Love Makes All the Difference

Valentine’s Day is coming up…a time to celebrate love.  Today I’m turning the floor over to my friend, Aubrey, for a guest post on how to spread that love in a way that will make a difference to those in need.  Take it away, Aubrey.

Reece's Rainbow 2012-p005

This February millions of dollars will be spent on candy, cards, or flowers.  Within days, these gifts will be forgotten or thrown away.  Much like these gifts, hundreds of children around the world have been forgotten and “thrown away” based solely on the fact that they have Down Syndrome.

On August 5th 2011 my life changed for the better when I gave birth to an adorable baby girl with Down Syndrome. A life I had once feared: being a mother to a child with special needs, turned into a life I would never change! It’s an honor and a blessing to be the mother of Rylee.

I have recently discovered a website called http://reecesrainbow.org. On this site you will find 350+ children whose biological parents did not understand the light, potential, and love these children have to offer. Abandoned, they are placed in children’s homes or orphanages until they are around the age of 8 and then institutionalized…often all too soon ending in death.

I can’t ignore the fact that this has to change. I urge you to spend 15 minutes looking into the eyes of these kids who go to bed at night without a family to love, worry, laugh, and enjoy all they have to give the world!

Reece's Rainbow 2012-p004Families want to adopt these kids, but are financially unable. The adoption process is on average $30,000. Once a child has a substantial amount of money raised they are usually quickly adopted and brought into a loving home and family!

My goal is to raise $25,000 for each Heath and Cullen to make their adoption a possibility for a wanting family. I need your help.

This February, I ask you to celebrate Valentine’s Day by donating to Heath or Cullen’s adoption. The world will throw away millions of dollars on candy, flowers, and cards. Make your money count. Bring Love and Family to the lives of these boys by making a tax deductible donation on ReecesRainbow.org. Together we can make an eternal difference in the life of a child!  

Aubrey

Thanks, Aubrey! Isn’t her little Rylee adorable!  I have a niece with Down Syndrome and she is the sweetest little angel too.  You can’t help but love these kids.  They are concentrated packages of PURE LOVE!

When you go to ReecesRainbow.org, type CULLEN or HEATH’s name in the SEARCH window and it will take you to their profile page.  The DONATE button at the bottom will tell you how much has been donated so far toward their adoption.  I thought this was a great idea for Valentine’s!  Whether you can give a lot…or a little…you’ll be making a meaningful difference in a life of a child.

I’m glad there are people out there like Aubrey who see a problem and work to solve it (and help others, like me, see how we can help too).  Love makes all the difference in this world.

Char

7 thoughts on “Love Makes All the Difference

  1. Pingback: Slow Cameras and Cheesy Smiles | Joy in the Moments

  2. You and your sister have such fun blogs! Thank u so much for sharing this info! It is my new addiction to get these kids a family they deserve! Your donations, prayers, or simply spreading awareness means so much!
    February 12, 2012 10:27 PM

  3. Pingback: Have a Heart | Joy in the Moments

  4. Tears fill my eyes as i read about these children, i have heard horror stories about the circumstances these poor children live in but have never been able to help in a practical way… thanks for providing a useful for me to help them… Reblogging this on my blog today…

    • I’m glad you feel like I do. I was so happy to find a way to do something about this problem too. We can’t help everyone (as much as we wish we could), but each of us can do a little something, right!

  5. Reblogged this on trippingdifferently and commented:
    i am broken-hearted… These children need us… they need someone to show them love, to show them that there are people who care for them, that their world should not be endless day after endless day of nothing… please read and help in whatever small way you can… my heart in particular goes out to Heath… if my situation allowed, i would be there to take him out of that institution and home with us… but all i can do for now is to let the world know that he exists and he needs help and pray that our good Lord will bring him a loving family who will care and shower him with love and attention he so badly needs, may our Lord Jesus Christ himself and His angels attend to Heath’s needs (in every aspect) till that loving family can reach him…
    Read also http://covenantbuilders.blogspot.com/search/label/Lost%20Boys
    where you can read about how one family managed to save one of these little ones…

  6. Pingback: To Heath’s Forever Family… | trippingdifferently

Comments are closed.