Boise is a HOOT!

P1030382Whoooo’s up for a visit along the Boise greenbelt here in Idaho?  Hopefully you are, since you’re reading this post.

I love Boise!  It is an outdoorsy community that has wonderful trails and parks to enjoy.  I love spending an hour or two walking or biking along the miles of river trails here, or heading up into the foothills just outside of town.  There are lots of parks along the greenbelt with ponds and shady trees and beautiful landscape.

Boise State University sits along the greenbelt, and you can see the Smurf turf if you walk by…and maybe even catch a football practice.  Fun!

P1030397The observatory is one of my favorite places.  The landscaping includes a pond and creeks and gorgeous cobblestone paths running through an environment that teaches about the water cycle and plant and animal life.  I’ve stumbled across a doe and her two fawns in here, and in the fall, Fish and Game release sockeye salmon and you can see them in the creeks and ponds (fascinating!).

P1030395Here is a picture of the 200 lb. fish in the pond (I forgot what kind he was because I was fixated on the weight listed on the sign).  We figured he weighed as much as my 12 year old son and his aunt.  Ick!

Just outside the observatory, you can catch the greenbelt and go further along the Boise River.  The parks are so shady and you’ll always find students or families out playing Frisbee Golf or Ultimate Frisbee.  We aren’t so good at those games, but it doesn’t stop us from having fun and making fools of ourselves.

P1030414

The zoo’s close by to visit.

P1020993

…as well as a rose garden…

2012-05-25 19.19.02

…and Anne Frank Memorial Garden. It has the best quote wall I’ve ever seen.

2012-05-25 19.04.02

2012-05-25 19.07.50

Those are just a few reasons I think Boise is a HOOT!  I love being one of the people WHOoooo lives here.  It’s the perfect place for me!  I’ve linked this to DesignMom’s Love Where You Live post.  It’s so fun to look through all the different places in the world people love.

Char

Related Article:  What’s happening HERON Boise

15 thoughts on “Boise is a HOOT!

  1. I think I read somewhere that Boise was listed as one of the most desirable places to live. Not sure, but it sounds familiar. And your post helps confirm that. 🙂

  2. This just occurred to me as I was scrolling your photos. Do you know why the town in called Boise? In French it means “full of woods” and it really looks like it.

    Now, to be honest I think you should show us pictures of what the place looks like in winter. Cold, snowy, icy? I want to know! Brrrrrrr…..

    • Along the river it is full of trees. That’s where I love the most. And the winters aren’t that bad…really! Trees are bare and it can get cold, but we don’t get that much snow (at least in the 6 years I’ve been here). Just enough to still like it.

  3. I can see that my preconceived notions on Idaho’s landscape aren’t exactly accurate. 😉 I’ve always pictured barren flat lands and barren mountains. Obviously there’s a lot more to it than that!

    It’s always good to enjoy where we live. 🙂

    • Well, the foothills above Boise are pretty barren–just grasses. In town and around the river are tons of trees, but we are still a desert and need irrigation. The mountains above us and going for hundreds of miles north are amazing and lush…but where it drops down to Boise gets barren heading toward Nevada.

  4. Spending time outdoors is my family’s idea of a good time. So if we ever end up in Boise, I know we’ll enjoy the city! Thanks for sharing!

    • My family loves it too! Downtown Boise is great, but an hour or so away is lush mountains too if you want to enjoy those.

  5. I’ve never been to Boise, but I’ve heard so many good things about it. I went to U of I in Moscow, so I knew a lot of people from Boise. It looks like a beautiful place.

    • Ah, a Vandal! Yes, lots of people split up between Boise State and UofI here–there is a big rivalry between the two schools (I just love seeing the school spirit on each side).

  6. Pingback: Biking Boise | Joy in the Moments

Comments are closed.