Don’t forget the papyrus

Image via stock.xchng.com

 

I wonder when string tied around a finger began symbolizing a need to remember something. Maybe it started way back in Egyptian times when some queen took a piece of papyrus and tied it around her little finger as an ornament. Some scribe happened to see her and PING!…

…The light in his head went off, and he suddenly remembered that he had forgotten to take the papyrus pulp out of the water where it was soaking to make parchment for the pharaoh.

He ran back to the Nile and pulled his precious pulp out of the water, just in time! Whew! If he had waited a moment longer, the pharoah’s parchment would have been eaten by a crocodile.

Thankful to the queen’s finger ornament for reminding him of his most noble task, the scribe began to wear a papyrus string around his own finger to remind him not to forget his soaking papyrus. Ever since, string around the finger has become the universal symbol to not forget. This tradition has been passed on from one generation to the next…all because of one vain queen and a forgetful scribe.

This story reminds me of a few awards I can’t forget to acknowledge. In August, I was tagged with two awards: the Liebster Award by Judy at Grandmothermusing and the Sunshine Award from Milka at PerfectingMotherhood. Thanks to both of these bloggers for thinking of me. Check out their sites; I enjoy reading their posts and commenting on their blogs each week.

For both of these awards, there were questions to answer. In order to keep this post from being too lengthy, I combined a few questions from each award instead of doing all of them. Ready…set…go!

  1.  Name a book you would read over and over again?   The Scarlet Pimpernel
  2. What is my favorite Christmas Movie? The Grinch.
  3. What is your favorite flower? Irises
  4. Where is your favorite vacation spot?   Kauai
  5. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?   Cleaning the bathroom
  6. What personality traits do you dislike in other people?   Rudeness
  7. What is your least favorite mode of transportation?   Skateboard.
  8. What is your favorite beverage?  Chocolate Milk
  9. What is your favorite time of year?  Spring. It’s when my irises bloom.
  10. What is your passion?  Writing
  11. What movie do you flat-out refuse to watch, no matter how good people say it is?   Scary ones
  12. What is your favorite physical activity?  Hiking

Yea! I got all the answers correct! I love tests like these. And now…I get to take a string off my finger. Two down…one more to go.

My next award I can’t forget was given to me by Justin O’Leary at Write21. He’s an Aussie writer that has been a very supportive blogging friend. He gave me the Creative Writer Blogging Award. Whoohoo! I don’t think I’ve received this one before. This award is meant to be given to those who share their creativity through writing stories, poems, and themselves through their writing.

The rules are: 1) give to someone who has written a poem, a story, scripts, or some other creative writing for their blog, 2) Thank the blogger who nominated you and link to them, 3) write an 8 line poem about yourself, and 4) Nominate other bloggers and link to them.

Hold your breath…here’s my poem.

I like to write. Why is that so?

I’d tell you if you needed to know;

But since you don’t, this should suffice:

I write because I can’t roll dice.

Why, you may ask, am I dice deficient

I’d tell you, but that would be inefficient,

Just know that dice and me don’t get along

But paper and keyboards don’t do me wrong.

How’s that for a poem whipped off the top of my head. I feel like Dr. Suess, except much inferior.  Now for my nominees.

Leibster Award = Author Christy Farmer

Sunshine Award = Betty’s travels to different countries on Heifer12x12

Creative Writer Blogging Award = Jennifer Eaton and Jenny Ford (because I’m very excited about their anthology coming out in December)

Ah! My fingers are free from that binding string that kept niggling my memory. Now I have nothing to remember…not even papyrus soaking in the Nile.

Char

18 thoughts on “Don’t forget the papyrus

  1. Great acceptance post, Char! But are you sure I can’t talk you into a scary movie? Maybe while riding a skateboard? Come on, I’ll throw in some chocolate milk. 😉

    By the way, I’ll work on the questions you sent me sometime today. Thank you again. You, my blogging friend, ARE the Joy in the Moment. 🙂

    • Thanks, Carrie. Ya know…if you threw in a large glass of chocolate milk, I might just cave on the scary movie (but I’d have my fingers in my ear to drown out the scary music; I think that’s what scares me more than the actual plot).

      • I call my teenager ‘Shivers’ when we watch a scary movie, because he literally shivers. Oh boy, he’d not be happy I just shared that. Well, in his defense, he is getting better, and he still loves scary movies.

    • Thanks, Kate! Glad you liked the papyrus story. And I’m glad I’m not the only one scared to watch scary movies. Sometimes I feel like I am the only one not to watch them, but they terrify me and I can’t sleep because my brain latches onto those horrifying plots and won’t let go. I hear bumps in the night that I would usually ignore, and suddenly there are aliens, Freddy Krueger’s and all types of nightmarish ghouls outside my bedroom door waiting to get me.

    • It was hard to narrow the Christmas movies I like. I like them all…because they have such good messages. But I never tire of the cartoon Grinch–I need to memorize the song that sings along during it (it cracks me up).

  2. I’m with you all the way on 5, 6, 7, and 11. I cannot handle scary movies, especially if gore is thrown on top of it.

    As always, a great awards acceptance post. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jacqueline. I can handle gore…but just get too freaked out by scary music and people/aliens/monsters that kill people. When I watch war movies, I don’t blink at that kind of killing–it makes sense….they’re at war. But just some random, insane guy going around killing people. That is too sick and twisted for my brain to fathom.

  3. Haha, I love your poem! I think it’s way better than Carrie’s husband’s haiku from last week.

    I don’t like “scary movies” either, as in gross, bloody, horror. I don’t mind being scared as in suspense, but without much gore. Did you see The Ghostwriter? That was a brilliant thriller.

    Do you make your own chocolate milk or do you buy it already made? I’ve got my own chocolate powder I bring back from France. Sometimes, I even share it with my kids if they’re nice. 😉 And the best is chocolate milk with cocoa powder. Really hot cocoa, not the crap you buy in a packet. On a cold winter night, yum!

    • Ah, thanks. If I’m trying to seriously write a poem, I bang my head against the wall. If I’m just being silly, they seem to come out quite easily. I haven’t seen Ghostwriter. I don’t mind suspense scary movies–just not pyscho killer or monster movies. Yuck! And I make my own chocolate with Nestle’s–big scoops of that stuff. Yum. We buy the huge cannister. Right now, I’m out and have to wait till I go shopping at the end of the week to get more. It makes me sad every morning. That’s what I like for breakfast. I’m sure your powder from France is much more superior to Nestles, since America doesn’t get chocolate right like Europe.

      • Oh, I think you could splurge on the grown-up chocolate powder once in a while. Maybe hide it somewhere so your kids don’t eat it for you. I’m seeing more variety in the stores now. Even Ovaltine tastes better than Nesquick in my opinion.

  4. Hi, Char. Fun post! Love your poem, sounds even better with a Scottish or Chinese accent. 🙂

    I sometimes watch scary movies, but they are not my favourites. I remember coming home from watching scary movies in my teens and having to pass big scary pine trees from my car to our house. You should have seen me run! Overactive imagination. 🙂

    • I’ll have to try it with a Scottish accent; I don’t think I could pull off a Chinese. Overactive imaginations don’t bring good results after scary movies. That is why I avoid them. I can’t let go of terrifying “what if” scenarios for months afterward.

  5. Love the poem – I don’t think I could do one about myself! Congratulations on your awards too. I agree with you on most of those things – especially scary movies and cleaning the bathroom!

    • Your poems aren’t silly like mine; it would be hard to do a serious poem about myself. Thanks for dropping by! And I’m glad I’m not alone on scary movies and bathrooms (they’re both ICK).

Comments are closed.