Wild Things…and Parties

Last year when my son turned 11, he wanted a kid party. Since he hadn’t had one for a while, I told him to invite whoever he wanted…and he did.

Now usually only about 75% of guests attend, so when he invited 12 boys, I figured we’d have 9 max…and hoped for even less.

To my chagrin, 13 boys showed up (one extra asked to come the day of the party).

I’d planned meticulously. We had pizza and snacks.  There were Minute to Win It games and doughnuts on strings for the boys to eat with only their mouths. We had hot dogs and marshmallows to roast over the fire.

Now taken alone, boys are very cute specimens with their dimples, scrawny 11-year-old muscles they think are like Arnold Schwarzenegger’s, and their boundless grins and energy.  But taken together like a carton of eggs, they transform into monsters from the blue lagoon.

In the past with parties, my husband hides. Other people’s kids scare him…especially in PACKS.  I didn’t allow him to hide this time.  For survival…we needed both of us (and we could have used a few truant officers as well).

This is how it went. You know the book—Where the Wild Things Are?—well, all the Wild Things were at my house, and they roared their terrible roars…and they gnashed their terrible teeth…and they said, “I’m going to eat you”…and my husband and I were scared…VERY SCARED!!!!!!!!

P1000594The games I had planned to take an hour, took 5 minutes. It looked like a tornado had hit. Toilet paper was shredded everywhere; skittles were sliding down my walls in purple, red and yellow streaks. It was louder than a rock concert. In one corner a kid was crying because he got knocked him off his chair.

They roared, gnashed and threatened with their terrible claws and my husband and I trembled and assured each other that we could get through this.  We only had 2 hours and 55 minutes left.

Pizza and snacks were wolfed down without even chewing. I was shocked! I looked longingly at my bedroom door and wished to give myself a timeout until this nightmare was over.

P1000582We played the doughnut game and I forced the birthday boy not to play (I only had 12 doughnuts and there were 14 boys. Luckily, one boy had eaten at McDonalds, and was full and didn’t want a doughnut). I seriously contemplated sending my husband to McDonalds to buy 13 more happy meals and give them enough MSG to make them lethargic the rest of the night…but with my house and backyard now a war zone, I didn’t dare let my husband go AWOL.  If anyone was going on a McDonald’s run…it would be me!

Trash was everywhere—paper goods, pizza rinds, half-empty cups of pop (I was a half-empty kind of person that night).  I flicked my watch…because it didn’t seem like it was working.  Surely five hours had gone by, yet it said only 20 minutes had passed. Urgh!

I found my husband and frantically told him to start a fire so the Wild Things could roast marshmallows and stay out of the house.  Boys like fire, right?  My husband looked at me with haunted eyes and said, “There’s no way I’m lighting a fire with these Wild Things.”

“What do you mean?” I asked. “That’s supposed to take up at least an hour!”

He shook his head. “We’ll have serious injuries if we let these Wild Things around a fire!”

Panic! Gulp! “What am I going to do? I still have 2 hours and 39 minutes, and only 15 minutes worth of games.”

P1000601We had no answers.  So we opened presents. Wild Things don’t savor presents. They tear into them. My son had all 13 presents open in record time…three minutes 35 seconds. We sang a terrible rendition of Happy Birthday that ruptured my eardrums. They gobbled down cake and ice cream and asked if there was more pizza!

In desperation, we took them to the park. There’s a pond and lots of big trees and my harried husband hoped we could get them playing a game of Capture the Flag. I silently prayed that Capture the Flag would take more than 5 minutes.

Miracle of miracles. The Wild Things loved it, although they cheated…but I didn’t dare tell them. They were having too much fun roaring, gnashing and chasing each other.

Nice!

As it got dark, we took the Wild Things home. They finished off the rest of the cake and ice cream and asked again if there was more pizza.  Are you kidding?

I told them no, but if they were still hungry, they could have at the skittles that they’d spit all over the walls earlier. Yum!  A couple of them were hungry enough to take me up on my offer.

Have you heard of selective amnesia? I think I have it.  Somehow we survived, but it’s a blur.  I remember that my heart pounded, my house was destroyed, there was one asthma attack as they played Ghost in the Graveyard, two more boys got hurt in ‘fun’ play as arms were twisted or heads were shoved into walls with much laughter.

I raided cupboards and found a half-eaten bag of marshmallows and a box of Cocoa Crunch, and gave it to the boys who kept asking about more pizza.

The last game was a balloon game. They raced across the room, grabbed a balloon, blew it up and then raced back to their chairs and popped it. As stupid as it sounds, it was a hit (probably because it was noisy—even louder than a dull roar).

My husband and I, meanwhile, held each other and prayed for deliverance.  So help me, I’d kill any mother who was late!

A few arrived early, and I blessed those moms and hugged their knees, drawing weird looks.  I’m sure they thought I was a little unbalanced.  That was fine. I was ready to become a monk and seal myself into my house in peaceful solitude for the rest of my life.

P1000602“Son, 11 marks your entrance into manhood!” I said after everyone was gone. “That means no one cares about your birthday anymore!  No more parties.  Happy Birthday.”

Char

PS. I don’t look down on mom’s who do their parties at Chuck E. Cheese anymore.  I call them SMART.

16 thoughts on “Wild Things…and Parties

  1. Haha. This was funny. Just last weekend I threw a party for my son who turned 7. We only had 5 of his friends over, but it felt more like ten small animals invading my home, like gremlins. Thankfully the weather cooperated and I was able to keep them outside for most of the party. The worst part was when one of the boys stole another boy’s eyeglasses and threw them under a bush!

    I was stark-raving mad (my daughter wears glasses, so I know how frightfully expensive they are). Thankfully, the glasses were unharmed and we all went on with the party. My saving grace, like you, was chasing them around my backyard. As long as boys can run and tumble and pretend to kill each other, they’re happy.

    I’m glad you survived.

  2. How do any of us even survive to adulthood? When I think of the things my friends and I did as kids, it’s a miracle somebody wasn’t killed. I guess we’re built to be tougher than we know!

    • Haha. Yes, kids are built tank-tough. I saw proof of that with all the heads bashed into walls. Only one boy cried because of it. Wow.

  3. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this post. Because I have lived it. But never with so many! You deserve a major, major award for that one. In fact, make sure you save this post, so that 25-30 years from now when your son has his own children, you can show him the lengths you went to to make sure he had a fun 11th birthday. And he better not be getting you any lame Mother’s Day gifts either. 🙂

    Excellent post! It should be Freshly Pressed (hello WordPress lords, are you listening?). Parents of boys all around the world can relate!

    • Haha. I felt VERY PRESSED by that event. This year we’re taking 3-4 friends to one of those annoying game places where they can be as WILD as they want, and I can read a book and ignore the chaos around me–since it isn’t my place they’ll be destroying.

      • We’ve done that often. My 12 year old chose this year to just have 2 friends sleep over. We took them to the Hunger Games movie and then then out to eat. They were a little wild in the house (nerf darts flying everywhere), but 3 kids is manageable. But the next day, I was worried I’d never get the smell out of my basement (you know what I’m talking about). Thank goodness for Fabreze. 🙂

  4. Haha, imagine those same boys for a week and you’ll begin to be close to a week at camp. 😀 The running, the falling, the games, the near heart attacks. Well portrayed! 🙂

    • I can only imagine. My husband is scoutmaster, so he deals with the week at camp. I’m glad I don’t have to go to that one.

  5. Wow, I’m so not looking forward to that when my boys get older. I completely understand why parents take the birthday parties out of the house. No clean up and most places have lots of actitivities to keep the wild boys busy… Congratulations on surviving the event.

  6. Pingback: Giggly Girls vs. Wild Things | Joy in the Moments

  7. So funny – the giggly girls do sound much better! But then from what I’ve heard, girls get more wild in later teenage years and then it’s better to have boys at that point. Skittles on the walls sounds crazy though!

  8. Pingback: When you get OLD | Joy in the Moments

Comments are closed.