Wedding Portraits…and Awards

IMG_1137A year or so ago, my niece got married.  Her dress was stunning; she was gorgeous; her groom was handsome; the reception hall looked amazing.  But…this photo is the best one I have to remember that wonderful day.

This is also my niece…but not the one that got married.  She took my camera and kept herself entertained taking pictures. Seriously, her pictures were much more exciting than mine (which amounted to a blurry one of the flower girls and a few others of family eating with their mouths open in unflattering positions).

My niece should win an award for this photo.  It’s priceless!  Since I’m a nice aunt, I’m going to give her The Zany Photo Award.  Thanks for making me happy, Mia!

Awards are fun to get.  Over the last few weeks, I’ve received a few Blog awards from some very generous bloggers (but none of them were photography related. Why?).  I received the Very Inspiring Blogger Award for a 2nd time from writer Sheila Hurst. Thanks, Sheila!  See The Drive for Inspiration at end for rules to follow if you accept this award.

I also received The Lucky 7 Meme from Carrie at The Write Transition.  I don’t know what a Meme is, and don’t feel like looking it up (I’m lazy as well as inspiring).  But for the Meme thing-a-ma-jinky, I have to do the following:

  1. Go to page 77 of my current work-in-progress
  2. Go to line 7
  3. Copy next 7 lines, sentences or paragraphs and post as they’re written
  4. Tag 7 writers and let them know they have to do the same.

So……..hold your breath.  My current book I’m working on is called Eyes of Light.  It will be available to buy soon on Amazon.  Here’s what the magic 777s held in my story.

Austan looked at Anna’s neck, wishing to strangle her.  She infuriated him when she talked like this.  Suvi was not a tramp.  Anna hadn’t heard what went on while she was trapped with that psychotic Michael Tolme.  Suvi had gone through hell to bring that baby away from Tolme safely.  She deserved a medal.

He took another sip of wine and willed himself to stay as controlled and calm as Ice Woman!  Pasting on a smile, he reached over and took her hand, caressing it with his thumb. “I love you, baby.”

“But you’re going to keep looking for her,” she said, narrowing her eyes.

He pursed his lips and nodded. “Of course,” he teased. “I have to do something to annoy you.”

The next award I received was the Kreativ Blogger Award from Elena at Cartoons and Creative Writing.  Her cartoons are great.  I don’t know how she has time to create them and do all her college classes as well…but she does.  For this award I have to share 10 things about myself and then pass the award on to 5 other sites.

And then, last but not least, Kevin from The Nitty Gritty Dirt Man nominated me for the Sunshine Award.  For this award I have to again share 10 things about myself and pass on the award to a million other blogs (just kidding.  5 will be fine).

In order to be efficient (and lazy), I’m taking care of all nominations at once.  The 7 blogs below are Inspiring, Kreativ, Shiny, and Memes (whatever that means–hopefully it’s not negative.  If it is, forgive me for being too lazy to look up its meaning before I threw it at you).  My nominees can accept ALL, ONE, or NONE of the awards in this post (according to your desires).

And 10 things you never wanted to know about me…but now will.

  1. IMG_1146I don’t look near as good as my niece when I take photos of myself.
  2. I can give people weird looks though.
  3. I want a new camera…
  4. …That NEVER takes bad pictures—despite me holding it.
  5. I won two books this last month on other writing sites.
  6. That means I can never, ever say I’ve never won anything ever again…Ever.
  7. I like the words NEVER and EVER.
  8. My irises are coming up—I will definitely post pictures of them when they bloom. They are amazing!
  9. My kids think I’m cool.
  10. Just kidding.

Have a super day…and check out the great blogs who have nominated me and also my nominees if you’re looking for something to do.  They are well worth a peek.

Char

Past Blog Award Brag Sessions:

22 thoughts on “Wedding Portraits…and Awards

  1. Lovely efficiency with this post, a trait I always admire. 🙂

    As for the definition of meme, I don’t know either, but I’m pretty sure it’s not a bad thing. It would take less time to look up than to comment on your post, but I prefer to comment on your post and stay ignorant.

    And finally, is your neice available for hire? I have no doubt her photos would be better than mine. 🙂

  2. Great photos of your niece! And thank you so much for passing on the awards. I graciously accept, but I may take a brief breather from forwarding them on. I just did a similar post on Saturday. 🙂

    Congratulations on winning them—they are well deserved!

    • I am not sure how awards work, do I accept? Or just hope people agree? I’m confused haha sorry!

      • I did do this kind of confusing just to save time since I had several. You can accept any of the awards talked about on this (whichever you don’t have already) and then post on your blog that you have been given the Sunshine AWard (for example) by Joyinthemoments.com and then do the things listed on that award and pass it on to others. Does that help?

        • Yes, I can’t thank you enough! I have no awards at all, I am new so I really grateful to you! I wish I could accept all except I would have to type out 77 pages first! Thanks again!

  3. Oh wow I too graciously accept all awards you nominated me for! More than graciously, happily, ecstatically, amazed at your kindness in thinking of me! I hope that is how this works…if not I apologize haha

  4. Oh wait I can’t do the MeMe one because I don’t have 77 pages of work that actually makes one piece haha! Nice challenge that would be and a lot of motivation! I typed out 60 pages dealing with one story, but, not cohesive…You have a really cute niece by the way!

  5. Well, thank you and these are awards I don’t have already, lucky me! Now I just have to find 10 more things to share about myself. Argh… Just kidding (sorry, I see a trend in your post, I thought I’d keep it on).

    I love the photos with your niece, they are hilarious! My kids make the weirdest faces when I try to take their pictures. Must be the age…

    • Glad you don’t have any of these. Have at them (after a breather, since I saw that you already did an acceptance speech today).

  6. Okay I know I am like the ultimate broken record here, but how does the Inspirational one work, I am not quite sure of the rules and I went to the link on Car Names, I just want to do this correctly haha

  7. Pingback: An Easter Bunny’s Treat And Thanksgiving – allaboutlemon

Comments are closed.