Giveaway Day

Get your commenting fingers ready, because I’m giving away 5 digital versions of Eyes of Light.   All you need to do is leave a comment telling me your favorite book of all time (I love books).  And if you want an extra chance at winning, click the Facebook LIKE button on the side.  On Sunday, I’ll throw all names in a hat and draw 5 winners (I’m not a techno-savvy internet guru who uses fancy machine logarithms to choose winners).

That’s it!  Easy, huh?  This giveaway is ONLY for e-books, so if you don’t have an e-reader or know someone that does, you might want to pass.  Sorry.

Here’s a short teaser and character sketches for my book

Suvi wants to escape her past, but the whirlwinds of life pull her back into danger and intrigue as she falls for a man with secrets as deadly as her own.  When disaster strikes, she once more flees from her pain and guilt.  But will she ever be free from the darkness that binds her?  Can she ever forgive herself for what happened…so that she can love again?

The Characters

Suvi Goldstein seems like a girl that has it all, yet past secrets bind her to misery.  Craving light she perceives in a few, yet feeling unworthy of goodness and love, she battles darkness to discover the divine within herself.

Austan Sandoval is the master of disguise and deception.  After successfully stealing $20 million from a powerful drug cartel, he discovers the location of Suvi, daughter of a capable Israeli Mossad agent, and determines to win her trust and recruit her to his team.

James Hinton, a missionary for his church in Guatemala, serves the Lord and sacrifices all in His behalf to bring light to others.

I’ve had a lot of fun writing Eyes of Light.   The contrasting characters are my BFFs now (ooo! My teens would be so proud of me for using their slang…or they’ll drop BFF tomorrow as ‘uncool’ since Mom used it.  Whatever!).   Eyes of Light is the 1st of 3 books that follow Suvi, Austan and James through several harrowing years.  The other two books are written, but need major polishing.  That’s my summer project.

So hurry!  Leave a comment and LIKE my Facebook page for two chances to win a free version of Eyes of Light.   And if you want to increase your chances even more, hop over to my sisters’ blog at JunkInTheirTrunk where I’m giving away more books.  I hope you win!  Have a great weekend!

Char

26 thoughts on “Giveaway Day

  1. Sounds very entertaining and I can only imagine how the character weave around each other in this mystery! As much as I’d like to read it, I’m going to pass as I don’t have a reader, but I wish everyone good luck with their entry!

  2. My favorite book of alll time would probably have to be one of the Harry Potter series, and if you don’t except that, I really like the Book Theif:)

    • Why would I not accept Harry Potter? J.K. Rowling is the ultimate author! Book Thief is good too though. You’re like me…too many good books to choose just one.

  3. Ok Char, I have secretly been following this blog for a while now…. But now I am actually commenting. I am so excited to read this book. My mom told me you had published and WOW!!! Way to go!!! SO SO SO Excited to read it!! Hope you do well and have enjoyed writting this book! Love ya cuz

    • Yea, I flushed out the silent stalker! Thanks, Hilary! It is exciting to have it finally done and out there for others to read. Love ya too!

  4. Well, I don’t have an e-reader but I think my mother-in-law does, so if that counts…then I’ll play! My fave book of all time has to be To Kill a Mockingbird. Harper Lee nailed that story, from every angle, and I never get tired of reading it.

    This is a great promo idea. Should go over well!

    • Thanks, Kate! You’re in. That is a great book. Someone used it as an example of perfect writing flow and rhythm at my last writing conference.

  5. Wow – this is exciting! It’s so hard to choose, but my favorite book of all time would probably still have to be The Grapes of Wrath even though I hated it when I had to read it in high school. Either that or Earth Abides or….(I could go on and on). I still have to go into Goodreads to find you. Pathetically, I have no friends there but then I never really go in there either.

  6. I don’t have an e-reader so just exclude from the possible winners. Hard to pick one favorite book, so here are a few: Life of Pi, The Green Mile (Stephen King at his best) and Wuthering Heights.

  7. Congratulations on publishing your first novel! How exciting, Char, and such a great cover too. Okay, my favourite book of all time is The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin. This book won both Hugo and Nebula awards for best novel. Now look at some of the novels that it beat on my list of favourites: The Great Gatsby, The Poisonwood Bible, Year of Wonders, To Kill a Mockingbird …

  8. Congrats on your book, Char! It’s hard for me to pick a favorite book, but I’ve loved Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes for the last 20 years. It’s a great coming-of-age story. Love the characters, and love the history: in Boston leading up to the start of the American Revolution.

    • Thanks, Amanda. You’re entered for the book. And your book choice is an interesting one. I’ll have to read it. I might have read it as a teen, but I have a bad memory and never remember from that long ago until I’m reading it again and start to ‘wonder’ if ‘such and such’ will happen…and magically, it does.

      • Don’t take this the wrong way–but you don’t have to enter me in the drawing. Your book sounds awesome, but I won’t have time to read it for a while, so give it to someone who can read it soon and tell everyone how wonderful it is this summer instead of well, who knows when. (I just did a few giveaways, and I was hoping for someone to win who would read my book quickly. I’m assuming you’re kind of in a similar boat.)

        • Okay, I won’t count you in. I know how it is when you have a To Read list a mile long. I’m still working through getting through some books I won a month ago so I can review them.

  9. Char, I think your book’s cover is lovely. To answer your question, my all-time favorite book (read and re-read) is SHOGUN, James Clavell’s thrilling adventure of 16th century Japan. Tied for second place: Ian McEwan’s brilliant ATONEMENT and Larry McMurtry’s Pulizer prize-winning masterpece LONSESOME DOVE.

    • Thanks, Barbara. Your choices are all great! Lonesome Dove is also one of my favorites (one of the few books that BOTH my husband and I enjoy–we have such very different tastes usually).

Comments are closed.