Get a Life–Pi does

Life of Pi

Image via Wikipedia

Today is Pi Day…3.14 (and to be even more specific, at 1:59 p.m. today, it will be 3.14159.  And I could draw out Pi to the seconds and get even more fanatical, but I won’t.  Please thank me in the comment section and leave donations!)

Pi is a number that makes mathematicians happy.  When you add an E to it, PIE makes ME happy.  But back to Pi.  In honor of this mathematically genius day, I’m reviewing the Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  I never knew Pi had a life…but once I did, I ran right out and bought his book.

I read this quite a while ago (and my long-term memory is ZILCH when it comes to remembering details), so forgive my bare-bones review.  Pi is a Super Agent.  He can leap over small buildings in a single bound or equation…he can rip tigers throats out before they do the same to him…he is one crazy number fiend!  Pi gets on a boat (weird never ending numbers can do whatever they want—the Captain didn’t dare stop and ask Pi to show his ticket).  But the boat sinks and Pi is trapped in the middle of the ocean on a raft with a bunch of animals.

Now if you were floundering helplessly in the middle of the ocean with a Tiger, Orangutan and other wild creatures…and you’re just a number…what would you do?

Pi didn’t get too freaked out about his dire circumstances.  He kept the animals entertained by getting them to lose their minds trying to figure him out to the last digit—and that takes quite a while.  I don’t think anyone’s accomplished it yet—which gives Pi his Super Hero Status in the Math World.

Did you know that one of the greatest mathematicians of the ancient world, Archimedes of Syracuse (287-212 B.C.), became so engrossed in trying to decipher Pi that he didn’t notice that the Romans had taken over his city?  When a Roman soldier approached him, Archimedes yelled, “Don’t touch my circles!” which angered the soldier enough that he pulled out his sword and cut Archimedes’ head off, and went on his merry way.

The lesson to be learned from Archimedes is:  Don’t worry about what the trillionth and second digit of Pi is.  Who cares?  It’s not worth losing your head over, is it?

So back to the Life of Pi The animals didn’t devour him because they had lots of other things to think about (they were in the same funk that Archimedes was, except, luckily, no Roman soldiers around).  Lots of weird things happen to the castaways…but the ending is the weirdest.

I can’t tell you how it ends…because I really haven’t told you how it began.  Suffice it to say…Pi really is in this book, but he’s a boy, not a number.  His ship does sink and he miraculously survives with a bunch of animals and they don’t eat him.  Lots of weird things happen and then it ends…and you put the book down and for weeks you argue with your sister (who read the book as well) about what really happened (because she thinks it’s THIS way, and I think it’s THAT way).  Of course, I’m right.

Or am I?

If you haven’t read the Life of Pi, you MUST; it’s a modern classic.  Then when you finish, you can fight with everyone else about whose take on the ending is correct.  If you’ve already read it, do you agree with my take on it…or my sister’s?  (It’s hard to know since I haven’t told you what my take is…but I can’t ruin it for anyone out there who just might NOT have read it.  So you’ll just have to guess.)

Happy guessing.  No end (haha…that’s in honor of my friend, Pi).

Char

19 thoughts on “Get a Life–Pi does

  1. I know I should read this book–my husband has–but I tend to prefer the concrete over the abstract, and this sounds a little abstract to me. But I suppose I really should broaden my horizons…

  2. Hi Charissa, you won my book Entrapped on Carrie Rubin’s blog, and I apologize for the delay in sending it to you. I am still awaiting stock, which has apparently been shipped to me. As soon as the books arrive I will get a signed copy in the mail to you. (Carrie sent me your address.) Thank you for your patience! (If you wish to contact me my email is bkyle@barbarakyle.com)

    Nice blog BTW!

    Regards,
    Barbara Kyle

    • No worries on time. I’ve got about 5 books beside my bed I’ve got to get through soon. I am very excited about your book though; Carrie’s review with you was very intriguing. Thanks for letting me know what’s happening, so I didn’t think my mailman pocketed it.

  3. Loved this book! Definitely makes you rethink everything after you finish reading it!! I wonder whose side I am on, yours or Andreas! =)

    • Yes, I wonder whose side you’re on as well. Probably if I read it again, I’d totally switch sides because I would read it differently with a little more info in my head to begin with; but there are too many other books in line right now to re-read this one.

  4. Today was Pi Day in school — the math teachers have a field day with it. By the way, many thanks for the award. I am deeply honored that my blog was one of your choices. I posted my thanks and nominees and random facts today.

  5. I loved Life of Pi, every single page of it. I love the story, the writing style, the dialogs, the end. It’s one of my favorite books of all time and definitely a modern classic. One of these books you can read over and over again and enjoy every time.

  6. I loved this book as well. and you are funny. and clever. didn’t even realize it was Pi day. Life of Pie has one of my favourite endings ever. But I won’t give it away. You’re making me want to read it again – it’s quick, why not?

    OH, and you had the second most entries into the 50 First Lines challenge, so it’s no wonder your name got drawn! Congrats. 🙂 You can pick either print or ebook of Book One or Two (see http://thewhiteforest.com/ for descriptions of the books) AND I picked out a special prize specifically for you. Send mailing address to:
    info (at) danika dinsmore (dot) com.

  7. Pingback: Oye mi rugido en la primera imagen oficial de LIFE OF PI (VIDA DE PI) | KTARSIS

Comments are closed.