The Tooth…and Nothing but the Tooth

I got tagged by Mrs. Sparkly.  I’d never heard of this lady before, but after reading her list of 10 commandments, I think she’s related to the big bad Tooth Fairy here.

In my household, the Tooth Fairy doesn’t have a very good reputation.  Most kids who lose a tooth, put it under their pillow and in the morning there’s money.

But my poor kids look under their pillow in the morning to find…uhhhhh….their tooth still laying where they left it.

OOOPS!

Embarrassing.  Mortifying.  Shameful.  I saunter in and soothe their crying by saying, “Are you sure you looked hard enough?  That Fairy’s quite sneaky.”

And as they look again, I do the sly SLIP move…and place a dollar under their mattress.  Then I gasp and say, “Oh!  Look what I just found!  That silly Tooth Fairy didn’t leave it under your pillow!  How weird.”

My Kid:  “Why didn’t she take my tooth?”

[I think that guy up there–the real Tooth Fairy–grits his teeth when we call him a HER.  Oh well!]

I wrinkle my nose and say, “She’s got enough teeth, I think!  She probably doesn’t want anymore.  Here…give it to me.  I’ll make a necklace out of it.”

Then I walk away and slip the tooth into the garbage under a pile of banana peels…because let’s face it, teeth aren’t pretty and I really don’t want to look like a cannibal with a tooth necklace.  I’ll leave that to the guy above.

Sometimes it’s taken the Tooth Fairy 3 nights before the promised money is left under the pillow.  As my kids have gotten older, the SLIP move has been harder to pull off, so I tell them the Tooth Fairy got held up and will come the next night (as they roll their eyes at me).  Urgh!  What I’m really thinking is:  Stop losing your teeth, kids!  It’s hard to remember to gather them…and you usually lose them on nights when I’m penniless.

Anyway, now Tooth Fairy’s wicked step-sister, Mrs. Sparkly, is after me in the blogging world.  So to get her off my back, I’m hurrying and answering these questions.  (Oh, and to kill 2 birds with one stone, I also got nominated for the One Beautiful Blog award as well…so these questions will do double duty):

1.            Five blogs I like that I tag and pass the award to…You’re IT! 

  •  WeBelieve-Ogdens  (This family is amazing.  Nate was an ACTIVE, DARING outdoor guy until he was paralyzed in a skiing accident.  He and his wife, Heather, haven’t let their adversity conquer them though; they are conquering life and helping others)
  • IrishAmericanMom (If you like Ireland–which I do–you’ll like this blog.  She has recipes, travel tours, Irish holidays, traditions…and more.)
  • Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary (This blog has awesome pictures.  It really does do what the title says.  It’s fun to play around with the different formats too)
  • TheWritingReader (This has fun writing prompts for any of you writers out there)
  • SarahSmilesAwhile (This blog makes me laugh.  She’s funny.)

For more of my favorite blogs, see Brag, Brag, Brag.

2.            Describe yourself in 7 words.

I AM A GIRL WHO LOVES CHOCOLATE!

3.            Whom would you most like to be like?

My Grandma (See Brag, Brag, Brag again.  She’s my hero)

4.            What are you wearing now?

Clothes

5.            What scares you?

Politicians

6.            What are the best and the worst things about blogging?

Best—Writing up posts.  Very fun.

Worst—Looking at my Stats; very depressing

7.            What was the last website you looked at?

Charlie the Basset Hound’s Facebook page.  It’s makes me smile.  Ginger likes it too.

8.            If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Not bite my nails…urgh

9.            Slanket…yes or no?

What kind of dumb question is that, Mrs. Sparkly?

10.          Tell about the person who nominated you for these awards/tags.

Jean Mishra from Moonlightened Way has a way with words.  I love her quotes she comes up with…like “I looked for myself in the mountain, but found myself in a grain of sand.”

A third molar.

Sigh!  I’m tired!  Mrs. Sparkly wore me out!  The Tooth hurts!  Do you know how hard it is to win and accept an award?  If I’m ever invited to the Golden Globes or Emmys…I’m declining.  I need my sleep.

Char

14 thoughts on “The Tooth…and Nothing but the Tooth

  1. OMG… Cant even count the times Ive done that! I feel so bad too. But i guess the times I remembered to be the tooth fairy makes up for the forgotten time. Great post!

    • Your work is amazing Lisette! I love the flipcard photos. Those are fun to play around with on your site. Yours is definitely the coolest photo site I’ve run across.

  2. Fantastic! LOL!! Just saw that movie! I thought that I was the only parent who totally made the tooth fairy look bad! I have forgotten and thought I was an awful mom! Too funny…see, it helps to know ‘we aren’t alone’. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • It’s nice finding out there are other moms who blunder terribly in the Tooth fairy department. My mom never did (and she kept our teeth and labeled them on a card for a keepsake). I’m bad and throw them away, because as an adult, teeth really gross me out.

  3. The tooth fairy in our house is not very reliable either, and so far only my oldest son has lost any teeth. Wait until my triplets start losing theirs, the poor tooth fairy will never be able to keep up.
    Thanks also for recognizing my blog and mentioning it here in your post. I really appreciate your kind words about my Irish ramblings.

  4. Pingback: “Tooth Fairy, You’re Fired!” « Family Matters With Amber

  5. Pingback: No Tooth Fairy Back Then! « newfoundlandtraveller

  6. Pingback: Wedding Portraits…and Awards | Joy in the Moments

Comments are closed.