The Riskiest Profession on earth…and Irises

P1000748Today is IRIS DAY!  There’s a day for everything, but since I love Irises, I’ll talk about this one.  Yesterday I posted about wildflowers and Moms.  Today I will write about Irises and the riskiest profession on earth.

I have hundreds of irises in my backyard.  When I spent a week taking care of my grandma, my brother was good to go out and divide Grandma’s irises and give me a bag with all different color bulbs to plant in my own yard when I went home.  Grandma died in 2010, but I still have all her irises in my yard.  They haven’t blossomed this year yet (they’re super close), so these pictures are from last year.

My Irises remind me of my Grandma, the sweetest woman on earth.  Irises are pretty hardy flowers; they like intermittent deep watering and lots of sunshine.  I have all different kinds.  The ones by my patio are a super tall variety.  When the winds come through, those irises are especially susceptible to being toppled flat or snapped and broken.  It crushes me when this happens, probably because I love them so much.

P1000825Motherhood is like that too.  Mothers love their kids SO much!  But sometimes bad things happen which break our hearts because of this love.  C.S. Lewis sums it up well:

“To love at all is to be vulnerable.  Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken.  If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal.  Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements.  Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness.  But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change.   It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable.  To love is to be vulnerable.”

This is why Motherhood is the riskiest profession on earth.  When we love someone, we are vulnerable.  And Mothers LOVE a lot!  That’s why Mothers are prone to broken hearts more easily than others.  It’s hard to see those you love—your own flesh and blood—be hurt by things/people in life.  But just like Lewis says, we can’t stop loving just to keep our heart from hurting.

P1000826The winds keep coming here in Boise, and I know they might damage my tall irises.  To prevent any damage, I could just go out right now and cut down all those tall stalks that are almost ready to bloom so that the wind can’t knock them down in a storm.  But I’d also cut off all possibility of joy by trimming off any chance of blooms.

Love has risks.  Motherhood is the most risky occupation on earth!  It is also the one that has the greatest rewards!  I want to thank all the hard-working, risk-taking Mothers out there for putting your heart on the line each day and loving your families.  I’m grateful for my own mom.  She risked her heart to 9 children that she loved with all her heart.  She’s had her heart banged up and broken a bunch, but she’s tough, like my irises.  A wind might knock her down, but her love just gets stronger and more powerful over time.

P1000750My irises keep multiplying year after year.  The puny, spaced rows of irises are now thick and need to be divided and thinned out next year—(if you live in Boise area, come on over and take some).  That’s how my Mom’s love is.  Over the years it just keeps multiplying with more grandkids added to the family.

Moms are great!  I hope you think your Mom is the best.  I know mine is…and my mother-in-law too!  She raised an amazing son that I love a lot!   I love my mom.  I love being a mom.  And I can’t wait for the day when my own girls become moms!  Happy Iris-Riskiest Profession Day today!   Be good to the woman who lays her heart on the line each day for you–your Mom!

Char

23 thoughts on “The Riskiest Profession on earth…and Irises

  1. You’re right about that. And it never ends. I read someone that being a parent makes you a broader mark for sorrow, but also for joy. This reminds me of something I wrote in the past about not wanting to get a dog because it’s likely you will have to experience their death. I’m going to have to dig that out and post it.

    Thanks for the link.

    • Yes, dig that out and post it. That article sounds intriguing. I agree that parents experience both ends of the spectrum–sorrow and joy. The JOY makes all the sorrow worth it.

  2. I have quite a few Iris in my yard. Mine are all done blooming here in Nebraska. Nice analogy. Will you have a different story about mothers each day this week?

    • Wow! Yours are all done blooming. You must have warm weather. My weather here has been going from ultra warm to ultra cold–not making up its mind. But the irises are ALMOST out, and then I’ll have about 6-8 weeks of gloriousness here to enjoy. I’m going to try to do a different post each day. My writing group did Motherhood essays/poems, so I might throw some of those on soon.

      • That’s neat.
        We had temps in the 90’s in March! Iris and lilacs all bloomed back then! It’s been a very strange spring. We finally have some cooler temps this week (70s) but I’ve been running the air conditioner of and on for over a month.

  3. So nice to hear you put a plug in for wonderful mother-in-laws, too. They get an unfair wrap in this world. The only mother-in-law I ever had was the most amazing woman–well, person really–I’ve ever known in that she was selfless and positive and giving. It breaks my heart she is no longer with us, but her sunny and thoughtful disposition rages on in my son, and with that, she is never truly gone. Thanks for leading me to pleasant memories. 🙂

    • I LOVE my mother-in-law to pieces! She’s the best. I’m glad you loved yours too. I meet so many people who don’t like theirs (and I think that’s sad). I have a post for later this week about mother-in-law’s done by my friend who just became one. I thought it’ll give an interesting twist and perspective to Mother’s Day.

  4. A mother’s love is unconditional and endless, no matter how many kids you have, as your mother proved well! As for mothers-in-law, I’m glad yours is wonderful. I wish I could say the same but I’d be lying. I’m now banished from that side of the family, oh well! Unfortunately she also sees my kids as two numbers in her grandchildren count, so there’s not much love for them either. With years to reflect upon, I now would advise anyone considering getting married to take a good look at the in-laws, because they will affect your relationship in many more ways you can think of and if something doesn’t ring right, it may be better to walk away early on and find someone with a nice family instead.

    • So I’ve heard. One of my friends actually went to counseling early on with her husband to figure out how to deal with her mother-in-law, who was very controlling. She’s just learned to put space between them. Everyone’s situation is so different. I know I’m blessed to have the mother-in-law I do. I loved her way before I married my husband though. She’s a sweetheart.

      • Ah, but if it was only the mother-in-law for me… It was actually the whole family, a bunch of very cold, distant, selfish, yet very nosy and toxic people. I’ve never seen anything like it, but I’m sure it’d make for a great soap opera! I’m sooooo glad I’ve cleaned up this side of my life because it can make things very difficult. 🙂

        • Sounds like you have a lot of good writing material. An author at my last writing conference told us she’s ‘killed’ off all the people who were mean to her in high school as characters in each one of her books. It made me laugh. Revenge through writing.

  5. Love the analogy. It is risky. Every night I go to bed exhausted. It’s a good thing I love my kids or I’m not sure it would be worth the roller-coaster ride. Well, yeah it would, but it would be a lot harder to get out of that bed in the morning. Thanks for the post.

  6. Your blog did me good today! Since my boy is moving to another city, my heart is sort of broken. And yes, if he’d never been born, I wouldn’t have a heartache now, but imagine all the joy I would have missed.

    • Yes, our kids give us both extremes, don’t they? But the joys far outweigh the sorrows in the long run. Even though you’ll be sad, it will bring you smiles to see him grow as he has new experiences.

  7. Pingback: Mother-in-Law Hood | Joy in the Moments

  8. Pingback: If You’re Not Fond of Irises–Look at its Details and You’ll Change Your Mind « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

Comments are closed.