What I will NEVER do!

There are certain things in life that are just too risky, dangerous, or unpleasant to do.  Maybe you have your list.  I have mine.  But before I tell you one thing I will NEVER do, I need to scratch another item off my TO DO list.

I’ve received a few blogger awards over the last couple weeks, and need to accept and pass them on to deserving others.  But first, a joke to start (don’t award shows always start with a joke?):

Why did the chicken cross the road?  

To get the show on the road.  Ha ha ha ha ha!

But really, it’s time for the show to begin.  Here are the awards I’ve received:

1.  Sheila Hurst tagged me with the 7×7 Link Award.  Sheila is a great writer that I enjoy reading, especially her poems.  The 7×7 Meme is super fun, but to keep this post from being epic length, I’m going to do it on Wednesday, but will award recipients today.

2.  JMMcdowell gave me the Reader Appreciation Award.  She’s a writer working on several books, which I am anxious to read someday.  I’m supposed to tell something about myself.  So here it is.  I still like chocolate (and so does my mother-in-law, and it’s her birthday).  So happy Birthday dear Mom who gave birth to the man I love!  Thanks for sticking up for me when your son brought up the fact that I eat frozen chocolate chips and never make him cookies.  He tried to make it sound negative, but you jumped in and supported me…and I appreciate that.  Chocolate chip cookies are overrated anyway.

But I’ve digressed.  Where was I?  Oh, yes…awards.

3.  Holly at Writing Straight awarded me the Versatile Blogger Award.  Holly’s site is inspirational; I’m glad I found it.  I want to thank her for thinking of me.  I’ve received this one before, but it’s fun to do.  So, here is one more little tidbit about me:   I hate to weed.  The weeds in my backyard are winning the battle right now, but I have a special weapon–Roundup–and as soon as the sun gains strength, I will unleash my powerful weapon upon the alien weeds and annihilate them.

4.  C.J. at FoodStoriesBlog gave me the Illuminating Blogger Award.  I haven’t got this award yet, so this was quite exciting.  Thanks, C.J.!   Here is the last tidbit…the ONE thing I will NEVER EVER do is sing a solo for ANYONE!  And I mean ANYONE.  I don’t care if President Obama asks me to sing at his Birthday party…I’m NOT doing it.

I was scarred for life in 2nd grade when I was rewarded with a chance to draw a card from the GOLDEN APPLE.  Usually the prizes were candies or other treasures; but my reward card said:  “Sing a song to the class!”  I was shy, and shook my head.   Even as a child, I knew what I WASN’T going to do.  My teacher was stubborn because the principal was in evaluating her; she told me I HAD to do it.  Go figure!  I was good…but was being punished.  Standing there in front of the whole class with tears in my eyes, I still refused.  Thankfully, the principal saved me, suggesting the whole class sing a Christmas song instead.

So don’t ever ask me to sing for you.  I won’t!  WON’T!  I like singing, but only in the car by myself…in the dark where no one else can see my lips moving type of singing.  And I can deal with singing in church, but don’t want to sing in a choir where you might actually have to hear my voice.  I’m not tone deaf or anything like that; I have a normal, plain singing voice.  You just aren’t ever going to hear it.

And on that happy, informative note…I’ll announce my nominees.  The following blogs all are tagged with the 7×7 Meme if you’d like to do it, as well as one award listed below [please clap!].

Versatile Blogger Award

  • Tripping Differently  —  This genuine, caring blogger living in Switzerland works hard to get more donations for Reeces Rainbow (a site to help people wanting to adopt Down Syndrome children).  I’ve had fun corresponding with her through our blogs.

Illuminating Blogger Award

  • Matthew Iden is a great writer with several books out; his blog is very informative, especially if you self-publish.  I loved his One Bad Twelve–a collection of suspenseful short stories that kept me guessing all the way to the end.
  • Humans of New York  —  If you’re a writer and in need of odd characters, visit this site.  I get lost in it–the pictures are great–with a perfect word or two about each one.  One of my favorite sites ever!

Reader Appreciation Award

  • Moments of Clarity —  Gina is one of the most hilarious bloggers I’ve met.  Her childhood stories keep me laughing.  I just started her Casting Stones novel, which is good so far.
  • A.L. Sowards  has a new World War II book out–Espionage–that I have on my To read list.  I’m excited to read it soon.

Thank you Sheila, JM, Holly and CJ for the awards.  You made my day.  Hopefully everyone can visit their sites and the ones above to check out their valuable voices.  And the new recipients can thank me later for not making them sing a solo on YouTube.  (I’m just nice like that.)

Char

25 thoughts on “What I will NEVER do!

  1. You should get an award for best blog post titles! 🙂 One of my teachers made me sing in front of the class once, but I didn’t want to do it so I ended up just reciting the lyrics instead. Stupid cruel teacher! So I can totally understand why singing solo is on your never do list.

    • Yes, it didn’t help that I was so shy back then that even just standing in front of the class alone was torture for me. That’s funny the same thing happened to you too. Then the same thing happened in a college music class I had to take for teaching. We each had to sing a solo in front of the class and I refused once more. The teacher told me I HAD to do it and my nightmare resurfaced. She allowed me to do it one on one with her after class and assured me I had a fine voice–not anything special, but I could carry a tune at least. But that’s not what bothers me about singing alone. It’s just one of those VERY uncomfortable things for me to do.

  2. Congrats on the awards! So I’m guessing that you posting a video blog of yourself singing is not going to happen anytime soon? 🙂

    • If you EVER see a video of me singing, you’ll know someone is impersonating me and stolen my identity. I played for a choir the other day for just one song, so I had to be at the practice where they were singing another. They asked me to join them on the song I wasn’t playing for, and I just laughed and told them, “Yeah, right!” And then sat in the back by myself perfectly happy to listen to them without me torturing my vocal chords. I’m shy in certain situations–but I’m not shy about just saying NO to drugs and singing.

  3. I know we have to try things that are out of our comfort zones, and teachers can do a good job of encouraging that. But sometimes they need to remember there’s a fine line between encouragement and pushing a child beyond his or her limits.

    I, for one, will never jump out of an airplane! 🙂

    • I understand your feelings on the jumping out of the airplane! I don’t think I’ll ever have to worry about that one as much as singing, but if I ever did, I wouldn’t be shy about saying no to that either.

  4. Aw, thanks, Char! Now if only I can become illuminated enough to think of a Monday blog to write! It’s an honor to be mentioned in your blog!

    • I definitely love your blog. And your book is killing me. I finished prelude last night and Chapter 1 this morning at breakfast, and now I just want to cry and be depressed for the rest of the day because of what happened to Evangeline. Wah!

  5. Char, I’m not much of a public singer either, so I’m glad you aren’t asking us to do youtube solos! Thanks! And thank you for nominating me for one of your rewards. It’s my first blogging award nomination, sniff, sniff.

    • Well, I hope you have fun with it. The first time I got an award I was a little confused and bewildered, but it ended up being kind of fun. I’ve found lots of other blogs this way as I’ve read through others who give the awards away.

  6. Congrats on all the blog awards (and catching up on them!). And we won’t hold it against you if you don’t want to sing. I can do embarassing things if needed but I won’t do anything dangerous just for thrills, with two little kids to take care of.

    • Yes, that’s my excuse I use with singing too. “Oh, I’m sorry. I can’t sing because I have 4 kids to still care for and don’t want to leave them motherless.”

  7. Congrats on your awards. That teacher should have known better, but I bet the prinicpal spoke to her later! Thanks for the links to some new interesting blogs!

    • Thanks for dropping by, Kate. Who knows if the teacher got a ‘talking to.’ All I know is that the coveted Golden Apple lost all appeal to me after that.

  8. Congratulations! I’m with you on the singing thing (and not so sure I’d really want to do anything in front of a crowd). Just started reading your book and I love it.

    • Yea! I’m glad you’re liking it. I really don’t like to do things in front of a crowd, but I can. I play organ or piano all the time for my church…but singing, or being a chorister just makes me freeze. Maybe I feel like I can kind of hide into the piano and organ instead of being looked at like singers are. Weird.

  9. Pingback: Woghorts & Stinky Caves! | Joy in the Moments

  10. I can totally understand the no singing part! I had a similar experience in high school with a new teacher. It is strange that I still have this dream of learning it just for fun although I have no talent at all. But I’m really proud that since my son was born I have no problem at all to sing in front of his dad as well.

  11. I’m glad you can sing to your boy and husband. I love hearing others sing…I just don’t like to do it myself (except alone…very alone)

  12. Ok i know i’m so very very late in saying Thank You! Thank you for your very kind words & nomination/award. i hope to get round to the Meme soon… within this week (fingers crossed) 😉 Have a blessed week…

Comments are closed.