it away, Serena!

I am from sunny Southern Utah.  I love the heat and I hate the cold!  I have a big, loud family of six girls.  I have loved writing since I was young.  I have taken writing classes in high school and college.  My favorite genre is fantasy and romance, but I love almost anything.  I have a Bachelors Degree in Graphic Design.  I design my own book covers.  This is my first novel to be published.

Tell my readers about your book.

Prince Garin is a brave, proud, adventure-seeking prince.  Elani is his most trusted servant and she would do anything for him, even die.  Their quest to find the mystical Treasure of Isian is immediately interrupted and they find themselves confronted by angry giants, soul-stealing elves, bewitched dragons, a vengeful water-witch, battling foes, and a mysterious kingdom.  Elani must face her greatest fears to save her prince and her kingdom.  Garin must decide what the most important things are in his life.  The couple must decide if they are willing to make a great sacrifice to save the kingdom.

What started you on your writing journey?

I have loved writing for as long as I can remember.  I remember writing silly short stories when I was a kid and then I took creative writing classes in high school and college and loved it.  I write in my spare time, but I never thought any of my ideas were good enough to publish.  Until this book.  I loved writing it so much that I knew I wanted to continue to write more seriously and share my stories with others.

Do you have a favorite character?

That is a hard question to answer.  I love all of my characters.  They become personal when you write about their life experiences and give them emotions and personalities. I would probably say that Elani from The Treasure of Isian is one of my favorite characters.  She does not understand how special she is and yet she is full of courage and determination.  She does not shrink away from her responsibilities.  She understands what needs to be done and she does it without complaining.  The way her relationship with Garin evolves throughout the story was really fun to write.

I did enjoy your character development in this story. Each character had complicated layers, like a Twix bar. Speaking of candy bars, which one would choose for your motto in life?

I’d have to say Snickers, because life is boring if it is not filled with laughter and quizzical looks!

Snickers seem to be a favorite of a lot of folks that visit this site. You’re right though. Life would be boring without laughter and fun.  Do you have a silly quirk you’d care to share with us?      

I love quoting movies!  My siblings and I are big “movie-quoters.”  There is hardly a conversation that goes by without quoting at least one line from a movie.  When I am hanging out with friends or acquaintances, I usually have to stop myself from quoting a movie because I know they won’t understand!

I’d love to be a bug on the wall and hear you and your sisters together throwing quotes at each other (a ladybug…not an icky bug). What are some of your favorite things?

I love to write, I love books, art, music. I love having hobbies and being creative.  I like to look at blogs and things like pinterest for ideas for art projects and crafts.  Another favorite thing is playing games with my family.  We love playing games!  Card games, word games, board games, anything!

Your family sounds like a lot of fun! What are you currently working on with writing?

I am working on a sequel for the Treasure of Isian.  It will be about a different character’s life and trials and of course a love story.  Garin and Elani will reappear in the sequel as side characters.  In the sequel, we will find out that everything that happens is for a greater purpose.

I do not usually work on just one book at a time.  I like to work on several.  When I have brain-freeze on one, I work on another.  I am also working on a fairy tale series based on The 12 Dancing Princesses.  I am really excited about this series.  My characters have such fun personalities.  I have never put as much work into developing my character’s personalities as I have with this series.  Because there are 12 princesses, I needed to give them each distinctive personalities.  It has been a lot of work, but I am really enjoying it.  I love fairy tales!

Why should we read your book? 

If you love fantasy, romance, adventure, mystery, this is the book to read!  The story is full of hope and filled with emotion.  There are heart-wrenching moments when you will think all is lost, but there are also cheerful moments that bring a smile to your face and make you want to keep reading!

Your book was super! Fantasy is not a genre I usually enjoy, but your book was a surprising pleasure to read. Your message and writing style was very uplifting. Best of luck this week with your release. 

And to my readers, if you’re in search of adventure and hidden treasure, give this book a shot. Leave a comment with your favorite movie quote, candy bar, or anything else, and Serena will choose a winner to receive a free e-book.

Char

26 thoughts on “In Search of Treasure

  1. Good interview!

    My top movie quote I think has to be the Jerry McGuire classic “You had me at hello”. It is much quoted, and people use it in different contexts, replacing the “hello” bit with whatever they are talking about at the time, but I never get fed up with it. It’s so simple and romantic and always makes me feel warm and smiley. I just had to seek out the clip of that scene on YouTube to watch it again and be sure that it’s still top of my list! 🙂

    My fave candy bar, in terms of regular bars, and not the fancy schmancy stuff is probably Butterfinger. You can’t get it very easily here in the UK, usually only in specilalist shops that sell American stuff, and it’s very overpriced, so if anyone is coming over from the States I always beg for Butterfingers! It’s crispety, crunchety, peanut buttery! (What’s not to love?). My other fave is Cadbury’s Creme eggs, in fact that might be my top one. Hmmm, don’t know, can I have two faves?

    • I love your movie quote. I do hear that one all the time too. And Butterfingers were my favorite as a child. I still like them, but kind of am a sucker for coconut, caramel and dark chocolate now. And you can definitely have 2 favorites. I probably have 10 favorites when it comes to candy bars. I don’t see myself coming to the UK any time soon,but I will wish Butterfingers your way.

    • She did do a good job on her cover. I wish I was a graphic artist like her! They have lots more options than the rest of us. Thanks for stopping by, Leona.

  2. Nice interview – I’m always looking for adventure or hidden treasure. I can never remember movie quotes but would have to go with Twix for a favorite candy bar. This book sounds interesting – thank you for introducing us to it and to Serena.

    • Twix is a good choice. I’m like you, I can’t usually recall a movie quote off the top of my head, but am pretty good at recognizing when others use them.

  3. Oh, oh, for some reason the cover is a blank spot on the page for me. And I’m using Firefox, which usually doesn’t too many glitches…. But the book sounds interesting even without the cover, and a great interview as always Char! Now, is there any chocolate in the house….

    • I hate when that happens. Once at work, my coworker couldn’t see a picture on my blog, but I could (and we had the same dumb computers). Weird. And yes, there’s homemade chocolate pudding right now in the house. My husband made it; I quite like.

    • I know how loud 6 girls can be. That’s how many are in my family…and then 3 brothers. Linda, I know you’re proud of your daughter. She’s very talented.

  4. Beautiful cover! Good luck with the book launch!
    here’s a quote I like, from Valkyrie: “Any problem on earth can be solved with the careful application of high explosives.”

    • Great quote, Amanda! I’m working through a few books on my to-read list, but am getting closer to Espionage. I hope to buy it before Thanksgiving so I can read it on my trip. I’m excited for it, and want to get it finished before your next one comes out.

  5. Fun interview! But the funniest part is to realize every writer has a love story with candy bars. I love Twix too by the way and the two of us go back about 30 years! I love quoting movies too, and my four-year old quotes complete conversations from kid movies or TV series. They fit the context so well, you just stare at him and wonder why he would say something like that because it’s so perfect. Ice Age Dawn of Dinosaurs has some of the best lines I’ve heard in a long time by the way. And so does Puss in Boots.

    • I love Ice Age. Those movies crack me up. Why haven’t I seen Puss in Boots yet. I think my kids might have snuck up and watched it without telling me. I’ll have to get that and watched it. I love Puss’s character.

      • You’ll love Puss in Boots! Antonio Banderas gives him the perfect voice. I think we might watch it tonight (my six-year old has been requesting it). He likes the movie so much he drew Puss after seeing it a few times (his drawing is on my blog header).

  6. Coming from a family of six girls Wow I can harldy imagine what that would be like. Congratulations on your book release sounds like a wonderful book also love the cover. My favorite candy bar almond snicker just in case you were wondering. :+) the 12 Dancing Princesses sounds like a great project!

  7. Great post, great cover. I really like the silhouettes of the couple. 6 girls–eek. I come from a family of 6, but we’ve got girls and boys. I don’t know what is easier? My fave candy bar is Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, but Mounds comes in a very, very close second. Might even be tied for first. I guess they are tied for first because now I am picturing them in my mind and I can’t choose one over the other.

    Must. Go. To. The. Store.

    • You make me laugh, Kate! This book was a good fantasy. I liked it, and I absolutely love, love, love your candybar choices. Those are definitely in my top three. I think my most favorite candy is Toffifay (however you spell that–the combination of chocolate, caramel and hazelnut sends my tastebuds into overdrive).

Comments are closed.