Grow Yourself–Secrets of Success

Hurdles are tall!  When I was in college, some hurdles were set up on the track and I decided to give them a try…just for fun.  It didn’t look that hard.

I ran.  As I closed in on the first hurdle, I was surprised by how high it was all of a sudden.  Had it grown?  I had watched hurdlers run, and they made it look easy.

It isn’t.

Awkward.  That’s the only word that could describe my hurdle attempt that day.  After knocking over the second hurdle, I gave up and never tried again.  Hurdles were high and hard.  Ick!

I read a book that has nothing to do with hurdles (but I’ll tie it in at the end).  T. Harv Eker’s book, Secrets of the Millionaire Mind:  Mastering the Inner Game of Wealth, is about overcoming poor programming from your youth so that you can succeed now financially.

What I particularly liked about this read was that I could take the concepts and use them for other things besides money (spiritual growth, individual development, leadership, social success), and the principles translated over to those areas.

Eker starts out his book with this quote:  “If you want to change the fruits, you will first have to change the roots.”

We all have financial concepts in our mind from our past that stay with us and affect our ‘wealth blueprint.’  Roots create fruit.  If we’ve  been brought up to think rich people are greedy jerks that look down on everyone else, chances are that we will act in such a way as an adult so that we never become wealthy.  Weird, huh?  Why would we want to grow up to be what we hate?

What I came away thinking after I read this book is that many of us (ME) have reservations and prejudices against the rich.  It may be due to jealousy.  We may honestly feel they’re prideful and look down on others.  But I’m the one being prideful and looking down on them when I have those thoughts.

Eker says that there is no such thing as a really rich victim.  Rich people believe “I create my life.”  Poor people believe “Life happens to me,” and blame, justify and complain due to that belief.  If you find yourself blaming others for your sorry life…ask yourself some questions.  What do you want?  Do you want to be rich?  Famous?  A mover and shaker of people?

Then do it.

The #1 reason most people don’t get what they want is that they don’t know what they want. 

No matter where you are in life—a student, young parent, struggling in a career, retiree—you should have goals.  If you’re moving toward some objective, you are growing (even if you don’t end up accomplishing that goal).  But if you’re waiting to win the lottery or have money suddenly dropped in your lap, you’re going to be mighty unhappy.

Your life is not just about you…it is about contributing to others.  It’s about living true to your mission and reason for being on earth….  It’s about adding your piece of puzzle to the world.  Most people are so stuck in their egos that everything revolves around me, me, me.

But if you want to be rich in the truest sense of the word, it can’t only be about you.  It has to include adding value to other peoples’ lives.  We came to earth with natural talents, thing we’re just naturally good at….  Research shows that happiest people are those who use their natural talents to the utmost.  Part of your mission in life must be to share your gifts and value with as many people as possible.  That means being willing to play big.  –T. Harv Eker

What if I had kept trying to do those hurdles back in college?  Would I have gotten better?

Probably.

That was my first time.  I gave up too fast because it was hard and those hurdles were tall.  Eker says that “The secret to success is not to try to avoid or get rid or shrink from your problems; the secret is to grow yourself so that you are bigger than any problem.”

If I had kept trying, those hurdles would have gotten easier.  They might not have seemed so tall and daunting had I practiced and trained more.  I might not have ever become an NCAA track star, but I would have become better.

It’s easy to shy away from hard things in life.  That’s the easy road.  The higher road is the one that leads to growth.  It is the road called “DO.”

What this book taught me was that I shouldn’t shrink from obstacles or hurdles anymore.  I need to grow myself so that my hurdles shrink and become easier to cross.  That’s when success happens…when you overcome those hurdles that seem daunting and run further down the road called DO in life.

Char

PS…anyone else out there every tried real hurdles?  Just wondering.  I’ve tried to get all my kids to do hurdling in track, and they roll their eyes at me and point out all the injuries hurdlers get.

24 thoughts on “Grow Yourself–Secrets of Success

  1. I LOVED hurdles when I was in school. Since I was taller than most kids, I had an advantage over them. Hurdles was my way of standing out from the crowd and they were easy – just run and jump. Next to doing somersaults off the stage, they were my favorite activity in gym class.

    • Good for you! Being tall does help in that sport…and being able to jump more than 2 inches like me does too. I’m glad I found someone who likes hurdles.

  2. Awesome post, Char. I ran hurdles one year in track. I tried it again later after I was out of high school and I remember stopping short of the hurdle and thinking, “Oh man. How did I do that!?”
    I’ve not read this book, but it sounds really interesting. I have always been confused at people who hate the rich for being rich! Crazy. Hate them for being snobs. Hate them for being greedy. Hate them for not being charitable. But hating them for their money? That’s no different than hating someone just for being poor. Someone else’s money doesn’t rob me. Why be jealous of it. That’s envy…that’s sinful. You really hit the nail on the head with this one, Char!

    • Thanks, Gina. This book gave such sound advice and made me rethink a lot of my past programming and understand things that held me back. It’s easy to become jealous/envious/spiteful of those who have more than us if we’ve heard negative comments about the rich as children. But we are responsible for rejecting those negative thoughts and acting more positive. Grow!

  3. I was scared of hurdles….my short legs just didn’t rise to the challenge. I read that book several years ago. Definitely enlightening. I wonder when it became such a bad thing to aspire to wealth and success. Aren’t we all personally responsible for the lives we lead? It’s not someone elses fault. Great post!

  4. Nice post, Char. I would imagine that behind most of those uber-rich folks there is a man or woman who’s worked his or her butt off (okay, not all of them; some received their wealth on a silver platter). But with billionaires like Bill and Melinda Gates who have spent millions and millions of dollars helping impoverished children in developing countries receive vaccinations, I hope we never lose some of these philanthropists.

    As for the hurdles, I’ve done them. My track coach figured I’d be good at them because of my long legs. She was wrong.

    • Hopefully you weren’t one of the fatalities when you did hurdles. And yes, I agree, rich folks do a lot of good in the world. It’s hard to help the poor and lift up others out of hard circumstances when you’re struggling yourself.

    • Thanks, Jean. I’m glad I’m not the only one who found hurdles hard. Glad you like this. The book was full of meaty morsels of wisdom.

  5. Hurdles, no thank you! My gym teacher bugged me to try them since I was tall but I’m not crazy, I’ve seen those people fall. But I did a lot of obstacle jumping on a horse, and it’s not so easy either. Especially when you fall off the horse and land all over the bars…

    Great truth about not getting anywhere if you don’t know where you want to get. Most people cruise through life, blaming others for what happens and doesn’t happen to them (and it’s not just about the money). As for me, I do believe a lot of rich people inherit their wealth (and don’t share it), while a minority of them worked for it instead. Those people are the ones who give it back the most, making up for their selfish counterparts. If I had that much money, I wouldn’t know what to do with it myself expect doing good deeds. Who needs $20 million a year, really?

    • My oldest did horse jumping for a couple years. She did English style and absolutely loved it. It scared me to death to watch her practice jumping and turning sharp. Do you still do horses?

      • Nope, that’s how I crushed my discs in my lumbar area and why I’ve suffered back pain for over 20 years. A little horseback riding but too much will kill your body, especially the falls. Looking back, I realize how dangerous it really is (besides the horseback take-it-easy rides that are a lot of fun) and I’d never push my kids to do it although I loved every minute of it. I stopped right around the time Christopher Reeve broke his neck. And he was a good rider.

  6. Awesome post! This would make a great talk or lesson. I’ll have to pin this! Thanks for the great thoughts. I wish our current political race would take some of this to heart. If we hate the rich and constantly penalize them, we are only preventing ourselves from ever achieving wealth or success…

    I would really like Ashlyn to try the hurdles. She is so short for her age but has long thin spaghetti noodle legs that wouldn’t be thick enough to ever knock one over. I always wanted to run hurdles in high school but coach wouldn’t even let me try because they were taller than me. In my head, I know I would have been great at them (that’s what I keep telling myself anyhow).

  7. I did hurdles in junior high gym classes and was good at it—until the time I misjudged my approach, smacked my left knee on it and crashed on the cinder track, bringing the hurdle with me. At least it didn’t keep me from equestrian jumping. 🙂

    Wealth itself doesn’t bother me. It’s what people do—or don’t do with it—that bothers me.

  8. Good lesson. I like the DO road. 🙂 I’ve been into self-improvement for years. It does pay off eventually. It also helps you teach others to strive for their goals.

  9. That’s true. When I asked the boy who asked me about where God is about what he wants, he couldn’t answer with certainty. He boy didn’t know yet what he wanted.
    Sometimes the process of knowing takes a long journey. But the principle stays true: as long as I can’t decide what I really want, I won’t get it.

    In my Audiobook of John C. Maxwell, I remember him expressing a similar or perhaps related principle. He said, “Blessed is he who expects nothing, for he shall receive it.”

    Have a great day! 🙂

    • That’s a nice thought–‘the process of knowing takes a long journey.’ I like that. A lot of times, that is what we struggle to find–knowledge of what we are really after.

  10. Pingback: Anger, Jealousy, Proving; What’s in Your Roots?

Comments are closed.